Skip to content

WIAW–Race Day

July 25, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you’re all having a great week! I thought for this week’s What I Ate Wednesday it would be fun to show you my eats from my half-marathon race day! Haha kind of all over the place, but different from a normal work day!

Also, this month’s theme is about Fun Food & Fitness, it’s the perfect fit!

Peas and Crayons

If you’re new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons to find out what it’s all about! It’s a great way to get meal ideas and to discover new blogs!

As I mentioned in my race re-cap post, I started out the morning with a piece of Udi’s bread with peanut butter and 1/2 a banana, along with some coffee!

photo 4 (3)

After the race I had half a banana, and then a bit later I still wasn’t hungry but I knew I needed to eat something. I had my pineapple chobani, with some more banana slices, some nuts and raisins mixed in.

photo 3 (4)

I took Molly on a walk and during the walk my hunger hit like crazy! When I got back I had some apple slices with PB while I tried to find something to eat.

photo 2 (7)

Staring into the fridge, I remembered my brother and sister-in-law had brought me back some gluten free beer from their trip to Milwaukee! Apparently it’s the best GF beef in Milwaukee! Haha I had to give it a try! It had a very sweet taste to it, but I liked it. I didn’t feel like drinking much of it since I was guzzling water, but it was nice to sip on with lunch.

photo 3 (6)

There wasn’t much in the fridge, so I ended up putting two over-easy eggs on top of a bed of lettuce, with salsa for dressing.

photo 4 (6)

It was completely delicious!

photo 5 (4)

After lunch 1 I was out the door and went with my cousin to a fresh, organic produce store that was super cheap! I was in heaven. We also stopped into Whole Foods (we were both STARVING) and I grabbed some foods from the hot bar for lunch #2:

photo 1 (9)

I hung out with Molly for the rest of the afternoon and then headed home. For dinner I made some zucchini spaghetti with a sauce that I made with chicken sausage, steamed eggplant, fresh basil and marinara sauce. It was SO GOOD. I really need to use basil more often.

photo 2 (9)

Then I made some protein ice cream which I topped with nuts and banana chips, and I had a few pieces of the candy that I got from Whole Foods as well.

photo 3 (8)

A while later I had some of the cherries I got from the produce store and they were so good I had to have more, with fage yogurt and almond butter, obviously.

photo 4 (8)

photo 5 (5)

Haha, I did my best to replenish all those calories from the half marathon, and my huger sure did kick in later in the day! Are you ever so hungry that you just can’t even decide what to eat? That was how I felt ALL DAY! I do love that Whole Foods hot bar though…

 

What is your favorite post-race or big exercise day meal?

What is your favorite Chobani flavor??

 

**Don’t forget to enter my Spa Week Gift Card Giveaway! Entries are accepted until midnight (central time) on Thursday, July 26, 2012!**

35 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 7:31 am

    haha I am never hungry right away after a long run – it’s always the day after!!!

  2. July 25, 2012 7:52 am

    I sometimes get super hungry even after doing 3 miles – never right after, always like an hour later! Apple Cinnamon Chobani will forever be my favorite!

  3. liverunlaughyoga permalink
    July 25, 2012 8:19 am

    I love new grist beer. Both my dad and I have celiac disease so we always split new grist when ever i am over. Another great beer is a beer from belgium that tastes just like the real deal! 🙂 My favorite post run meal is a protein shake. Never fails me.

  4. July 25, 2012 8:39 am

    Yes!! Love the Milwaukee shout out 🙂 All Lakefront beers are really good, but I’ve never tried that one! Glad you liked it!

    • July 25, 2012 9:19 am

      Haha I tried a few Chicago ones, but this was only my second gluten free beer that I’ve tried!

  5. July 25, 2012 8:39 am

    I agree with Chelsey – I usually feel hungry the day after a long run. I’m usually a ravenous beast! Haha. My favorite Chobani flavor? Tough question, but I’d probably say the pineapple or apple cinnamon.

  6. July 25, 2012 8:44 am

    I’ve never eaten at the hot foods bar, it’s on my list though!

    I’m glad you liked Stanley’s, I need to go back to stock up on cherries!

    • July 25, 2012 9:20 am

      You HAVE to eat at the hot bar! I’m the weirdo who gets a teeny bit of each thing that looks good, so I have the weirdest mixture of food! And I ate my bag of cherries in 3 days…

  7. July 25, 2012 9:59 am

    ahh that ice cream looks delicious! I just read your recap from your race…CONGRATS on an amazing half!!! Your recap was really inspiring. I’m starting to think about doing my first half..I’m so excited, but its an intimidating thought!

    • July 25, 2012 3:14 pm

      It’s definitely intimidating but you CAN do it! Just find a good plan and stick to it and you’ll be amazed!

  8. July 25, 2012 10:41 am

    Pineapple is my favorite!

  9. July 25, 2012 11:17 am

    Mmm that ice cream looks rather tasty Katie! I am actually never hungry right after a race, I usually feel quite sick, ugh. But the day after? Well that is a completely different story, I am a hangry beast!
    Favorite flavor of Chobani is hmmm blueberry or mango!

  10. July 25, 2012 11:24 am

    I’m not usually hungry after a long run or race, actually. I just drink some chocolate milk and then eat a later lunch/breakfast (usually eggs with toast). I eat more the day AFTER actually. Kinda funny!

    Your protein ice cream looks tasty!

  11. July 25, 2012 12:16 pm

    yummy eats!! i am still dying to do a half marathon.. i feel like when i finish i would eat the whole world!

  12. July 25, 2012 3:01 pm

    I hate that feeling of being so hungry that I don’t know what I want to eat….I always have food regret after and don’t enjoy my food as much. My favorite post-race food is egg on a bagel- yum!

    • July 25, 2012 3:18 pm

      Ooo egg on a bagel sounds good to me! I need to get some Udi’s bagels for marathon training!

  13. July 25, 2012 5:24 pm

    Over easy eggs = heaven on earth! Love the yolky goodness 🙂

  14. July 25, 2012 7:38 pm

    Eggs over salad is so good. You really are great with getting enough healthy food in during the day. Props!

  15. Anna Lynn permalink
    July 25, 2012 9:47 pm

    It always takes me several hours to get hungry after a long run but I usually end up craving breakfast foods…specifically pancakes and eggs! I agree with others, it’s usually the day after that I’m crazy hungry.

    I generally just buy plain chobani but I’ll get apple cinnamon as a special treat sometimes. I just hate how high the sugar (specifically the added sugar) content is in most yogurts. I feel better about getting plain and adding fresh fruit usually.

  16. Emily permalink
    July 26, 2012 12:12 am

    It always takes me a few hours to get hungry after I exercise too. It’s so weird! But when the hunger finally sets in, it’s a raging beast!
    Whole Foods is the perfect reward after a race, in my opinion. I’m glad you had such a lovely (delicious) day!

  17. July 27, 2012 2:09 pm

    when i ran my half marathon earlier this week the long-run munchies definitely kicked in later during the day! i wasn’t too hungry right after finishing, but i had a smoothie because i knew i needed something. then later i had a chicken caesar sandwich, chips, a frozen yogurt, fruit, and a luna bar! it always boggles my mind how hungry i get!!

  18. July 27, 2012 2:47 pm

    Wow- that Whole Foods salad looks amazing! Whenever I’m not hungry but need to eat, I always go straight to Whole Foods. There’s always room for all their delicious produce!:) Great job on the race!

Leave a Reply

