Skip to content

Sing You Home

June 11, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend! I didn’t do too much exciting this weekend, but I did enjoy the free time and relaxation, as well as the feeling of accomplishment I get when I get a lot of things done! Haha, yes, totally lame, but I’m okay with that.

I also loved that I finally got a long run in! My CARA run was supposed to be 6, which is the longest I’ve done in weeks, but I ended up making it 8 by running from the bus to the start, and then back to the bus. I forgot how much I love getting in longer runs and I’m looking forward to training! Although I must say I’m a liiiiittle overwhelmed by the thought of those runs longer than I’ve done before, the 14 miles and up runs! But I’ve just got to believe in myself!

 

Today’s post is about books, so I thought I’d start off by saying, sadly, I don’t think I’ll be able to participate in Julie’s book club on Peanut Butter Fingers this month! For June, the book is called Drop Dead Healthy by A.J. Jacobs.

Drop Dead Healthy: One Man's Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection

The book looked interesting, but I’m not a huge fan of informational books. Haha I read PLENTY of those during the school year, so I prefer to get lost in a novel during the summer. I decided to read it anyway, but since I’m on a budget this summer I didn’t want to buy it. I looked it up in the Chicago Public Library system and found that it was checked out or on hold in EVERY location. And there are a lot. Since I won’t be able to get to it before July 1st when the posts are supposed to be up, I’m just going to skip out this month.

However, don’t you worry, I’m definitely still reading! Currently I’m working on American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld, which actually was an older book club choice of Julie’s. I had ordered it for the book club but it didn’t come in time!

I also just finished a book by Jodi Picoult! I LOVE her novels, they are a mix of law (usually a court case is involved), some sort of social issue, and great characters that you really feel like you know by the end of the book. I’ve read every single one of her books except for Picture Perfect and her newest one, Lone Wolf.

The book that I just finished is called Sing You Home.

photo (1)

The first thing I noticed about this book was the playlist. At the beginning of each section, there’s a playlist, and each section is a song on the playlist. Part of the novel’s message is how ingrained music is into our lives and our memories. The playlist is like a soundtrack to the main character, Zoe Baxter’s, life.

Zoe Baxter is a music therapist who we first meet while she is desperately trying to get pregnant with her husband, Max. She is currently pregnant after several rounds of IVF, however when her pregnancy ends in a still-birth, her world falls apart, including her relationship with Max. When an acquaintance and school counselor, Vanessa, tries to help by asking her to work with a troubled student at her school, Zoe finds a friend in Vanessa and realizes that she is falling in love even though she’d never considered herself as gay.

I won’t spoil any more of the story, but much of the book is about the issue of not gay marriage, but whether or not a same-sex couple should be able to raise a child. Max, Zoe’s ex-husband, continues to play an integral part in this story and has very different views from Zoe, since after their divorce he fell back into his alcoholism but was “saved” by his brother and his brother’s wife and became a very devout Christian.

One thing that I loved about the novel (as I often do) is that the author moved around between points of views, mostly Zoe, Max and Vanessa. It not only made the story more interesting and easier for us to know everything that was going on, but it also showed each person’s individual views on the situation and the issues at hand. I don’t like to get religious or political on my blog, but I have to say that reading this book opened up my mind to things I had never really thought about.

I really enjoyed reading Sing You Home and highly recommend it. Who knows, you mind find you also love reading Jodi Picoult and start on all her other novels! She has quite a few…

 

Do you buy books or try to get them from the library?

Do you enjoy reading books that involve current social issues?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2012 7:05 am

    Haha I actually LOVE informational books, so maybe I’ll try to jump into the book club! I don’t know why, I just can’t get into fiction!

  2. June 11, 2012 8:50 am

    i enjoy informational books when it comes to health, fitness, and nutrition, but not much past that. i definitely have to throw in a fiction book every once in awhile to keep things fun though. right now i’m reading 50 Shades of Grey… i like it, but much different than anything i’ve ever read before! ha. p.s. i feel like we haven’t talked in forever!!

