Skip to content

WIAW–Long Run Day!

April 25, 2012

Hey everyone! We’ve made it to Wednesday! This week for What I Ate Wednesday I decided to switch things up a bit and show you what I ate on Saturday, the day I went on my gorgeous nine mile run! I’ve done this once before, but I thought it would be a nice change from my normal weekday food!

If you are new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons to check it all out! You can also see the other blogs who participate, and check out their WIAW posts!

Peas and Crayons

This month’s theme is an “Extra Cup of Veggies” which didn’t go over toooo well on my long run day, but I definitely got some veggies in!

I woke up and after some coffee and water I made myself my pre-run fuel: 1 slice of Udi’s bread with Peanut Butter & Co Mighty Maple PB and half a banana:

photo 1 (6)

During my run I had some Jelly Belly sports beans! I didn’t think to take a picture, but they can be fun for long runs because they are like eating candy! I think to myself, in just a mile you can eat your jelly beans! Haha. They aren’t something I’d use during a race though because they take some time to chew and I really feel like I need water with them. GU gels are still my go-to race fuel!

When I got back I drank plenty of water and then although I wasn’t too hungry, I knew I needed to get some protein and carbs in me for my muscle recovery, so I made up this breakfast # 2 and ate it slowly while I did some work. It included plain Greek yogurt with vanilla and stevia mixed in, some PB 2 powder, and half a sweet potato.

photo 2 (6)

Later that afternoon I was feeling hungry again, but not super hungry, so I cooked an egg, over easy, and served it with sliced avocado, ketchup and “creamed spinach”. For the creamed spinach I just cook down some spinach in a splash of almond milk, and then add some nutritional yeast to the mix.

photo 3 (7)

I also had an afternoon of some popcorn in a bag! Thanks to many of your suggestions, I’m finally getting the hang of this! I put a little less than 3 T of popcorn kernels in a lunch sized brown bag and fold down the top a few times. I’m still working on getting the right time for my microwave so that it doesn’t burn.

photo

Again, I wasn’t super hungry for dinner so I decided to make a veggie pizza! However, after I started making it, I realized I had no cheese… Oops. I made it on a brown rice tortilla and added marinara sauce and sliced zucchini.

photo 1 (7)

Just noticed my foot in that picture… I ended up dipping it in this hummus! Sadly when I bought it I didn’t realize it was “fat free” so the taste was kind of off… but it worked!

photo 2 (7)

A little later I was ready for my dessert! I had some (okay the whole pint) of Arctic Zero “frozen yogurt.” The whole pint is only 150 calories and it has a lot of protein! Love this stuff. I made some PB2 sauce to put on it, and had some of the candies I picked up at whole foods! I love dark  chocolate covered almonds!!!

photo 3 (8)

There you go! My eats from a long run day! I’ve noticed that I’m usually not super hungry after a run and I tend to eat lots of small meals, which works well for me! Like I mentioned last WIAW, I love frequent small meals rather than 3 square meals a day!

 

Do you have a favorite pre or post workout meal/snack?

What is your favorite chocolate-covered treat?

59 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 6:32 am

    I looooove Arctic Zero. I know some people don’t think it tastes like ice cream, but I Think it’s pretty good, and I love that I can eat the whole pint, haha. Have you had the cookies and cream flavor? It’s my favorite, and that’s saying something, since I ALWAYS pick chococlate! haha

  2. April 25, 2012 6:37 am

    150 calories for that whole pint??? oh my gosh i’ve got to try it!!

  3. fitandfuninthird permalink
    April 25, 2012 6:55 am

    I’m the same way on my long run days… Not super hungry. However, the next day is a whole different story!! My hunger comes raging back! I love arctic zero and use PB2 as a topping too… So delicious!!

