Skip to content

WIAW–Working in a Workplace

June 20, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you all are having a good week so far! I just wanted to say THANK YOU for all of your wonderful comments on my post yesterday. I really appreciate your support and hearing your stories, it definitely made my day much brighter!

Haha do you enjoy my new meaning for WIAW? Working in a workplace? So creative, I know… If you are new to WIAW, head over to Jen’s blog, Peas and Crayons, where she hosts the whole event!

Peas and Crayons

 

Today’s WIAW is food from yesterday, Tuesday! I woke up bright and early and headed to the gym to run 3 miles and then do a quick 15 minute upper-body circuit that I hope to share with you all soon!

When I got back I knew exactly what I wanted for breakfast, I’d been craving it for a while: Apple Pie Oats! So ridiculously delicious. I’m pretty sure I had this 7 days in a row when I was home in Kansas City.

photo 1 (6)

I headed off to work and after a few hours it was time for lunch! I’d made some tuna salad with 1 can of tuna, 1/2 cup cooked quinoa, some dijon mustard, 1/4 tsp tumeric and 1/4 tsp curry. I put it on top of a bed of spinach and added some cherry tomatoes!

photo 2 (6)

I had a doctors appointment that afternoon so I got to head out early (!!!!!). I had half this bar since I wasn’t too hungry, but knew I would be starving if I didn’t eat anything.

photo

By the time I got home, I was definitely ready for dinner! I ate at 5:30. I’m a grandma.

I made a green smoothie, some pb2, and a sweet potato.

photo 3 (6)

I was craving something creamy after dinner, so I had some Siggi’s strawberry yogurt. I love this stuff! They have a ton of great flavors!

photo 4 (4)

A little later I was feeling some dessert, but I was craving fruit, so I had the second half of the apple from my oats that morning, and the rest of my blueberries. Of course while watching the Bachelorette on Hulu.

photo 1 (7)

I ate them with almond butter – look! The jar is almost ready for some oats in a jar!!!! Does anyone else notice that TJ’s almond butter gets really hard at the end? Even when I store it upside down!

photo 2 (7)

 

What’s your favorite brand of snack bar or yogurt?

If you could invent a dream oatmeal recipe, what would it be?!

I’m torn between s’mores and calzone… mostly because I’ve been craving a calzone for about 3 days. Now that’s a savory oat recipe for you.

55 Comments leave one →
  1. fitandfuninthird permalink
    June 20, 2012 5:31 am

    Looks like some yummy eats! My dream oatmeal is just oatmeal with peanut butter, some blueberries, and maybe a few pieces of chocolate thrown in there!

  2. June 20, 2012 6:00 am

    My almond butter from TJ’s does the same thing. TO remedy that, right when I open the jar, I empty it out into a big bowl and stir it really well and then put it back in the jar.

  3. June 20, 2012 6:14 am

    i notice that with almond butter too! if you have warm overnight oats in a jar the problem is solved though!

  4. June 20, 2012 6:17 am

    That happens to my almond butter from TJs too..not sure why, but it just makes it more fun to dig for at the end lol. I still have yet to try PB2….but I love the sweet potato/peanut butter combo!

  5. June 20, 2012 6:19 am

    I loveeeee Chobani! My favorite oatmeal would be mixed with chocolate fro yo, pb2, bananas, and granola! wouldn’t that be perfect? (:

  6. June 20, 2012 6:40 am

    I don’t know about my dream oatmeal recipe, but lately I’ve been eating mine with a scoop of cookie butter and cocoa almond butter. Heavenly!

  7. June 20, 2012 7:20 am

    Lately tuna has been my go to as well, it is great protein for really cheap.

  8. June 20, 2012 8:53 am

    I love oatmeal! I may have to stray from my same day combo and try out that one because it looks delicious!

  9. June 20, 2012 9:27 am

    HAHA calzone oatmeal! LOVE IT! I honestly LOVE any cheesecake type of oatmeal and that has already been invented 😉

  10. June 20, 2012 9:29 am

    I definitely need to try those apple pie oats, they look delicious! My favorite yogurt right now is apple cinnamon Chobani…seriously tastes like apple pie!

  11. June 20, 2012 9:38 am

    i’m a huge fan of chobani greek yogurt, and i love larabars and luna bars!

  12. June 20, 2012 11:22 am

    Yep, my jar gets hard at the bottom too!

