Skip to content

A Day in the Life…

June 5, 2012

5:05am – Alarm goes off (Newly changed to the song “I Like To Move It” from Madagascar…)

5:17am – leave apartment to walk .5 miles to the gym!

5:20am – make note that although very bright out, sun rose 3 minutes ago

photo 2

5:30am – workout: 2 mile run (19:20 min) and leg weights/lunges, and plank!

photo 3

6:45am – arrive back at apartment, shower and get dressed

photo 4 (11)

7:15am – eat delicious oats in a jar.

7:42am – leave apartment and walk to bus stop.

7:48am – realize that I will be late if I keep waiting for this bus. Walk to other bus stop.

7:59am – see picture friend sent me of her cat

photo 2 (28)

8:20am – debate as to whether I will sacrifice my morals and buy $1 McDonalds coffee, or go next door for $3 coffee. $1 coffee wins.

8:30am – arrive at desk and go through emails.

photo 4 (12)

9:10am – meet other externs in the building lobby and walk to one of the Federal buildings.

9:30am – watch an oral argument in the Court of Appeals

10:30am – return to office

11:30am – eat HOMEMADE lunch

2:00pm – get a café au lait at Argo Tea

photo 2 (27)

3:45pm – sing happy birthday to a coworker (she got a cupcake)

5:00pm – LEAVE WORK!!!!

5:43pm – arrive home, thankful for a “quick” commute.

6:00pm – dig into dinner (you’ll see tomorrow on WIAW!)

6:32pm until 9:00pm – work on blog post, watch How I Met Your Mother, pack up for tomorrow morning, read blogs, read book, have a small snack

9:00pm – lights out!

 

Are you an early to rise early to bed person, or a night owl?

What’s your favorite part of the day?

42 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 7:17 am

    What a busy day! I am definitely an early to bed person – even though it’s summer for me, I’m still in bed at 9 or 9:30 to read my book!

  2. fitandfuninthird permalink
    June 5, 2012 7:48 am

    I’m early to bed and early to rise! I like to make the most of my day!

  3. June 5, 2012 7:54 am

    I love seeing how other people spend their days! I’m definitely more of a morning person!

  4. June 5, 2012 8:09 am

    Props to you for waking up at 5am! I considered doing that when I started my new job because I really prefer working out in the morning, but that would mean going to bed so early that I would barely see my boyfriend, if at all (he doesn’t get home until 8 or 9 usually). I’m also definitely not a morning person!

    • June 5, 2012 12:25 pm

      Yea, I would switch to afternoon if that were the case for me, especially since I go to bed at 9!

  5. June 5, 2012 8:24 am

    Wow you have a long day! I cannot wake up before 7!

    • June 5, 2012 12:28 pm

      Haha and that seems crazy to me, I couldn’t sleep past 7! Although that’s more because it’s so bright in my room!

  6. June 5, 2012 8:42 am

    I love getting up early. It definitely sets the pace for my whole day. I always feel more productive and awake (and frankly, happier!) It’s always fun to look inside the day of another 🙂

    • June 5, 2012 12:31 pm

      Me too! I feel so productive and I get most of what I need to do done before a lot of people are rolling out of bed!

  7. Couch To 5Katy permalink
    June 5, 2012 8:57 am

    I am both! I feel like I can never unwind at night so I go to bed after midnight most days and am up before 7 just because! I like late morning/early afternoon best. This is usually when I workout and have the most energy.

    • June 5, 2012 12:33 pm

      Ahh I couldnt function on too little sleep! Haha I’m an 8 hours a night no matter what kind of girl, probably because I wake up so often in the middle of the night!

  8. June 5, 2012 9:00 am

    Busy day!! I’m more of an early riser and early to bed person, but it will probably be even earlier once I start working!

    • June 5, 2012 12:36 pm

      Haha yea, before work I only got up at 5am to workout one day a week because that was the only day I didn’t have time later! Now it’s every day…

  9. June 5, 2012 9:07 am

    you are a busy gal this summer! i like to go to bed around10:30 and wake up around 6:30. early mornings are my favorite time of day for sure!

    • June 5, 2012 12:41 pm

      Lol I miss the days when 6:30 was early… Which is why I can’t even fathom people getting up at like 8 on workdays! Lol I guess it’s all relative

  10. June 5, 2012 9:16 am

    I am an early to bed kind of girl… I feel so much better if I get a good night’s rest!

  11. June 5, 2012 9:24 am

    Looks like your internship is keeping you busy! My schedule was about the same when I was teaching, but everything has been moved back by a half hour or so for the summer. I’m definitely a morning person though, so I get up fairly early still. And it will be necessary when it starts getting hotter!

  12. June 5, 2012 11:05 am

    I’m an early to bed person so I can get a workout done in the morning. Did you enjoy oral arguments?

    • June 5, 2012 12:47 pm

      Yea I love listening to them! Haha it was interesting because the defense was very passionate/angry and the judge had a couple rude comments.

  13. June 5, 2012 11:16 am

    i’m definitely a morning person! i love going for a run outside bright and early 🙂

  14. June 5, 2012 11:49 am

    That will somewhat be my schedule starting next week, I will be in bed early so that I can get up and do a run each morning.

  15. June 5, 2012 11:57 am

    I would love to be a morning person but so far mornings and I do not get along. Perhaps if I went to bed earlier that would change 😉

  16. June 5, 2012 1:16 pm

    What a day! It’s always interesting to see what life is like for someone else hour by hour.
    I actually like mornings and evenings. This makes getting enough sleep hard sometimes, but sometimes I just alternate weeks of getting up early and others for staying up late.
    Early morning in the city is really kind of cool -it is so calm and quiet; it’s nice. I am not one for late nights out though, I rather enjoy late nights at home.

    • June 5, 2012 8:28 pm

      I love the city early in the morning! I love the feeling that I’m up before everyone, while it’s calm and quiet!

  17. June 5, 2012 1:34 pm

    You busy bee. Total respect for gymming it at 5 in the morning. xxx

  18. June 5, 2012 3:48 pm

    I’m so jealous that you are an early riser, and going to the gym at 5 AM! I am totally the opposite! I am pretty much non-functional or crabby early in the morning, but will gladly stay awake late doing work 🙂

  19. June 5, 2012 4:37 pm

    I get up around 6:30, and go to bed around 10:30. Sometimes I stay up later (because I get distracted or can’t fall asleep), and then I still wake up at 6:30. It’s a problem, haha.

  20. June 5, 2012 7:51 pm

    Early to bed for me as well, I’m in bed with my book by 9 most nights.

  21. June 5, 2012 8:16 pm

    I’m so envious of your early bed time! I wake up at the same time as you but can’t seem to get to bed before 10:30pm.

  22. June 6, 2012 1:19 am

    I am such a morning person! I give myself at least an hour and a half to enjoy the morning before going to teach @ 8am. I love to have my breakfast, my tea and watch the news, blog and sit outside – all before work!

    • June 6, 2012 5:38 am

      that’s what I loved to do this past semester when I had plenty of afternoon workout time, I loooooved taking my time to enjoy the morning!

Leave a Reply

