Skip to content

The Secrets to Motivation

August 10, 2012

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!! Today is my last day of my internship, and then tomorrow I’m off to Kansas City! Well, I’ve got a 15 miler in there somewhere, but we’ll just forget about that. Also, yesterday I mentioned that you should follow my instagram, and if you had you’d see my tabata workout!

photo (3)

 

I made it up after a 3 mile treadmill run when I didn’t have much time left in the gym! It kept me sweating and was a great way to get in some strength before heading out the door! And yes, this picture took me about 15 min to put together because I kept messing it up…

A couple weeks ago I received an e-mail from a reader asking about how I motivate myself to stick to my training plan and get out there and run! I realize many of you (including this reader) are dealing with tough heat, difficult schedules, vacations, family, etc. and might have a hard time getting in a workout or sticking to a training plan.

Just for me it’s been hard, but luckily I WANT to run this marathon so badly that I’m very motivated to do all of my runs. It’s not easy getting up at 5am and running before work (thank goodness that will be over soon!) but it’s important to me, so I make it happen!

Here are some of my tips for motivation:

1. Have your “Why”

Ask yourself WHY you signed up for this race. What are you most excited about? What is your driving force? This is what you need to remember when things get tough!

Personally, I love running and races because it makes me feel confident and good about myself. I LOVE the feeling when I finish a race or run that I was scared to do. I also love the community and the feeling of camaraderie from a race. I also love having a goal to work towards! Without one I tend to just feel lost, I like to have a purpose to my exercise.

.

2. Put it where you can SEE it.

Put your training plan up on a wall and mark off each of your training runs as you do them. Also, put your training plan in your calendar! I use google calendar and each of my runs is scheduled in there so I don’t forget and I can schedule them around other things in my life.

photo 2 (1)

3. Bribe yourself into enjoying your workout!

Listen to a great audiobook or podcasts! When I run I love to listen to podcasts or audiobooks (Harry Potter for me!) so I make a rule that I can’t listen unless I’m running! Even put together a great playlist and only listen to it when you’re working out. This way you’ll want to run/workout so you can listen!

4. Get support

Tell people about the race! Make it a big deal! The more you know your friends and family will be there to support you, the more you’ll want to make them proud by completing the race! Schedule a dinner the night before, or a brunch after, and ask people to come cheer you on!

photo (3)

It’s not always easy, but if you really want it, you’ll make it happen!

 

How do you motivate yourself?

 

Do you like audiobooks?

47 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 7:41 am

    I do the same thing! I make a list of all upcomimg races in a 6 month or so span that I want to do. I make myself sign up. I write my training down on my calendar and I share it with every body! I have to hold myself accountable.

  2. liverunlaughyoga permalink
    August 10, 2012 7:42 am

    Motivation is hard but i always have my family to cheer me on, ask myself why I’m doing it, and I also have a visual calendar of my training plan as well! Good luck on your 15 miler 🙂

  3. August 10, 2012 8:06 am

    i love this post! sometimes you need a reminder for why you’re doing something, and this is perfect. also, are those norts i spy in your picture? 😉

  4. August 10, 2012 8:23 am

    I love these motivators, I am the same person. I need those physical reminders and also the realization that if I don’t do it now, I know I would regret it.

  5. August 10, 2012 8:38 am

    Great post! I motivate myself by imagining how I will feel after a great workout. Who doesn’t love the feeling after a great workout?! 😀

  6. jessielovestorun permalink
    August 10, 2012 8:54 am

    I get my motivation by telling myself after i just get out there and get it done i’ll feel amazing!! Have a wonderful last day of your internship girl!!

  7. August 10, 2012 9:34 am

    Good tips! I have my training plan hanging up on the wall, and I like to make new, fun playlists so I have good music to listen to!

  8. August 10, 2012 9:39 am

    Excellent post lady! 🙂 I love all of your tips!

  9. August 10, 2012 9:44 am

    Have fun in KC!! How long will you be there?

    I love your motivation tips – I always think about how I’ll feel after I workout, which is amazing!

  10. August 10, 2012 9:48 am

    I love how you have your schedule posted with a lot of other motivational stuff. Great idea!

    I think a big part of why I run in the morning is to avoid any motivation problems. If you get in the habit or waking up early and going, it becomes routine and you don’t even half to think about it. I’m usually half asleep for the first few miles so I’m not thinking clearly enough to tell myself I don’t want to run.