    I love Greek yogurt, and I really enjoy a good snack of nuts, choc chips, and dried cranberries. Have fun at work today 🙂

  13. Courtney permalink
    June 20, 2012 12:12 pm

    I love the taste of ThinkThin bars, but I don’t like the name and how they melt so easily :/

    • June 20, 2012 6:21 pm

      Good to know that they melt! I was thinking of trying those, but I can’t remember if they have soy. I’ll have to check!

  14. June 20, 2012 12:27 pm

    I have been craving tons of fruit lately, too! I think I could live off all of the berries that are in season during the summer!

  15. June 20, 2012 12:27 pm

    Umm a S’Mores Oatmeal sounds delish!! Especially during the summer! Good thinkin’ girl!

  16. June 20, 2012 12:29 pm

    I love Oikos vanilla greek yogurt, and the vanilla and cream yogurt from Trader Joe’s 🙂 Definitely going to try making your apple pie oatmeal!

    • June 20, 2012 6:22 pm

      I haven’t tried that flavor from TJs, I usually just buy plain! Perhaps I should expand my horizons!

  17. June 20, 2012 1:20 pm

    mmmm everything looks so good!!
    my favorite brand of bar is probably luna bars.. and i love fage plain greek yogurt and chobani flavored greek yogurt!

  18. healthhappinessandharmony permalink
    June 20, 2012 2:33 pm

    Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Oats! I’m a mission to create them now that I’m done with work for the summer. 🙂

  19. June 20, 2012 3:27 pm

    I like the idea of curry with quinoa! Sounds good! Fage is my fave yogurt!

  20. June 20, 2012 3:57 pm

    My dream oatmeal???? Seriously, I don’t think I have met an oat(meal) that I didn’t like. They are all my dream. 🙂

  21. Anna Lynn permalink
    June 20, 2012 4:03 pm

    I’m not a big snack bar person. I only keep a few on hand for emergencies, but I LOVE plain Greek yogurt and making my own creations….they get a little insane.

    My dream oatmeal is either apple & peanut butter or PB&J. I’ve tried both but I can never seem to make the peanut butter taste come through as much as I’d like because I like creamier, thinner oatmeal and add unsweetened almond milk so it gets diluted. Maybe overnight oats would work better?

    • June 20, 2012 6:24 pm

      Oooo I’d love to hear about some of these yogurt creations! I STILL have not tried PB&J oatmeal, I rarely have preserves or jam, so I never think to make it! On Hungry Hungry Hippie, Elise just adds preserves and pb to the top of the oats once they’re cooked and served in a bowl and mixes it in.

      • Anna Lynn permalink
        June 21, 2012 9:12 am

        My favorite yogurt creations:

        Half a chopped apple tossed in cinnamon and maple syrup, a few raisins, and a half a cup of whatever cereal I’m feeling.

        Half a chopped peach/nectarine, a sprinkle of muesli, and a dash of cinnamon.

        Frozen berries (let this one sit a few minutes and the berries get nice and juicy!), sliced almonds, and a sprinkle of granola.

        Mango and plain yogurt together is DIVINE!!!

        I’ll have to try the PB&J oats that way!

  22. June 20, 2012 5:09 pm

    I love Fage Greek yogurt or chobani and think thin bars…they are the best!

  23. June 20, 2012 6:53 pm

    I am a huge fan of LARABAR, Snickers Marathon, PURE Bars & Clif Bars.

  24. June 20, 2012 6:53 pm

    You know what yogurt I love? Anderson’s greek yogurt – and I can only find it in Kansas City! I just got here today and bought some, and I’ll probably have to get more to take home with me 🙂

    I’m just catching up with blogs over the past few days, and I so love your last post. I’ve been debating about something very “real” lately and have been a little nervous to do it, but I think I might go for it. You’re inspiring 🙂

    • June 20, 2012 7:23 pm

      I’m glad I could help! I love seeing other bloggers open up, so I thought it would be best for me to do so too. Haha and is it really only in KC?

  25. June 21, 2012 7:57 pm

    I’ve been enjoying the Two Degrees bars and Siggi’s yogurt as well…I’m a fan! And all my nut butters get dry near the bottom 😦

  26. June 22, 2012 2:33 am

    Oats is my everyday breakfast and I LOVE trying new recipes. I am going to give your apple pie oats bash 🙂 I love my oats with banana, berries and soy milk. Delish combo as well!

  27. June 22, 2012 6:43 am

    Fage is my favorite, but Siggi’s is so good! Soooo expensive, though (over $2 for one cup? Seriously??) As for bars, I can’t even choose a favorite! I love bars! Two Degrees aren’t my favorite, though, I prefer Luna Protein, 2:1, Quest, 9Bar, ThinkThin, and Jocolat bars 🙂

Leave a Reply