  4. April 25, 2012 7:01 am

    I have the exact same pre-run breakfast for long runs! I prefer many smaller meals, too. And I also make a lot of popcorn in a bag. We have a lot in common! 🙂

  5. April 25, 2012 7:17 am

    I totally have those days where I am not hungry. I’ve been getting into jogging lately and I first tried having the banana with 1/2 serving of oats and almond butter but it was too heavy for me. Now my go to is a wheat free cherrios with coconut milk and an orange. It’s nice and light and it keeps me full for at least 2 hours 🙂

    • April 25, 2012 8:04 am

      wheat free cheerios??? Is it actually by the same company as Cheerios?

      • April 25, 2012 10:51 am

        no no! The morning o’s aka whole foods brand have no wheat, only “may contain traces.” But if your really allergic you may want to call or shoot them an email. It doesnt bother me at all 🙂

        • April 25, 2012 3:31 pm

          huh, I’ll have to look at that!

          • April 25, 2012 8:26 pm

            Doesn’t cheerios have no wheat? or am I wrong lol?

            • April 26, 2012 6:48 am

              Well they have wheat starch listed in the ingredients and aren’t labeled gluten free. Lol now I’m not sure, I’m trying to research this but not getting a clear answer. I’ve always been told if it doesn’t say gluten free then it probably isn’t safe. Now I’m super curious because I love cheerios…

              • April 26, 2012 6:59 am

                oh ok! I wasn’t sure because I know it has corn (which I can’t have) but the morning o’s at WF are not certified GF but they have no wheat. And it doesn’t both me since like I said my wheat allergy messes up my digestion but I haven’t had a prob 🙂

                • April 26, 2012 7:18 am

                  Well if it doesn’t bother you, I might give the WF brand a chance! I’ll check them out next time I’m there! I also sent an e-mail to general mills about cheerios… haha

  6. April 25, 2012 8:07 am

    Your zucchini pizza looks good- no cheese necessary 🙂

  7. April 25, 2012 8:16 am

    hmmm good idea about the tortilla pizza. I always forget that they make great pizza crusts!

  8. April 25, 2012 8:21 am

    That avocado looks so yummy! So does the pizza 😀 I bought some of the chocolate PB arctic zero, and I definitely like it better than the other flavors I’ve tried!

  9. April 25, 2012 8:31 am

    all your eats look yummy! i LOVE dark chocolate covered almonds- especially the ones with sea salt from trader joes!

  10. April 25, 2012 8:45 am

    I love arctic zero! My favorite flavor is vanilla maple – it’s so refreshing! As for my favorite chocolate covered treat…chocolate covered anything? haha I’ll eat (almost) anything dipped in chocolate 🙂

  11. fitphilanthropist permalink
    April 25, 2012 9:02 am

    My favorite post workout snack is your pre-workout snack! I’m a big fan of a toasted slice of wheat bread (preferably the 9 grain bread from Bloom Bakery at Rivermarket), some peanut (or almond) butter, and sliced banana. I would eat this for every meal if it would give me all the satisfaction it does after a nice, long run. Sometimes I think I eat so many bananas that I can taste them subconsciously throughout the day!

  12. April 25, 2012 9:07 am

    i totally agree, i’d much rather eat lots of little meals and snacks throughout the day than three square meals. i feel like i get to eat more often and my energy levels are always higher that way. that arctic zero froyo intrigues me! does it really taste like icecream/froyo? how much do you pay for it?

    • April 25, 2012 9:09 am

      It’s almost $5 a pint at whole foods, so I don’t buy it often. And at first I thought it tasted odd, but the chocolate and pb and chocolate flavors are most like froyo. It’s worth a shot! haha hard to explain…

  13. April 25, 2012 9:49 am

    I used exactly the same little container for mixing my PB flour in as well! I love chocolate covered raisins, so good! My fave post workout meal is without a doubt a green smoothie, especially when I add lots of nut butter!

  14. April 25, 2012 10:16 am

    I’m never hungry after long runs…but after weight training I am starving! Hah. I too love smaller meals b/c it helps to slowly replenish the supplies without overtaxing it!

