Skip to content

Thursday Thoughts and a Book Thief

April 26, 2012

Hey everyone!!! How’s your week going? I’m getting pretty pumped up because tomorrow is my last day of class! Yes… I have class on a Friday. Party foul, I know. But it’s a make up day for when we got Martin Luther King Jr. off, so I have to go… Luckily, only 2 of my teachers are making up class (normally it would be like a whole looooong Monday! AH!) so I can’t be too upset about it.

The scary part? This means my first final is in less than a week! For those of you who put my personal life in your own calendars (which I assume is everyone), I have a final Wednesday, Friday and Saturday of next week. AHHHHH. But then I get to go home! YAAAAYY. Haha can you tell it’s thursday? Losing my mind! Speaking of, it’s time to get on to Thursday Thoughts, as well as a quick book review!

 

1. I am IN LOVE with this blog! Everyday “J” posts different outfits she’s put together, with the outfit’s inspiration and several places where you can find similar items of clothing for really reasonable prices! She’s really giving me some great ideas – now if only I had some money…

2. Am I some kind of crazy person (okay yes) or does everyone check the weather a million times a day? Seriously. Despite the fact that I rarely trust it’s forecast, weather.com and I are BFFs. Fo reals. Speaking of, if I believed the forecast, then my 10 miler is going to be pretty chilly, and um, Chicago? Really? I need some spring. Where did that 70 degree weather go?

image

3. I’m a huge fan of inspirational quotes from pinterest (if you hadn’t noticed already), however, I read a great post by Ashley at My Food N Fitness Diaries about listening to your body. She mentions in the post how the healthy living blogging community can often create this vision of an “ideal” person in our minds. There are so many fitness quotes, images and mantras out there (and on pinterest) that tell you to be perfect, never quite, push through the pain.

LOVE!!

Honestly, this is just TOO MUCH. I’m definitely stepping back and re-evaluating why I do the things I do as well as priorities in life. Yes, it’s important to be healthy and fit, and yes I enjoy pushing myself a little further and improving, but there’s a limit when it comes to putting your body, and mind, in jeopardy to achieve this “ideal.”

4. My friend Bailey sent this to me. I about died of laughter. Anything Hunger Games related will make finals so much better. Feel free to send me pictures of Peeta…

finals

5. Remember how on last week’s Thursday Thought’s I requested that strawberry cake for when my finals are over? Well I want the outside to look like this. Please and thank you.

Sugar Flower Chevron Cake

6. I have a NON DISTOPIA book review for you! AHHHH!!! Anyone else shocked? Well thanks to Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers, I’ve gotten out of my rut! But, I have to be honest. I still have 100 pages left…. I just couldn’t finish it in time for book club day! That does, however, mean that I managed to read 450 pages in 3 days on top of school work – it was a great studying-procrastination tool. But hey, it was historical, aka educational!

The book for this month was called the Book Thief, by Markus Zusak.

You know one page in that this book is going to be interested based on the narrator: death. That’s right, “Death” tells the story of the book thief. The novel is set in Nazi Germany, so you can imagine there are a lot of people dying, and Death is hard at work. However, amongst all his work, he keeps coming across the Book Thief, and tells her story.

The Book Thief is a little girl, Liesel Meminger, who moves in with her foster parents, Hans and Rosa, in a somewhat impoverished neighborhood, and then her parents take in a young Jewish man, allowing him to live in their basement. She immediately befriends this man, Max, who is about 24, because they both wake every night with nightmares of their past.

Liesel is termed the Book Thief by both Death and her best friend and neighbor, Rudy Steiner, because she manages to steal a few books throughout the story. She begins the novel not knowing how to read and is slowly taught by her foster father, and immediately falls in love with the written word.

Although I haven’t finished the novel, so far I have really enjoyed it. It’s definitely different from what I’ve been reading, but it made me realize how much I miss historical fiction. It’s so interesting to see WWII unfold itself through the eyes of Death and through the perspective of a little German girl. The novel itself is also written in a very unusual manner, with random inserts explaining things (you’ll see when you read it), as well as some pages depicting paintings or written stories by Max, the young Jewish man. It has really kept me interested and I can’t wait to finish the last 100 pages. The author has a great way of depicting the character’s emotions in a way that you can really feel their depth, each character has been well developed and you feel like you know and understand them, even the ones on the edges of the story.

