Skip to content

A Steamy Hot Run

July 8, 2012

Hey everyone!

How’s your weekend going so far? Mine’s going pretty well! It’s been ridiculously steamy here in Chicago, and I have to say that I LOVE IT! Haha I guess global warming agrees with me. Since it was so hot, I actually got an e-mail from CARA on Friday that they cancelled all our runs on Saturday morning due to “excessive heat.”

What did that mean to me? A challenge!

I decided to head out a little earlier than I would have with CARA and hopefully beat the heat! When I woke up at 4:45am, it was already 82 degrees… I think that was the overnight low.

Can you tell I was pumped?

photo 1 (9)

I had some coffee, water, and half a banana with some PB. I geared up and got ready to go! I decided to wear my camelbak so I didn’t have to stop every time I wanted some water. I had a feeling I’d be very thirsty…

photo 2 (8)

The run went better than I expected, although I did experience some serious cramping. My right toes and the ball of that foot cramped up several times during the run, and by mile 7 my hamstrings and calves were cramping up too. I think it was the heat and a lack of electrolytes!

Another thing about the run is that I’ve decided the Camelbak is not the best idea. First of all, it made a ridiculous swishing noise while I was running. While it didn’t bother me, I know everyone noticed it and I’m sure it would be a lot more obnoxious on runs with the group when I’m trying to talk and don’t have headphones in.

Another thing was that I kept getting air when I was drinking out of it! It caused a lot of problems because it made it hard to breath and I kept getting air in my stomach!

During the run I had 3 Cliff Shot blocks, which I thought tasted pretty good!

I kept a good pace and finished the run in 1:39:03 for a pace of 9:55 min/mile. Pretty good when I was expecting to have to go above my 10 mn/mile pace goal because of the heat!

photo 3 (7)

A sweaty, sweaty mess! I actually finished of my Camelbak while stretching and hurried home to drink more water! I was really thirsty… Seeing as all the water that was in body was on my clothes.

photo 4 (3)

I checked the temp when I finished and it had only gone up 5 degrees! Which is pretty good because about 3 hours later when I got back from the farmers market  it was already 98…

photo 5

Molly also headed to the park early in the morning.

She found a pretty awesome stick.

photo 2 (9)

She was pretty excited about it.

photo 1 (10)

And then she went home and took a nap.

photo 3 (9)

Can’t wait to hang out with that cutie today!

 

What’s the hottest weather you’ve ever run in?

Are you a big fan of plain water, or do you need it flavored?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Verena permalink
    July 8, 2012 7:47 am

    Hey, wow thats really really warm… Here in germany its not even half that temperature these days. But its at least good for running ! I go with normal water or I put in some vitamin tabs because I like their orange flavour! My dog does exactlythe same as Molly in the pics, love it 😉

    • July 8, 2012 8:33 am

      colder weather is great for running, and I need to do that with my water! Awww your dog must be so cute!!!!

      • Verena permalink
        July 9, 2012 8:39 am

        He is!! Jack Russle Mix, I wish I could upload a picture 😀

  2. July 8, 2012 8:25 am

    holy moly – 82 degrees at 4:45 am?!?! that is crazy! props to you girl! i think i would’ve been inside on a treadmill. way to go on beating your goal time! you look great by the way! oh, and i was just thinking… you should get molly a friend! 😉

    • July 8, 2012 8:34 am

      Hahaha I’d love to get molly a friend but I cannot afford such a friend and my apartment doesn’t allow them… And I thought about taking it to the treadmill, but I would have had to sit around until 8 when my gym opened and I just wanted to get it done!

  3. July 8, 2012 9:04 am

    Congrats on finishing your run. 82 degrees at 4:45 a.m. is serious business! Also, it was so nice meeting you yesterday. I’m excited to get more Chicago blogger meet-ups going!

  4. July 8, 2012 9:33 am

    Wowww I can’t believe it was that warm that early… craziness! But you are a champ for venturing out there anyway!

  5. healthhappinessandharmony permalink
    July 8, 2012 10:25 am

    Congratulations on such a great run! You’re such an inspiration!
    The hottest I’ve ever ran in was 93 degrees, but the humidity wasn’t there, so it wasn’t so bad.
    I’m not a fan of flavored water at all for some reason!

  6. July 8, 2012 11:13 am

    Wow, 4:45 on a Saturday morning is quite the dedication! I had to take some runs indoors this week which is really sad but the only option. Glad the heat finally seems to have broken.

  7. July 8, 2012 11:17 am

    82 degrees before 5 am… wow, that makes me feel hot just thinking about it! The hottest weather I’ve run in was probably last summer, when it was around 80 at 5:30 and with insane humidity. I hope you’re finding ways to keep cool!

  8. July 8, 2012 1:35 pm

    I am JUST like you. Everybody told me to not go biking this week because of the heat, but I saw it as a challenge. I made sure that I had plenty of water!

    I have to drink plain water. I hate it flavored.

  9. Emily permalink
    July 8, 2012 1:46 pm

    Wow- that is so awesome that you braved the heat and still managed to get in your run. I can’t believe it was 85 degrees before 5 AM! I can’t even imagine. You’re a rockstar!

  10. July 8, 2012 2:31 pm

    Great job! I have been running through this heat, so I would say the hottest I’ve run in is mid-to-upper 90s. However, when I saw yesterday’s run was canceled, and that Sunday morning would be cooler, I decided to do my long run on Sunday. It felt so great to run in temps in the 70s!

    I drink plain water. I’m not a fan of flavored. I prefer water + fuel in a gummy, goo, or jelly bean form 🙂

  11. July 8, 2012 2:48 pm

    I did a run in almost 90 degree weather (and it was 7am). It was a great run but by the end my head was on fire and I had to dunk it in the ocean lol. I was STILL HOTT. I’m not sure if I want to do that again lol…

  12. July 8, 2012 3:17 pm

    You’re a champ for running in the crazy heat! I did a short 3-miler in 90 degree temps on Friday and was getting heart pains by the end of it :/ Thank goodness the heat wave finally died down today!

  13. July 8, 2012 3:51 pm

    that’s a long run in this heat! congrats! I’ve been sticking to flavored seltzer water lately – a little variety 😀

  14. July 8, 2012 4:11 pm

    I can’t imagine it being that hot, that early in the morning here in the UK. Hope you are looking after yourself in the heat 🙂

  15. July 8, 2012 4:11 pm

    That is dangerously hot! Smart idea to take water with you.

  16. July 8, 2012 5:04 pm

    these temps have been killer, DC has been the same. I have been getting up early but dang girl not that early. My 11 miler was sweaty and hot. Camel backs don’t work for me either.

    • July 8, 2012 8:04 pm

      I have to get up that early anyway for the CARA runs every Saturday, if I want to get in some fuel and catch the bus!

Leave a comment