Skip to content

WIAW–Another Day At Work

June 13, 2012

Hey everyone, Happy Wednesday! We are halfway through the week, yaaayyyyy!!!! Haha living for the weekend I guess! I’m doing well so far with my goal of making lunch 4 days a week, haha although I’m only 2 weeks in! Today’s What I Ate Wednesday features my food from Monday of this week!

If you’re new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons to learn all about it!

Peas and Crayons

After doing Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred, Level 3, and then running 3 miles, I was ready for breakfast! I made some blueberry muffin oats, and topped them with PB2.

photo 1

For lunch I had made some “fried rice.” I made it with 1/2 cup cooked quinoa, steamed broccoli and yellow squash and a few chopped up almonds. After making all those parts separately I combined them in a skillet and added one egg. I scrambled it around until the egg was mixed in and fully cooked. It was really good!

photo 3

For snacks I packed a sliced up gala apple, some carrots and an apple pie Lara bar. I didn’t eat the carrots, but by the time I was on the bus I wish I had – I was hungry! I also packed a small piece of chocolate. I love having a bite of chocolate after lunch! photo 2

During the afternoons I try to head out and go buy a tea or something just to get me away from the computer screen for 15 minutes. I grabbed some tea from Argo Tea, but didn’t take a picture. The guy I share an office with probably already thinks I’m crazy, no need to enforce that.

 

By the time I got home, I was STARVING. Like taking 10 minutes to make dinner resulted in me wanting to eat my hand. I chopped up some zucchini and eggplant, steamed it in the microwave and added some marinara sauce. I also had a sweet potato with one egg on top. Nutritious and delicious!

photo 3 (1)

After dinner I was craving something sweet, so I had some Greek yogurt with chocolate PB2 and a little almond butter.

photo 4

I also had some popcorn after this, but completely forgot to take a picture!

 

What are some “healthy snacks” you’ve been having lately?

If you’re a blogger who works somewhere that you don’t tell people you have a blog, do you ever get caught taking pictures?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. fitandfuninthird permalink
    June 13, 2012 5:44 am

    Haha luckily I usually eat in my classroom when the kids are at lunch so there is rarely anyone around me to see me snap pics! I can imagine that’s a bit awkward though!

  2. June 13, 2012 6:39 am

    I get caught taking pictures of the veggie mobile all the time! No one ever says anything but I get a lot of strange looks!

  3. Couch To 5Katy permalink
    June 13, 2012 7:08 am

    Yes, people have started to notice, but I am not ready to tell them that I blog so I just say I am sending a picture to my mom. 🙂

  4. June 13, 2012 7:22 am

    How is the internship going? Are they giving you a lot of work to do or is it just watching over people around you?

    • June 13, 2012 2:51 pm

      They’re definitely giving me work! I wish there was more “watching” because I’m getting pretty tired of sitting at my desk…

  5. June 13, 2012 7:46 am

    I work at a law firm and I don’t really want people knowing about my blog, mostly because I blog at work sometimes 🙂 I’ve never gotten caught taking pictures but people have walked by when I’m reading other blogs and I think they wonder why I’m always looking at food on the internet haha

  6. June 13, 2012 8:14 am

    I just use my iphone to take pictures. I have it on silent so it doesn’t make any noise and I don’t think people notice that I even take the pictures.

    I’ve been snacking on a lot of fruit lately. Peaches, plums, and berries have been amazing. To switch it up, sometimes I’ll have a rice cake with almond butter. It’s more filling and tasty.

    • June 13, 2012 2:57 pm

      I use my iPhone too, lol but to get the Argo tea cup I would have had to hold it up in the air to avoid getting any documents in the background, lol very obvious

  7. June 13, 2012 8:31 am

    all of your eats look delicious! i love making quinoa fried rice

  8. June 13, 2012 8:41 am

    your lunch sounds so good!!! i really do need to get my hands on some quinoa pronto. fortunately i have my own office at work, otherwise i’m sure others would think i’m a little crazy. haha. oh well, i’ve learned to not care much anyways. 🙂

    • June 13, 2012 2:58 pm

      Haha best not to care! I am just more concerned about them finding out I have a blog, especially because of where I work

  9. June 13, 2012 9:15 am

    I am making that “fried rice,” it looks so good!

  10. June 13, 2012 12:10 pm

    Love Larabars! I also like KIND bars. The cranberry almond is delicious. I’m now trying to come up with a vegan version of your fried rice. It sounds so good!

    I host a weekly health and fitness link up, Fitness Friday, if you’re interested in joining. This is the link for last week’s link up so you can see what it’s all about.

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]: Fitness Friday

    • June 13, 2012 3:04 pm

      I’m not sure what you’d use to make it vegan, the eggy taste is my favorite part! Granted, I know very little about egg replacements!

  11. June 13, 2012 12:10 pm

    That ‘fried rice’ looks/sounds really tasty!! Gotta try it!

  12. Anna Lynn permalink
    June 13, 2012 12:31 pm

    I’ve been teaching a dance camp and I’m out of the house from 8-6 so I tend to just snack all day rather than eat meals. I’ve been loving peaches, nectarines, and mangos this summer with Greek yogurt, veggies (sugar snap peas, carrots, grape tomatoes, cucumbers), the white parts of egg whites, peanut/almond butter on whole wheat bread, an apple tossed with a little maple syrup & cinnamon. I try to incorporate lots of fruits and veggie though!

    • June 13, 2012 3:12 pm

      The white part of egg whites?! Lol. But those all sound like good, healthy snacks! I love the apple idea

      • Anna Lynn permalink
        June 17, 2012 12:06 am

        Haha! Too much time with children WILL fry your brain. Let’s try the white part of a hard boiled egg! That sounds much better!

  13. June 13, 2012 1:06 pm

    Blueberry muffin oats?! Sounds amazing! I have a big carton of blueberries in my fridge just begging to be used, so I think I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow…..

  14. June 13, 2012 1:39 pm

    I love almond butter as an evening snack! Perfect scooped on-top banana slices heated in the microwave for a bit!

  15. June 13, 2012 2:59 pm

    Gosh that all looks so good. I love the lunch!

  16. June 13, 2012 3:54 pm

    Your zucchini and eggplant combo looks great!

  17. June 13, 2012 6:20 pm

    I love a sweet potato and a fried egg! It’s also good if you had black beans sauteed in a little salsa. My co-worker who sits next to me knows I have a blog, but I discreetly use my iPhone to take pics anyway! It just looks like you are texting…

  18. June 13, 2012 10:14 pm

    I LOVE making homemade fried rice 🙂 yours looks so good babe!

  19. June 14, 2012 2:13 am

    Ooh, your fried quinoa “rice” is calling my name. Yum!

    I’m completely open about my blog, so I always tell new friends, colleagues and complete strangers why I’m taking pictures of my food. It usually results in an interesting conversation, and I avoid feeling the need to be sneaky! :-p

  20. June 14, 2012 3:12 am

    Favourite snack at the moment is scoop of yoghurt, berries and a pumpkin seeds. So good and satisfies the sweet tooth! Many awkward moments snapping pics for my blog.. especially when it takes a while trying to get good lighting etc. cringe!

  21. June 14, 2012 11:23 pm

    i’m definitely going to try that “fried rice” – i never even thought of that for my quinoa. for snacks lately, i love plain nonfat yogurt with chia seeds & chopped up pears, or fresh blueberries. if i’m taking it somewhere for later, i use frozen fruit because it keeps it cold, plus its usually nice and mostly defrosted for when i get hungry!

Leave a Reply

