Skip to content

Oats, Oats, Oats Galore!

May 7, 2012

Hey everyone! I’m packing up and heading back to Kansas City today!!! I’m so excited! I will never again have one of my loooooong Mondays of classes! (Next semester it’s Thursday… haha so watch out!). Yesterday I dropped off Neville and the hermit crabs at my brother’s house, and said goodbye to dear Molly! She didn’t seem to happy that I’d be leaving. I actually get shocked when I realize how much she really does like (and remember) me! You’d think I’d be more shocked that my goldfish, Neville, clearly recognizes me… Check out this video my brother sent me:

She runs to the front door at the end, because she knows that’s where I come in! Sooooo cute. I’m going to miss her. I tried to convince them to let me take her home, but they weren’t going for it…

During finals, I had to have a good breakfast for brain food, and I ended up doing a lot of experimenting with making the perfect oats! Here are two of my newest recipes:

photo (16)


Blueberry Muffin Oats

Ingredients

1/3 C oats

2/3 C water (separated)

1/3 C milk (whatever your preference)

1/2 C blueberries

1 egg or 2 egg whites

1/2 T chia seeds

1/4 – 1/2 Tsp vanilla

Sweetener to taste

Directions

You can do this first step the night before, or right when you wake up. Combine oats, 1/3 water, milk and chia seeds on stovetop and heat until boiling. Turn off heat and cover with lid. Let sit overnight or at least  a half hour. This allows the chia seeds to soak up the moisture. When you return, the liquid should be soaked up.

Add 1/3 cup water and turn the heat back on. Whisk egg or egg whites and then add into mixture. Continuously mix the oats until it looks like the eggs have mixed in well. Add vanilla. Add most of the blueberries. Let them heat up and try and pop as many as possible, so their juices spread around in the oats. Continue cooking until they are the consistency you like and then serve in a bowl with the remainder of the blueberries and any nut butters or other toppings. Enjoy!

photo (9)

Pumpkin Bread Oats

Ingredients

1/3 C oats

2/3 C water (separated)

1/3 C milk (whatever your preference)

1/3 C canned pumpkin

1 egg or 2 egg whites

1/2 T chia seeds

1/4 – 1/2 Tsp vanilla

cinnamon

Sweetener to taste

Directions

You can do this first step the night before, or right when you wake up. Combine oats, 1/3 water, milk and chia seeds on stovetop and heat until boiling. Turn off heat and cover with lid. Let sit overnight or at least a half hour. This allows the chia seeds to soak up the moisture. When you return, the liquid should be soaked up.

Add 1/3 cup water and turn the heat back on. Whisk egg or egg whites and then add into mixture. Continuously mix the oats until it looks like the eggs have mixed in well. Add vanilla, cinnamon and pumpkin. Continue cooking until they are the consistency you like and then serve in a bowl with any nut butters or other toppings (I used almond butter and it was INSANE!!!). Enjoy!

If you could invent any oatmeal flavor, what would it be?

Do you have any pets?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 7:05 am

    i really like cookie dough or banana coconut (what i had this morning!). i still haven’t tried the whisking an egg into oats idea yet.

    • May 7, 2012 8:42 am

      I love adding the egg because it adds a lot of protein! I don’t think my eggs would keep my full very long without them! And banana coconut sounds good!

  2. May 7, 2012 7:07 am

    Those both look fab! I love my carrot, raisin and coconut oats, courgette bread oats and orange, cranberry and macadamia oats, they are all so good! I actually had a great bowl of pear oats topped with chocolate hazelnut butter yesterday that was lush!

  3. May 7, 2012 7:07 am

    Oh my goodness; how cute is Molly?! Dogs are the best! I have a pug that I’m obsessed with! When my husband & I get a house, I really want to get another dog, but we’ll see…

  4. May 7, 2012 7:50 am

    Molly is adorable, golden retrievers are the sweetest dogs!

    I have a cat and I absolutely love him but I really want a dog so that I can take him/her for walks and to the park. Maybe when I get a bigger place it’ll happen 🙂

    • May 7, 2012 8:41 am

      my friend has a cat and I always joke she should take him on a walk! I’m not sure he’d enjoy it…

  5. May 7, 2012 8:17 am

    both of these oatmeal recipes sound SO good!!! i plan on buying some blueberries today at the store and am going to make that blueberry muffin one tomorrow! 🙂

  6. May 7, 2012 8:30 am

    Aw Molly is adorable! I have a little toy poodle and I don’t know what I’d do without him – he always makes me smile 🙂

  7. May 7, 2012 8:32 am

    I love dogs for this reason, always excited to see you!

  8. May 7, 2012 8:40 am

    I only have fish, and I don’t think the recognize me lol. And I think they’re mad at me, because one fish disappeared. Like, legit, is just no where to be found. Does that make me a bad pet owner? Maybe.

    Hmmmm I can’t think of an oatmeal flavor that doesn’t’ already exist!!!

  9. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    May 7, 2012 9:45 am

    Molly is SO cute!! I want a golden retriever so bad. I make blueberry oats very similar to yours then add in a little cottage cheese at the end- tastes like blueberry cheesecake! 😀

    • May 7, 2012 11:48 am

      do you add it in when it’s still on the stove? I tried it once and it didn’t work out so well… haha but I hear it’s good so I want to try again!

      • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
        May 7, 2012 2:34 pm

        I usually add it after I put it in my bowl! I sometimes add greek yogurt like that too..adding it once it’s off the stove stops it from “cooking” so I think that helps it taste better!

  10. David Haas permalink
    May 7, 2012 11:18 am

    Hi,
    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?
    David

  11. May 7, 2012 12:05 pm

    WHOA! Both of those sound amazing!

    I’d invent dark chocolate caramel protein oats 🙂 hehe.

  12. May 7, 2012 12:35 pm

    Some kind of cheesecake oatmeal for sure 🙂
    Yay for KC!!

  13. May 9, 2012 2:52 pm

    i just made your blueberry oatmeal. The berries turned my entire bowl blue! haha I love it!

  14. May 9, 2012 10:12 pm

    Those sound amazing!! I cannot wait to make these. Question, You leave it on the stove covered overnight or do you put it in the fridge?

    • May 10, 2012 7:48 am

      I just leave them on the stovetop, but I’ve also put them in the fridge, I don’t think it matters.

      • May 10, 2012 10:13 pm

        Ok thank you very much. I was just wondering because of the whole leaving milk out overnight lol.

        • May 11, 2012 9:04 am

          well I use almond milk and I don’t think that spoils in the same way since it’s not dairy. Maybe put it in the fridge just to be safe! I usually do it when I wake up too, so I guess I never really thought about it!

Leave a Reply

