Skip to content

HLS 12–Day 1

August 19, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you’re all having a good weekend, I sure am! I’m here in Boston for the Healthy Living Summit and really enjoying it! Friday afternoon my flight got in around 3pm and I headed over to our hotel, the Hyatt Regency in Cambridge. I met my roomies after registering and grabbed all my swag!

We got Reebok shoes (!!!!!) and a big bag full of tons of goodies. A bunch had gluten so I set those out for my roommates to go ahead and take what they wanted, but had plenty left! Haha not sure how I’m going to pack all of this…

photo 3 (6)

My roommates for the weekend are Tessa, Julia and Rachel! We went for a walk along the river to kill some time before the cocktail party and hung out in the room for a bit eating snacks. When it was time for the cocktail party we headed down! It was hosted by Reebotalizer and had some hors d’oeuvres and we each got a drink ticket for a drink. I was actually surprised, the only free drink was water! Haha good thing I like water.

I was actually surprised at how many bloggers were there that I DIDN’T recognize! I barely recognized anyone, although as more and more people showed up I started seeing girls I knew, like Sarah, Chelcie and Clare!

They also had a photo booth, which was a blast! I actually can’t ever remember doing a photo booth so this was fun!

We ended the evening around 10pm, headed upstairs and chatted a bit and then crashed! 4 am wake up call 2 days in a row = exhausted Katie!

 

Saturday morning several girls went out on runs and I had a 16 miler on the docket. However, my knees were so sore from the hike and my legs were still hurting from being burnt, I decided I needed the extra sleep and skipped out on the running! We headed down to breakfast at 8am, which was hosted by Wild Harvest.

photo 4

Later in the morning we had a crossfit workout. Reebok gave shoes to all the attendees (!!!!) so we were all outfitted and ready to go.

photo 2 (6)

 

photo 1 (7)

There were some representatives from Crossfit Boston there to teach us how to properly squat. Let’s just say that I’ve been doing squats very wrong… It was pretty fun although I was a bit disappointed in how short it was. Granted, they couldn’t have us do much since there were so many of us in a small space. It was great to talk to them afterwards, I’ve been wanting to try crossfit but it’s expensive plus the fact I’ve heard it’s hard to do crossfit and distance running. They told me there’s something called crossfit endurance, so I’m going to look into it!

photo 5

After crossfit we had a couple morning sessions, I went to two sessions: Blog Photog Basics with Gretchen Powell, author of Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen! and then Blogging with Brands, which was a panel led by Lauren Podolsky. To see all the bloggers and brands involved check out the HLS site on the panel here. The photography sessions was interesting but not as good for me since I use my iPhone… Although I did find out about an app called Camera+ that I’m going to check out! The branding one was really interesting because I haven’t done much work with brands.

Then it was time for lunch! Lunch was great, especially since everything was gluten free! Even the naan, which I was ridiculously pumped about!

photo 1 (10)

Aaaaand I’m going to leave you there because I’ve got to get my butt over to the 5K run walk this morning!

 

Have you ever tried crossfit?

Have you ever been to a conference of any kind before?

45 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 7:22 am

    I went to a SHRM conference with my dad in San Diego. It was super fun! We got to fly out there and everything (my first time ever). His work paid for some of it, so we stayed at a nice hotel, took a boat to the mainland every morning and just got to hang out. Most people think that HR lectures would be boring (and some were) but if you have a good speaker almost anything can be interesting!

    WOW. They gave you shoes?! That’s awesome!!!

    I can’t wait to read more about the HLS conference. It’s interesting to see the perspective from so many different blogs. Have fun!

  2. August 19, 2012 7:28 am

    Everything was gluten free? That sounds like a dream!!!

    • August 19, 2012 10:01 pm

      I literally lept from the table and ran back to the buffet when someone told me the naan was gf… Despite the pedigree of bloggers at the table. Gotta get my naan.

  3. August 19, 2012 7:46 am

    It’s sound like you’re having a great time! Love the shoes!

  4. chelsiejo permalink
    August 19, 2012 8:23 am

    It’s so great hearing about HLS in general – the friends, the workouts, the swag – but seriously THE FOOD!! They seem to have done an AMAZING job accomodating all the “atypical” diets of the conference attendees. Kudos to them! Sounds like you had fun on Day 1 – can’t wait to hear about the rest of the weekend!! 🙂

    OH. And congrats on listening to your body in the sleep vs. 16mi dilemma – that’s not always easy!!

  5. August 19, 2012 8:46 am

    It sounds like you are having a great time so far–the Healthy Living Summit sounds like so much fun!! Oh, and that food all looks delicious, and it’s great that so many gluten-free options are offered:) Gluten-free naan bread sounds awesome; I love naan bread, but eating too much of it (or any gluten-containing products) tends to bother my stomach.

