Skip to content

Fun With Chelsey and Gone Girl

September 4, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a great Labor Day weekend! Since I don’t have classes on Fridays, this ended up being a full 4 days off for me and it felt like the whole “school thing” was just a joke. As though it’s still really summer and that never happened! Oh wait, have to go to class today…. Ugh. Haha.

By the way, if you want to see me on video check out Lindsay’s List today, I submitted a Tuesday Trainer Video! And yes, I hate the sound of my own voice so I will not be watching it again…

I did, however, have a nice and relaxing Labor Day weekend! After my long run on Saturday, I was ready for a day of fun and who better to do that with than Chelsey!?! I headed out to the ‘burbs and we met up for frozen yogurt (of course…). Sadly, I did not beat my record, this yogurt was under $5.50. Last time we went here mine was $6.50! Haha, I love my frozen yogurt.

photo (6)

We planned on seeing a movie but had some time so first we completed to Yogli Mogli crossword puzzle. Luckily, since it was made for children, we managed to complete it. It wasn’t easy though…

Photo1 (2)

After frozen yogurt we wandered around Whole Foods a bit and then headed to the theater. It turned out to be the kind of theater that serves drinks and food! We were pleasantly surprised tos ee they had gluten free pizza! But we had sushi plans so we held off.

Photo1

I was in a celebratory mood so I ordered a mojito. Unfortunately it tasted like sugar and I just couldn’t drink more than a few sips. At least I gave it a shot! The movie we saw was The Odd Life of Timothy Green. It was a pretty cute movie, but not my favorite. It did make me want to move out to a small town, the movie took place in a very small town and it was fall, with the most gorgeous leaves! I basically wanted to move there, ASAP.

After the movie we headed out to get sushi and had a few hilarious run in’s… Okay, hilarious to us but I have a feeling they were “you had to be there” type moments. After some delicious sushi we said our goodbyes and I headed back to downtown Chicago.

My brother texted me saying he and my sister-in-law were at Vapiano, which is near where we both live, and that I should come join them! He insisted I order a fun drink so I got the Vapiano Martini. I’m not a big martini person, but this had pineapple juice and…. GUMMY BEARS! Haha total selling point.

Photo1 (1)

We had a great time chatting and hanging out, practically closed the place down! Haha I was shocked we were out so late (okay, okay, it was like 10:15pm).

Another thing I did this weekend was finish up reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn! It was this month’s book club read for Julie’s book club over at Peanut Butter Fingers. I’d heard of it before and was excited to read!

Gone Girl is a novel centered around a couple who met in New York City, got married, and eventually moved to the husband, Nick’s, hometown in Missouri to take care of his ill mother. On the day of their 5th wedding anniversary the wife, Amy, goes missing. Nick comes home to find an upturned living room and a missing wife. The case drags on and on, with various pieces of evidence all pointing to Nick. The story switches back and forth between Nick’s experience in current time, and Amy’s past diary entries so that we learn about how their relationship developed over five years.

Gone Girl was definitely an interesting story with plenty of twists, and I certainly wouldn’t call it predictable. There were several different characters who pop up throughout the book with interesting background stories, many of which play a role in the final story. I liked how the author switched back and forth between the two main characters’ views, one describing the present and the other describing the past. Although I liked the book and it was interesting, I didn’t love it.

I think the reason I didn’t love it is that I didn’t like any if the main characters. The author wrote all of them in a way that made it difficult to be sympathetic towards them, so it felt like I has no one to root for as the story unfolded. I think I really was just rooting for the truth to be revealed to everyone, rather than for one character to succeed. I was also disappointed by the ending. I don’t want to spoil the book but I just found the end to be sad and twisted. I certainly didn’t put the book down satisfied.

All of that being said, Gone Girl will definitely keep your attention. It has plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing. I did enjoy the book because of all the plot twists and turns, I just didn’t love it.

 

Have you ever been to a movie theater that serves food?

What do you do when you hang out with friends?

What did you think of Gone Girl if you’ve read it?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2012 7:24 am

    That frozen yogurt caught my eye! Yum!!! It’the thing I miss the most about the US – they are everywhere! Looks like you had a great weekend 🙂

    • September 4, 2012 7:40 am

      They are everywhere! Haha now a new froyo place is opening up close to my apartment, I’ll have 2 less than a half mile away. Dangerous!

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel permalink
    September 4, 2012 7:33 am

    I share some of your thoughts about Gone Girl. While I was reading it, I loved it because it definitely kept my attention and kept me guessing. But the ending was just plain weird and unsatisfying! I didn’t feel as though there was a “good guy” in it either; Amy and Nick were hard to like. Definitely a twisted couple!

  3. September 4, 2012 7:46 am

    You girls are hilarious! There is one theater here (that I know of) that serves food and drinks and tickets are much higher, plus you pay for food and drink, so we have never gone.. We barely go to movies anyway and when we do it’s usually after dinner so no need for food!