    • August 10, 2012 11:03 am

      haha, I agree – routine is key! Although this whole sun coming up later thing is messing with my routine! Too dark! haha

  11. August 10, 2012 9:48 am

    I like the idea of posting it up where you can SEE it. And remembering the WHY <—that's a big one for me! hah.

    LOVE this! ANd yes, those photo editor things can be annnnnooyyyiinnng. Or maybe I'm just not cut out for 'em?! hah.

  12. August 10, 2012 9:56 am

    Hi Katie. Love the blog. I’m a new follower as of today. I got pulled in with your new post on staying motivated! Very relevant 🙂 I’m adding you to my daily reads. If you get a chance, check out my new blog @ hellonheelshon.com

  13. August 10, 2012 10:07 am

    I really needed to read this today. I am at the end of my second week of half-marathon training. I am already getting discouraged and wondering how I’ll add 10 more miles to the 3 I’ve already built. This was definitely motivating and encouraging 🙂

    • August 10, 2012 11:06 am

      I’ve learned it’s best not to look to far ahead! Just trust the training plan and do your best, it will all come with time! Up until about 9 months ago the furthest I’d ever run was a 10K and I’m about to run 15 tomorrow! It’s crazy!

  14. August 10, 2012 10:17 am

    Harry Potter audiobook? LOVE that idea! I’ve been needing some motivation lately … THANK YOU for this. Needed 🙂

  15. August 10, 2012 10:23 am

    I love audiobooks! I always listen to them when I’m in traffic on the way home from work.

  16. August 10, 2012 10:35 am

    Big fan of audiobooks! I prefer music when I’m running, but they’re my absolute favourite when I’m out on a walk.

    • August 10, 2012 11:07 am

      lol i tend to switch to music for the last mile or two of a long run, I need the extra help!

  17. August 10, 2012 11:04 am

    I never thought of listening to Harry Potter!!!

  18. August 10, 2012 12:39 pm

    Motivation is hard to come by!!! Honestly, why I need a boost, I read some healthy living blogs like yours 😉

  19. August 10, 2012 2:15 pm

    Training for a race is so much fun when done/approached right! It’s as much of the entire race experience as the actual race itself. And a good support system for race day is an incredible boost in motivation.

    I have all the HP books on my ipod as well! Looking forward to listening while traveling to Russia tomorrow 🙂

  20. August 10, 2012 3:44 pm

    Great tips I love these! I too motivate my self with reading! I am into the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogies but tell myself I cannot read them unless I’m on the treadmill, helps pass the time by too!!!

  21. August 10, 2012 5:15 pm

    I LOVE your audio book rule! When I start training for my next half marathon I’m totally going to try this rule out!

  22. Emily permalink
    August 10, 2012 8:28 pm

    These are such awesome motivators! I’ve actually never thought about using audio books but it’s a great idea. I love reading while I’m cross-training but I can’t when I’m on the treadmill (and obviously wouldn’t be able to when I’m running outside)
    I’m considering signing up for a Rock n’ Roll half marathon in LA this October. But, since I’ve never run one, I’m afraid that won’t give me enough time to train. I can currently run 6-7 miles without a problem though, so I might be okay. haha. I’m just nervous!

    That tabata workout sounds awesome, by the way!

    • August 12, 2012 2:01 pm

      I would definitely go for the half in October, if you’re already up to 6 or 7 miles, then maybe try shortening a Hal Higdon plan and just start a few weeks early!

  23. August 10, 2012 11:14 pm

    I love that you listen to Harry Potter while you run!! If I ever train for a marathon, that will be the first bribery tactic that I employ. 😉

    Happy Friday!! ❤

  24. August 15, 2012 3:10 pm

    Great post Katie with some really good tips! I have my training schedule all planned and printed out too so I know when I am doing what and can mark the days off as I complete them.
    I LOVE listening to audiobooks when I run. I’m not sure why, but I was really against it at first and then when I tried it, I loved it. Knowing that I get to listen to more of my current book when I run is great motivation to get out there. Audiobooks are also perfect for long runs. The HP audiobooks are so well done -Jim Dale is amazing with all those voices, just perfect!

Leave a comment