    • June 11, 2012 3:23 pm

      I know!! We need to, things have been rough so I’ve been avoiding gchat, which is the OPPOSITE of what I should do!

  3. June 11, 2012 10:44 am

    I love Jodi Picoult! I always get books from the library, rarely buy.

  4. myhealthyohana permalink
    June 11, 2012 12:33 pm

    I always try to get my books from the library these days, it saves money and I don’t have to worry about accumulating a bunch of books. If there’s one I absolutely love, then I’ll purchase it to share with others 🙂

  5. June 11, 2012 1:04 pm

    I love Jodi Picoult and purchased Sing You Home at the airport for a recent flight. I struggled to get through the first few chapters as I am currently 24 weeks pregnant, so it was a very emotional read (but that’s what I love about Picoult–her writing is so real!). But once I got past that I really loved the book! The “Christians” portrayed in the book made me raging mad, though. I consider myself a Christian and my views are the complete opposite of those people in the book, but I guess they are out there. Its just so sad that they don’t live the LOVE that is central to Christian belief. Great post!

    • June 11, 2012 3:25 pm

      I agree, the Christians portrayed in the book are extreme, although those types do exist! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  6. June 11, 2012 1:26 pm

    I almost never buy books…all from the library.

    I faced the same problem with the “Drop Dead Healthy” book. I ultimately did buy it but strongly would have preferred from the library. It must be a newer release because I didn’t have a prayer of getting the hold on time.

    The book you are reading now sounds really interesting. And yes, I do enjoy current social issues in books because even under a fictionalized story it is interesting to see what an author explores with it.

    • June 11, 2012 3:27 pm

      I’ll be interested to hear how people like Drop Dead Healthy! I just wasnt willing to shell out the cash when I’m loving off loans and not super interested. Gotta save that money for important things… Like fro yo.

  7. June 11, 2012 2:41 pm

    I’m always looking for a new author to read! I’ve heard great things about Jodi Picoult and you just confirmed my next book-thanks!

    • June 11, 2012 3:33 pm

      Definitely read some Jodi Picoult! There’s actually a movie made off of one of her books: My Sisters Keeper

  8. June 11, 2012 3:17 pm

    I always buy books. I NEED to go to the library to save money, but I’m lazy an amazon is right at my finger tips!

  9. June 11, 2012 4:01 pm

    Jodi Picoult does have some great ones, but oh some of them are just so sad! I usually buy my books because I read on trips and so sporadically that I would rack up too many overdue fines at the library if I checked them out! But, maybe that isn’t such a bad idea because it would be like a nice donation to the local library, haha!

  10. June 11, 2012 5:03 pm

    Thanks for letting me know the June selection 🙂 I always check ’em out from the library, so yes, I am sometimes a bit late for the clubs. Haha. But I LOVE reading!!!

    Just read Under The Never Sky. It’s a good one!!

  11. June 11, 2012 6:48 pm

    I never buy books unless there’s a reason I need to own it. I used to work for a large book chain (and the first word is “Barnes” 🙂 ) and whenever people came and spent tons of money on books they just wanted to check out, I was so tempted to say, “You know you can do that for free at the library, right?”

    • June 11, 2012 7:02 pm

      haha very true! Although at least with the Chicago public library that I go to, the books are always checked out that I want!

  12. June 11, 2012 7:22 pm

    I tend to read all self help books and nutrition books these days– I need to start reading fiction again

  13. Amy permalink
    June 11, 2012 8:04 pm

    I always try to get books from the library but if I can’t wait I will buy them on my Kindle. I read this book and really liked it. I’m starting Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult soon. I really like her books usually but I do have some favorite books that she’s written: Ninteen Minutes is my absolute favorite and My Sister’s Keeper. If you like Jodi Picoult you should try reading Kristin Hannah. True Colors is my favorite book of hers followed by Dragonfly Lane (set in Snohomish, WA which is my very very very tiny home town!)

  14. June 11, 2012 8:47 pm

    I need to start using the library as a resource more. I am just afriad I will lose the book or forget to return it (which happened to me a time or two before in high school).

Leave a Reply

