Skip to content

WIAW–A Day In The Life

June 6, 2012

Remember my Day in the Life post from yesterday?! Remember how I didn’t show you any of the food I ate?! Haha, that’s because I saved it for today’s WIAW! Yes, lame that I’m repeating a day, but I tried to remember to photograph my food every day since Friday and this was the first day I actually managed to do it!

For those of you new to What I Ate Wednesday, check out Jen’s blog Peas and Crayons to learn more about WIAW and check out the other blogs who are participating!

Peas and Crayons

This month’s theme is Sensible Snacking, which is great for me because my afternoon and after-dinner snack were very sensible! Okay, minus the random candies…

You already know how my day went… so here are my eats:

For breakfast I made some overnight oats! I made my typical Pumpkin Pie Oats and, while still hot, I poured them into an almost empty almond butter jar!

photo 5 (9)

And yes, that is a Costco sized jar. And yes, I had to use an extra big spoon to reach the bottom…

I had coffee when I got to work (shamefully from McDonalds… just so cheap).

photo 4 (12)

And then for lunch it was time for Mexican Quinoa. I need some way to season this, but I wasn’t sure how to and just threw this together! It’s 1/2 cup cooked quinoa, 1/2 cup black beans, steamed squash, roasted mushrooms and roasted tomatoes.

photo (3)

For my afternoon snack, I had a sliced up Gala apple and a KIND bar: photo (1)

And then a café au lait from Argo Tea:

photo 2 (27)

When I got home I was craving a green smoothie and a sweet potato! The smoothie was a TON of spinach, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1 cup frozen peaches, 1 T protein powder, stevia, vanilla, and water to help it mix up.

photo 3 (20)

It actually wasn’t too filling, so I had my go-to snack as part of my dinner: Pumpkin mixed with protein powder, cinnamon and vanilla with some cocoa powder mixed with protein powder on the side.

photo 2 (18)

A little while later I was craving something salty, so I made some popcorn (x2!):

photo (2)

So good! Hit the spot! I also had some random candies from my drawer during the day:

photo 2 (20)

 

What’s your favorite kind of granola bar?

What’s the best thing you ate yesterday?

47 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 5:47 am

    i love KIND bars! the walnut and date one is my favorite. although my ultimate bar would probably be larabars!

  2. June 6, 2012 6:59 am

    I always forget about popcorn as a sensible snack, I need to look into that. The best thing I ate yesterday was my dinner – grilled pork chops and romaine hearts. Very summery!

  3. June 6, 2012 7:14 am

    Love seeing how people eat healthy while at work! It’s definitely a little more of a challenge than eating at home.

    I bet adding some fresh cilantro to your quinoa mix would taste great!

  4. June 6, 2012 7:46 am

    i need to go some popcorn asap i have been craving it lately!

  5. June 6, 2012 7:50 am

    No shame about McDonald’s! I easily prefer their coffee to Starbucks and many other places.

    • June 6, 2012 8:51 am

      Haha I actually do like their coffee better than Starbucks! I’m not a fan of Starbucks coffee plain

  6. June 6, 2012 7:52 am

    Your lunch looks so good! My favorite granola bar is chocolate raspberry Luna bars

  7. June 6, 2012 8:08 am

    Best thing I ate yesterday was my mugful of Light Moosetracks ice cream. Yum!

  8. June 6, 2012 8:48 am

    haha i always buy costco size nut butter jars too, and i use a GIANT spoon to get down to the bottom. it’s pretty hilarious. i’m glad you can relate. 😉 and my favorite granola bars would have to be LUNA bars or the new uber larabars! those kind bars are really good too!

  9. June 6, 2012 9:08 am

    Love all of your eats, delicious and healthy, my favorite granola bar is Kind Almonds & Apricot! And the best thing I ate yesterday, lets see, a delicious carrot souffle and soem sweet potato fries!

  10. June 6, 2012 10:52 am

    That huge jar of almond butter is the great thing!!

  11. June 6, 2012 11:09 am

    I grew up with that rice candy…brings back good memories 🙂

  12. Annie permalink
    June 6, 2012 11:11 am

    I’m not usually into the WIAW posts, but yours are the best! I think I like yours because we have similar “taste” (pun intended, ha!), so anything new you add in is always an idea for me to add to my 3 squares. 🙂

    Re: Kind bar, I always think “when you go Kind, you will blow your mind!” I tried it awhile ago to see what the big deal was and – oh my – it IS a big deal. All other bars just seems so … blah after that.

    • June 6, 2012 1:58 pm

      Hey Annie, thanks for commenting! And I am in LOVE with KIND bars right now, I am trying to test out all the flavors!

  13. June 6, 2012 12:41 pm

    Looks like you are getting into the groove of making your own lunch! Way to go girl. All looks absolutely delicious.

  14. June 6, 2012 1:59 pm

    Kind Bars are my favorite– especially Almond & Coconut. Tastes like a samoa!!

  15. June 6, 2012 5:02 pm

    Haha a costco size almond butter jar is my kind of style 😉

  16. June 6, 2012 5:09 pm

    I just recently found your blog & I must say that I really love it! The other day I saw a post of you up SUPER early for a run & it gave me that push to go for my run 🙂 The best thing I ate yesterday was cream of leek soup.mmm.

    • June 6, 2012 7:36 pm

      Thank you for reading, Brittany!!! And I’m glad I could inspire you, it’s not always easy getting out of bed!

  17. June 6, 2012 5:24 pm

    you are adorable babe 🙂 I really want to try your “go to snack” with the pumpkin!!!!

  18. June 6, 2012 5:30 pm

    I like too many granola bars to name a favorite, but the Odwalla chocolate peanut butter is def. up there 🙂
    McDonalds coffee = epic. not shame.

  19. June 6, 2012 8:51 pm

    I stumbled on your site for the first time today. Great content here, and completely fits in with my current goals. I saw that you do a smoothie in a bowl. Maybe a silly question, but what do you use for your smoothie? Blender, food processor? Thinking of adding such an appliance to my kitchen cabinets.

  20. June 6, 2012 9:31 pm

    I am obsessed with bars, but my favorite granola-style bar is the KIND peanut butter and strawberry bar. It literally tastes like a PB&J sandwich is bar form!

  21. healthhappinessandharmony permalink
    June 6, 2012 9:43 pm

    I need to finish a nut butter soon. I’ve been craving OIAJ!
    The best thing I ate yesterday was a stuffed artichoke with breadcrumbs, provolone and pine nuts. It was amazing!

  22. June 6, 2012 9:51 pm

    I love dried cherries. I could eat an entire bag in one sitting!

  23. June 6, 2012 11:09 pm

    McDonald’s coffee is surprisingly good, and I don’t usually support them either!

  24. June 9, 2012 7:55 pm

    Do you share your recipe for your little pumpkin peanut butter chocolatey thing?

    • June 9, 2012 9:00 pm

      There’s really not a recipe. For the pumpkin I just put in some vanilla protein powder (about a T?), a packet of stevia, plenty of cinnamon, maybe 1/4 tsp vanilla, and some flax milk to thin it out. For the chocolate I really don’t know the ratio, but it’s a packet of stevia and a mix of more protein powder and cocoa powder. I make it so much I just eye it and know what works!

Leave a Reply