If you enjoy historical fiction I think this would be a great book to pick up. It may seem intimidating due to it’s length, but it’s really fast to get through if you take some time to sit down with it.

 

What are you reading right now?

What do you think about all these fitness mantras?

34 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 6:55 am

    I started listening to The Book Thief during my commute. It’s okay so far but I’m hoping to get more into it. PS – I love the strawberry cake idea. I definitely want a big cake for graduation too! AH it’s almost here 🙂 Have a good day!

    • April 26, 2012 7:17 am

      Oh interesting, I wonder what it’s like on tape… I felt like a lot of it was visual when I was ready. You have a great day too Diane!

      • April 26, 2012 9:56 am

        I have tried one book on tape in my life and I was terrible at it! I was driving a road trip and my mind totally wandered and I tuned out a lot of the book. I think there is actually an active listening skill involved that apparently I need to work on. 🙂

        • April 26, 2012 11:33 am

          Haha that’s how I am. I only listen to Harry Potter on tape because if my mind wanders it’s okay, I’ve read the book a million times

  2. April 26, 2012 8:07 am

    I’ve been wanting to read this book. I think I’ll start it this summer.
    I too love the weather channel. I have their app my phone’s home screen 🙂

  3. April 26, 2012 8:15 am

    I started reading The Happiness Project on a suggestion from a friend. It’s so good!

  4. April 26, 2012 8:19 am

    i love that fashion blog too!! she always has some great ideas that aren’t overboard and crazy expensive.
    so glad you’re re-evaluating your workouts and fitness goals! 🙂 thank you for the shout out too.
    i’m so excited for you to be done with school! i know how stressful this time can be! hang in there girl. thinking of you!

    • April 26, 2012 11:29 am

      Thanks Ash! And gchat me next time you’re online (even if I’m red) and I’ll tell you all about brunch!

  5. April 26, 2012 8:38 am

    this book looks so good! I am going to have to pick it up. I agree with the some of the quotes and pictures on that site… I just see it as almost too extreme and unrealistic standards. Personally, I have started to shy away from it because it can definitely suck you in and make you feel bad about yourself.

    • April 26, 2012 11:30 am

      Very true! They really do just suck you in and make you feel like you should be something else.

  6. April 26, 2012 8:50 am

    You’re on the home stretch!! If I lived closer, I would be happy to bake a celebration cake! lol, but it would be vegan and still yum! Good luck!

  7. April 26, 2012 8:52 am

    First, I check weather.com like a maniac too. I even check places where I don’t live (like my hometown), just to see what the weather is like there. At one point in my youth I wanted to be a meteorologist – I blame it on that! Second, I read The Book Thief for book club too. I’m glad you liked it more than me! I thought it was decent but it didn’t capture my attention and make me want to keep reading – it was a slow read for me. So now, I’m reading another Dystopian 🙂 And may the curve be ever in your favor!

    • April 26, 2012 11:32 am

      Haha I have my hometown and Colorado Springs where my family goes a lot on my saved places! Haha and thanks, I’m hoping the curve is in my favor!

  8. April 26, 2012 9:01 am

    Thank you for reminding me about just reading outside of school! I think we lose time for that. I might pay attention to what her book is next month and try that out. I feel like I barely have time for reading outside of school.

    I seriously laughed about the weather obsession. Where I live the weather forecast and I NEVER get along.

    Best of luck with your exams and returning home! I am off to check out some of your links.

    • April 26, 2012 11:32 am

      I never read outside school either, and then I just started making a little bit of time before bed, or on the bus and I got through some books!

  9. April 26, 2012 10:30 am

    hahaha – I’ve been loving Hunger Games funny jpg’s too 🙂
    I tried reading the Book Thief last year and had to stop..I just couldn’t get into it!

    • April 26, 2012 11:34 am

      I almost stopped, but I think the book club got me going and I’m glad I kept up with it!