  4. Chelsie @ Balance, Not Scale permalink
    September 4, 2012 7:58 am

    The fact that a gummy bear + alcohol combo exists makes this world a better place. Definitely going to try that next time I make drinks (which, at the rate I’m working these days, will probably be New Years!).
    Funny, that’s what I thought of Gone Girl too. I started reading but simply couldn’t get into it because I didn’t connect with the characters. I feel terrible because it was really well written and I know that so many people are raving about it, but it just wasn’t for me. I did finish, and enjoyed the plot twists, but overall it’s not one that I would recommend over and over.

    • September 4, 2012 8:44 am

      Yea, it was an interesting story but hard to get into because I didn’t like the characters!

  5. Harry permalink
    September 4, 2012 8:31 am

    I thought your Crunches video was good. What’s wrong with your voice… it sounds just like you! Did you want to be someone else and maybe sound like me. Love, Dad

    • September 4, 2012 8:33 am

      It’s just weird to hear the sound of your own voice! And I’m sure everyone would have preferred to see you do the video!

  6. September 4, 2012 9:12 am

    You always have the best looking fro-yo! Haha!

  7. Hadley permalink
    September 4, 2012 9:49 am

    I absolutely hated the ending of the book, and the characters. I appreciated its Missouri setting and how well it was written, but didn’t connect with the characters and felt that the ending was horrible. I’m glad to know that you and many other commenters felt the same!

  8. September 4, 2012 9:50 am

    Whoa, I’ve never seen a movie theatre that serves food! How high class! Haha.

    A couple of weeks ago, I was hanging out on a Friday night with one of my really good friends from college who’s now attending Loyola for grad school. I wanted to get a solid night’s sleep before my run on Saturday, so I caught a cab home at like 11:00, 11:15. When I told the cabbie where I wanted to go, he was like, “Are you heading out?” And I was like, “No, I’m done for the night.” And he was like, “Really? Already? Isn’t it a little early?” …sigh. Haha.

    • September 4, 2012 10:28 am

      Hahahaha 11:15 is LATE for me! But I guess early for most people who go out in Chicago! I remember being shocked when I moved here, in Charleston the bars all close between 1 and 2am!

  9. September 4, 2012 9:51 am

    I loved reading Gone Girl but you are right, the end was so unsatisfying! I thought the author did a good job because the characters did seem “real” but the ending was like…uh really?! -Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

  10. September 4, 2012 10:14 am

    Aw that sounds like a fun day! I bet Chelsey is awesome! I love blogger meet ups 🙂

  11. September 4, 2012 10:14 am

    Did you buy gone girl or get it from the library or kindle it?? if you bought it can i borrow it?? I’ve been dying to read it! I promise to give you lots of hugs and kisses in return.

    • September 4, 2012 10:29 am

      I bought it and read it on my iPhone since I didn’t have time to order it. Lol is there a way I can transfer it to you??

  12. liverunlaughyoga permalink
    September 4, 2012 10:52 am

    Gone girl gone looks like a good book. I have been to a movie theater where they serve you food. My aunt took me there for my birthday. Your fro yo looks so good. Its making me crave some right now. Have a good day 🙂

  13. September 4, 2012 11:21 am

    yummmm that fro yo looks so good to me right now. i wish i had time to squeeze in a fro yo run today!

  14. September 4, 2012 11:51 am

    I’ve been to a movie theater like that one time. The food wasn’t the best :/, but I guess you should expect that from a movie theater? I also saw that movie and thought it was cute, but kind of strange!

  15. September 4, 2012 12:00 pm

    Oohhhhh frozen yogurt! LOVE it. I had some this weekend too 🙂

    I’ve never been to a theatre that served real food?!? That’s kinda cool. And kinda scary….

  16. September 4, 2012 12:16 pm

    I LOVE that there are gummy bears in your martini – what could be better than a martini with gummy bears? 🙂

  17. September 4, 2012 1:18 pm

    that looks like such a blast, what a fun afternoon and night. Jealous of those gummy bears, oh boy so good.

  18. September 4, 2012 2:12 pm

    I didn’t mind that I didn’t really like any of the characters in “Gone Girl” but I felt like the “big” twist was so forced! It just irritated me. I mean, I finished it because I wanted to see how it ended, but I liked her book “Dark Places” so much better.

  19. September 4, 2012 6:53 pm

    I think I’ve been to one of those theatres once – I was about 14 and we were in South Carolina. I remember thinking it was an awesome idea though!

  20. September 4, 2012 9:09 pm

    I read Chelsey’s recap of your friend date too and I’m so jealous – it sounds like you girls had such a fun time! Fro yo, WF and sushi is always a winning combination. 😀 I think we have a theater here that serves meals, but I’ve never tried it out. I prefer just to sneak my own food into the movies haha.

    • September 5, 2012 12:25 pm

      Haha chelsey brought a bottle of water and they told her she can’t bring other food or beverage!

Leave a Reply

