Skip to content

Swanson Products

July 16, 2012

Hey Everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend and are re-charged and ready to go for the week! This is my first 5-day week in a while… haha. I had a 3 day week 2 weeks ago and a 4 day week last week! Ahhh! Although, really it’s only 4.5 days, since Tuesday my office is going on a boat cruise!!! Clearly summer is the best time to be an intern!

(source)

Anyone else remember this song? It became popular right before I went on a cruise for my junior year spring break in college. Perfect timing.

Aaaaaanyway, I wanted to share with you all some products I got from Swanson! Swanson Health Products reached out to me a while ago and told me about their website, Swansonvitamins.com. They have been family-owned since 1969 and have guaranteed low prices. I order a lot of products online, so I thought this would be a great site to check out! At first I thought it would be all Swanson products, but they actually carry a TON of name-brand products as well.

Swanson offered me a coupon to try out some products from their site, however it took me about a month to make up my mind! There were TOO MANY CHOICES!!! This is definitely a good problem to have! Finally, I decided to order some items that were new to me so I could try them out.

First, I wanted to order Psyllium Husk. I had seen some recipes on Blogilates using the product so I wanted to try it out for myself! I also ordered some Spirulina Powder, which I thought would be great since it includes a lot of viatamins! Finally, I got some Omega-3 Fish Oil! I’d heard from a lot of people that it’s great to take, especially to help with inflammation of muscles and joints.

photo (5)

(Neville wanted to be in the photo. By the way, he’ll be 2 in a month!)

I tried out the recipe from blogilates for the pancakes a while back and used both the Psyllium Husk Powder and Spirulina Powder, green pancakes!

photo 3 (1)

The batter was super gooey, but I LOVED the taste of the pancakes! Not as good as my pancakes from this weekend, but definitely good.

I’ve also used the spirulina powder in other things, like this protein ice cream! I got the original recipe from Heather Eats Almond Butter, but also got some ideas for mixing it up from Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish. I actually love the flavor of the powder!

photo (6)

I’ve actually made this protein ice cream several times now! Sometimes I add frozen strawberries, other times cocoa powder, and even just vanilla and cinnamon! So good and refreshing!

Not too much to report on the fish oil! Haha I actually just started taking it, so I can’t tell if it helps any, honestly I don’t know if I will be able to tell. BUT, I can tell you I don’t have fishy breath when I take it! Haha, so there you go!

Finally, I ordered soap from Burts Bees. This is the reason the post took so long! It was shipped separately, but for some reason my post office thought it should keep the package and have me come pick it up. Good thing they are only open when I’m at work… Anyway, I finally got it on Saturday! I love it because it smells soooooo good!

photo (7)

Thank you so much, Swanson! I loved trying out their products, you should check out their website!

 

Do you do a lot of online ordering?

 

 

What’s the weirdest product you think you’ve ever tried?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 7:27 am

    that sounds like the best place to be an intern! That song is so catchy sadly.

  2. July 16, 2012 7:39 am

    You’ve really made me fancy getting spirulina again! Love that you are enjoying your protein ice cream 🙂

  3. July 16, 2012 8:04 am

    I just found powdered peanut butter at Whole Foods. Have you tried it? It’s 45 calories per 2 tbsp and gluten free. It’s also twice as expensive but you end up eating half as much so I guess it evens out. Obviously it’s no substitute for the real thing but it tastes great in oatmeal!

    • July 16, 2012 3:55 pm

      I have! I use PB2 almost everyday, I love it! I haven’t ever seen it at WF though!!! I have to order it online

      • July 17, 2012 8:13 am

        I think they just recently started bringing it into stores more recently. The brand is Just Great Stuff.

  4. July 16, 2012 8:36 am

    i LOVE burt’s bees products! their chapsticks are my favorite.

  5. July 16, 2012 8:38 am

    i online order all the time since i have amazon prime. though one click shopping is a bit dangerous because there are times where i’ve ordered something without even really thinking about if i need it 🙂 i don’t think anything i order is particularly weird, but i do have a standing order for peanut flour.

    • July 16, 2012 3:58 pm

      I use amazon prime too! Although I try and wait a day so I can decide if I really need it. It can be dangerous.

  6. July 16, 2012 10:14 am

    I got to try some swanson products and I got coconut flour, almond flour, date sugar, and some other goodies! I was impressed with the quality of the products!

  7. July 16, 2012 10:30 am

    Oooh! I like Burts Bee’s … their chapstick is my fave! I’ve been meaning to try spirulina powder. Must get on that.

  8. July 16, 2012 11:51 am

    I’ve never tried spirulina powder but I want to! I take fish oil every day. I used to take it morning and night but now I just take it in the morning. I think it helps a lot with inflammation! It jsut may take you a little while to notice.

  9. July 16, 2012 1:34 pm

    Ohhhhh do I love Burt’s Bees! Their stuff is legit.

    I’ve never tried spiralina powder-but it sounds interesting.

  10. July 16, 2012 3:09 pm

    Love that song!!! Fish oil that doesn’t make you burp fishy breathe, I love it, it is one of the reasons I am scared of buying fish supplements.

    • July 16, 2012 4:06 pm

      My dad emailed me this morning and said if you keep it in the freezer you don’t get fishy burps!

  11. July 16, 2012 5:02 pm

    Spirulina pancakes – what a great idea!

  12. July 16, 2012 9:23 pm

    I have literally never heard of any of those two items before – Psyllium Husk Powder and Spirulina Powder? What are they/what do they do/what are the benefits?

  13. July 16, 2012 9:35 pm

    I’ve actually heard recent studies about fish oil and (as of right now but it will probably change next month), it hasn’t been shown to improve health or lower risk of any diseases.

    • July 17, 2012 7:15 am

      I’ve heard from a lot of people that it helps with inflammation, which I need while marathon training!

  14. kristle permalink
    July 17, 2012 5:14 pm

    so jealous of the spirulina powder! i’ve been trying to find it. interesting that it tastes good, i figured i’d just throw it in smoothies and banana would mask any flavour.

Leave a Reply