  10. April 26, 2012 12:16 pm

    I started reading The Book Thief but had to give it back to the library–and with the move and all, haven’t had a chance to pick it up.

    LOVE the Hunger Games quote/thing! Awesome.

    And for the fitness motivational posters….I agree with you and Ashley for sure, but I also like how motivating they CAN be if that’s what you want. It is of UTMOST important to listen to YOUR body, but if you’re looking for a bit of extra motivation, cool pictures and quotes can help. However, it is SO important to remember that none of us should or ever look like that person–because we are EACH different. I think too often we get obsessed either way (not working out or working out too much) and that is the bane of our society’s existence. Striking that balance is what we’re all striving to do 🙂 Sorry for all the thoughts! hah.

  11. April 26, 2012 3:06 pm

    I love J’s blog, too, (especially that outfit you posted), but sometimes but sometimes I feel like, hey, what about those of us that live in colder climates?? Which is why I started my fashion blog.

    I also love my running group but they start to sound like those fitness mantras. While I had some GREAT races last year I’m cutting back a bit this year and I think that weirds them out.

    I really enjoyed The Book Thief, too. I think I had it confused with Shadow of the Wind (another great read!) the last time you talked about it so thanks for the recap! Now I remember it better! I read so much that sometimes books meld together in my brain. Currently I’m trying to read The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency but it’s not pulling me in just yet.

    • April 26, 2012 7:53 pm

      Haha that’s very true – I look at it and think, that would be great for the summer! Haha and that happens to me too, I read so many they become mixed up in my mind!

  12. April 26, 2012 5:12 pm

    I love Everyday J’s blog– I would actually were the clothes she styles!

  13. April 26, 2012 5:35 pm

    I am reading The Book Thief from Julies book club, I too haven’t finished it yet though. I really like it so far, really different than what I normally read. I like it though!

    I too get my daily inspirational quotes from pinterest! ha I like looking on there when I am not in the mood to workout, usually I can find a few to give me a little inspiration! ha

    Good luck next week! I know my weekend is unfortunately consumed with studying as well 😦 boo!!!

  14. April 26, 2012 7:35 pm

    Happy last day of class tomorrow!

    Right now I’m reading A Game of Thrones. It wasn’t my first choice: I agreed to read it if Craig read the Hunger Games. It’s not my favorite type of book, but it’s not half bad. My students are reading The Book Thief for their comm arts class right now and it was funny to hear them commenting after they had just read the first chapter. They hated it at first 🙂

    A lot of the quotes and fitness things I find on pinterest are motivating, but I have always thought some of them are over the top. Like the one that says, “Unless you puke, faint, or die, keep going.” Ummm… no thanks 🙂

    • April 26, 2012 7:55 pm

      Haha well at least you got Craig to read hunger games! And um, puke, faint or die? I’m not on the biggest loser, I workout for fun! haha

  15. Ashley permalink
    April 26, 2012 7:54 pm

    I just started reading your blog and love it! I have my first exam tuesday for Crim Pro and so totally get where your stress is. Law school seems so easy until exam time comes and you realize you live in the library! As for books-I would suggest Racing In The Rain. It is an amazing book! That is when you get done w/ that other non-important reading of school. lol

    • April 26, 2012 8:00 pm

      I’ve read Racing in the Rain! It was great, especially since I read it right before my brother got a golden retriever! Good luck on your finals!!!

  16. April 27, 2012 12:33 am

    I’m in major study mode right now too. Tonight was my last class, so now the finals fun begins! ;-p Next Thursday it will all be over though, and you better believe I’ll be raising my glass of pink champagne (already purchased) to freedom!

    The Book Thief sounds like a novel I’d love, especially because it takes place during World War II (one of my favorite historical fiction eras). I find that I frequently start books and don’t finish them–definitely a habit I’d like to break! But as I’m sure you know, it’s hard to read for fun when you’re reading 100’s of pages for school each week!

    I’m off to find some oat-inspiration on your recipe page right now. 🙂

    • April 27, 2012 6:04 am

      Ahhh good luck!!! You’ll be done before you know it! You should definitely read Book Thief when class is out, and I hope you find some good oat ideas!

Leave a Reply