    • August 20, 2012 8:08 am

      the naan was amazing! Maybe you have a bit of a gluten intolerance? I’d just avoid it for the most part and save gluten for special treats!

  6. August 19, 2012 8:58 am

    whoa gluten free naan. Gosh I wish I could have tried that. I am glad you listened to your body and took a break. I wish I could have gone to HLS, looks like a blast. I would have loved to meet all the bloggers in person.

  7. August 19, 2012 9:14 am

    I did Crossfit for a month and had a BLAST. The only thing that I don’t like is that they can get a little cult-like in regard to Crossfit being the only workout that’s worth anything. But I think that depends on the trainers and the attitude of the “box”.

  8. August 19, 2012 9:36 am

    I’ve never tried crossfit before but after seeing so much about it all over some of my favorite blogs I’m really intrigued to give it a shot. 🙂 Sounds like you all are having a great time.

  9. FitNjess permalink
    August 19, 2012 11:19 am

    I haven’t ever tried crossfit, but would love to! I am enjoying reading all the HLS posts that everyone is blogging about. Hopefully next year I will make it!

  10. August 19, 2012 12:52 pm

    Love how they made everything gluten free – it’s nice that they made sure everyone could partake without dietary concerns.

    I haven’t tried crossfit yet, but the city I’m moving to in 2 weeks has a box and I’m looking into getting an introductory package. It looks like such a killer workout!

  11. August 19, 2012 12:55 pm

    free shoes! that’s awesome! sounds like you’re having a great time – so jealous that you got to go!

  12. August 19, 2012 2:01 pm

    Sounds like an awesome time, I wish I could have gone!

  13. August 19, 2012 2:36 pm

    Holy shiz, free trainers?! Where are these summits in the UK??

  14. August 19, 2012 2:36 pm

    Looks like a fun con! I’ve only ever been to work conventions…

  15. August 19, 2012 2:55 pm

    Hey! It was so great to meet you Saturday night at dinner! I hope you had a safe and easy trip back to Chicago, and that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Boston!

  16. August 19, 2012 2:59 pm

    I’m so jealous of everyone who got to go to the summit; it looks like everyone had such a fun time. New shoes are always awesome, and it’s even better that yours were free! I’ve never been to any conferences that weren’t work-related, but I am totally tempted to go to HLS next year if I can afford it.

  17. August 19, 2012 4:17 pm

    I’m so glad you had a fun time! I loved reading all about it. 🙂

  18. August 19, 2012 7:53 pm

    I’m so glad that we were able to room together! It was so fun meeting you and I hope you had fun exploring Boston today and had a safe flight home 🙂

  19. August 20, 2012 12:45 am

    Love the fact that they had gluten free meals. Sounds like y’all had such a wonderful & fun time 🙂

  20. August 20, 2012 5:42 am

    Free shoes sounds awesome 🙂

  21. agirlcalledcake permalink
    August 20, 2012 7:17 am

    Looks like you had a great time! I just started doing CrossFit a month ago and I absolutely love it, as someone mentioned, my “box” is pretty laid back and the coaches there are all great so maybe that’s why I think it’s so much fun. Plus playing on bars makes me feel like I’m a little kid again on the playground.

  22. August 20, 2012 11:41 am

    Don’t mind me, just dying of jealousy over here. Jealous that you got to room with Tessa (l.o.v.e. her blog), jealous that you got free shoes, jealous of your swag…HLS seriously sounds like the coolest thing ever! I’m so glad you had the chance to go!

    Twice in college I went to a student journalism conference with my newspaper friends. We mostly just allowed ourselves to be amused by the other attendees who took student journalism waaaaaaaaaaaaaay more seriously than we did, but it was always a good time! I did learn a lot at the conferences, too, so win win 🙂

  23. August 20, 2012 1:05 pm

    YUMM!! That lunch looks tasty!

    I use my iphone a lot too–I’m just not that INto food photography. I know, *gasp* 😉

  24. Racette, Stacey permalink
    August 20, 2012 1:56 pm

    WHAT ARE YOUR TIPS FOR GETTING UP EARLY TO WORK OUT?? I NEED HELP!

    ________________________________

  25. August 20, 2012 9:36 pm

    LOVE you. Oh my gosh. Do you know how much I love you and how pumped I was to meet you? I meant everything I said. I have always wanted to meet you ❤ My jaw dropped when I saw you the first time!!!! ❤

    Loved hearing your first recap 🙂 I enjoyed the crossfit, too! I'm writing my review of it tomorrow 🙂

    I MISS YOU KATIE 😥

    • August 21, 2012 2:43 pm

      You are too sweet!!! I miss you too! All day today I keep wishing I were back in boston!!!

  26. August 21, 2012 3:09 pm

    It was really great meeting you in person this weekend! I loved reading you recaps!

Leave a Reply

