Skip to content

Thursday Thoughts

June 28, 2012

Hey everyone, it’s THURSDAY! Haha, it’s my second favorite day of the work-week, coming in right behind Friday! Funny how that works… huh? I’ve actually had a crazy busy week, last night I had a KD alumni (alumnae?) dinner, and tonight I have a Girls On The Run Event to go to. I am seriously looking forward to crashing tomorrow night, getting in my long run Saturday morning and then doing NOTHING. Well, except cleaning my apartment… seeing as that has been severely neglected this week…

One thought that didn’t get added in this week is about the wildfires in Colorado! I haven’t checked the news this morning (honestly I’m afraid too) but they are getting dangerously close to some of my favorite places in Colorado Springs, and the neighborhood where my family’s house is has been evacuated. So keep those firefighters and everyone being affected in your prayers (or thoughts!) today, I certainly am!

Anyway, here’s onto some Thursday Thoughts!

 

1. Is it weird that I think this looks fun to run on!? Up and down, up and down, like a roller coaster!

roller coaster highway, Tulsa, Oklahoma

2. Um… Yes please!?! Zucchini baked with cheese and tomatoes and basil?! Perfect way to make Italian food gluten free!

zucchini w/ tomatoes, basil & mozzarella.

3. How cute is this?! You make the background out of a map of somewhere you went, and then choose a photo from that trip! I love this! Guess I need to take more trips!

Use the tourist map from the place and then put the most memorable pic from the trip.

4. So, so very true. In the building where I work there are a few people who are in wheelchairs. Since I see them every day it’s reminded me so much of how blessed and lucky I am to be ABLE to run. So I run. And I love every minute. Okay, almost every minute.

run run run

 

5. I’ve started a Chicago Healthy Living Bloggers Facebook group! If you’re a Chicago-area blogger, be sure to join! I think it will be a much easier way to organize meet-ups and invite more people!

 

6. I have about 5,000 pictures of Molly from this past weekend of Molly-sitting. I think I should plaster my walls with them. Totally normal, yes? Maybe no… Here’s a good one: Molly being a cat. She is walking up around the edge of the big love seat I’m sitting in, showing off her agility.

photo 5 (6)

 

7.  Don’t forget to donate to Girls On The Run! I’m running as a Solemate for the Chicago Marathon and I can use all the help I can get! Just $5 would make a world of difference! You can find my fundraising page here.

 

8. Saw this and loved it. How cute? No need to be a cheerio (unless you’re a honey-nut cheerio… which are delicious).

.

 

What’s one of your random thoughts today?

Are you a fruit loop? Haha I definitely am, I don’t fit in too well, but I love being ME!

39 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 8:10 am

    Do you have the source for the zucchini boats? They look delish!

    • June 28, 2012 5:17 pm

      If the link isn’t working, they should be on my pinterest board! Let me know if you can’t find it

  2. June 28, 2012 8:20 am

    um, that road certainly does not look fun to run on! drive on? yes! haha! i love that fruit loop quote. we can be fruit loops together. 😉

  3. June 28, 2012 9:14 am

    My family used to take lots of roadtrips and many of them required driving through Oklahoma. Those roads were my favorite! I loved it when my stomach dropped like on a roller coaster! My sister and I use to yell “twister!!” as we were driving down those roads (if you haven’t seen the movie Twister you probably have no clue what I’m talking about!). Love those picture frames – such a cute idea!

    • June 28, 2012 5:19 pm

      Lol I love that! And I saw the movie once but I was young and very scared, so I don’t remember much!

  4. June 28, 2012 9:30 am

    I love that zucchini “pizza” idea! Looks delicious. The framed picture with the map background is also adorable..I’m with you, need to travel more places and do that!

  5. June 28, 2012 10:14 am

    That road does look like it would be so fun to run down! I am doing Chicago this year as well, best of luck to you!

    RR

  6. June 28, 2012 10:45 am

    Those zuchinnis look AWESOME!

  7. June 28, 2012 11:14 am

    That hill is the epitome of a road for hill repeats!

  8. June 28, 2012 12:04 pm

    The Zucchini boats look awesome! And that last quote really rings true!

  9. lifelaughfood permalink
    June 28, 2012 1:08 pm

    That hill looks so cool! and the zucchini looks so good! in fact, i love all the photos you’ve posted!
    The one about running really made me think- not just about the fact that I should be grateful I can walk and run, but how incredibly legs really are, and how I and so many others shouldn’t be so criticle of them.
    I also think I’m a fruit loop- I don’t feel like I’ve ever properly fitted in, but hey, I guess I need to embrace that like you have 🙂

    Also, I’ve nominated you for the lovely blog award and the versatile blogger award 😀 x

  10. June 28, 2012 1:10 pm

    Molly is so cute!

    And I must try the zucchini boats!

  11. June 28, 2012 1:51 pm

    Oh my gosh I want that zucchini!!!! I totally slacked on gardening this year 😦 Now I’m sad because I don’t have any Zukes!

  12. June 28, 2012 2:43 pm

    I need to try that zuchinni!
    And that road LOOKS kind of fun to run on, but I’m pretty sure if I were actually there, I wouldn’t be enjoying it 🙂 Maybe biking it would be more up my alley.

    • June 28, 2012 5:27 pm

      Haha honestly I’d rather run it than bike it! It’s rough biking up steep hills! Although the down is awesome

  13. June 28, 2012 2:51 pm

    Those zucchini things look insane! making them! Molly is so so cute!

  14. June 28, 2012 3:26 pm

    Hahaha I am definitely a fruit loop 😉 I like doing my own thing 😀

    Have a great day sweetheart! I love that randomness about the road! I would love to ride down that 😀 Weee

  15. June 28, 2012 5:38 pm

    that zucchini looks AMAZING!! also, i’m definitely a froot loop. too crazy and quirky to ever blend in! 😉

  16. June 28, 2012 6:38 pm

    Your dog is just so cute. I want to try those zucchini boats too!

  17. June 29, 2012 6:16 am

    I can attest that no that does not look fun to run. Probably because MANY routes around where I live look just like that. Kills me. Haha! I have seen those zucchini boats quite a few times and every time I see them I want to make them. Then I forget. Maybe I’ll remember this time because they do look good!

    • June 29, 2012 7:19 am

      I do the same thing, I always see recipes I want to make but I never think to do them when I’m throwing together dinner! Haha and maybe those hills just look so fun because we have zero here in Chicago!

  18. June 29, 2012 2:10 pm

    Love this post! I just did a random thoughts post today – they are my favorite! And I also requested to join the Chicago Healthy Living Bloggers group! Great idea! 🙂

  19. June 29, 2012 7:05 pm

    When I first got into running, my usual route through my neighborhood would take me past a house where I would often see the dad, sitting in his wheelchair in the driveway, watching his kids play. It was a constant reminder that I was lucky that I had two healthy legs, and I should keep using them as much as possible!

  20. June 29, 2012 7:29 pm

    LOVE that map/photo idea – I’m definitely going to be doing that! Aaaand oh Molly. So stinking cute!

Leave a Reply