    I gotta try that frozen yogurt–looks/sounds yummy!

  15. April 25, 2012 10:26 am

    I was thinking yesterday how much I used to love the PB & Banana sandwiches, I want one so bad but I don’t have any bananas!! 😦

  16. April 25, 2012 10:30 am

    Mmm I love adding avocado to almost anything!

  17. April 25, 2012 10:46 am

    My favorite pre-run fuel is a slice of whole wheat toast topped with peanut butter, cinnamon, chia seeds, and banana slices–always fills me up and gives me the energy I need!

  18. April 25, 2012 10:52 am

    pb&banana toast is the best pre work out! it leaves me with so much energy for so long.

  19. April 25, 2012 11:06 am

    red pepper hummus? hmmm sounds good to me.

  20. Annie permalink
    April 25, 2012 1:08 pm

    Chocolate is my fave Arctic Zero flavor – I have to buy like 3-4 pints at a time! I still can’t believe how an entire pint has 150 cals and yet has such a short list of ingredients. Anyway! I love to eat mine with some Cool Whip.

    I’m so intrigued by your popcorn. You really just put the kernels in the bag and fold it up? No oil needed?

    • April 25, 2012 3:26 pm

      Nope! I put a little less than 3 Tablespoons, fold the top of the bag over a few times, and then for me it takes about 1 minute and 28 seconds, lol, but it depends on your microwave.

  21. flavorfroyogi permalink
    April 25, 2012 1:15 pm

    OMG! Finally someone reassures me that it’s okay to eat an entire pint of the Arctic Zero ice cream!! Since the first time I’ve tried that stuff, I’ve always finished the who container and felt slightly guilty… :-/ I’ve always wondered if I was the only one to do that! Thank God, I’m not!! I seriously die for that stuff!!! Ahhh!!! Oh, and dark chocolate covered almonds= HEAVEN!! Where can I buy the PB2? I’ve been looking EVERYWHERE for it! Does Whole Foods carry it??

    • April 25, 2012 3:25 pm

      Lol I always finish the whole thing, I’ve even stuck it in the fridge and 20 minutes later gone back to it! Whole Foods does not carry PB2, I know Hyvee has it if you have Hyvee near you. You can buy it on Amazon or iHerb online, or go to the bell plantation website and they have a storefinder.

  22. April 25, 2012 3:41 pm

    I love chocolate covered almonds! I could eat… way too many.

  23. April 25, 2012 5:55 pm

    PB and banana sandwiches! I haven’t thought of those since I was a kid. Thanks for reminding me. As well, the sweet potato and yogurt dish sounds delicious!

  24. commitcomplete permalink
    April 25, 2012 6:25 pm

    Dark chocolate covered espresso beans are the best!

  25. April 25, 2012 8:11 pm

    Oh man that frozen yogurt sounds amazing!!! I need to try this stuff! My favorite chocolate covered treat is reese’s pb cups- chocolate covered pb is the best combo ever!

  26. April 25, 2012 8:44 pm

    Is that a Food For Life Brown Rice Tortilla!? I’ve decided that I love them…unfortunately, I think everyone else has also decided that they love them because my grocery store is always out! I have to stock up whenever I see them! And I love zucchini on pizza! great thinking:)

  27. April 26, 2012 1:33 pm

    I’ve recently found your blog. Love it! I enjoy seeing Chicago and hearing your stories. I notice you are rebelling against overpriced, corporate, cancer causing, bagged popcorn. I too rage against the assumed monopoly of microwaved whole grains. May I politely suggest a new method to try as you’re ‘experimenting’ with do it yourself popcorn. Try using a microwave safe bowl with a lid and using your microwaves popcorn setting. Also, I’ve notice the quality of the kernels matters. I’ve had the best luck with the bulk kernels at WholeFoods. Here’s a link to something I recently typed up, a how to. http://valeriegerman.wordpress.com/tag/popcorn/
    Thanks for the awesome blog!
    V

Leave a Reply

