Skip to content

Running Music

April 24, 2012

Hey everyone! How was your Monday? Mine was, well, better than it usually is, mostly because I kept trying to have a positive attitude!

Whenever I start hearing myself complain about something (like the fact that I was a popsicle for half the day or that I didn’t want to sit through “busy work” presentations) I kept reminding myself of ways to help stay positive!

One of the best ways I’ve learned recently, is to remember what I’m thankful for! I saw this great quote on pinterest, first pinned by this amazing lady.

:)

I’ve also started a habit on the bus in the morning. Rather than being annoyed that I can’t get internet, I’ll pull up the notes program and make a list of some things I’m thankful for that day:

photo

It really does help! Haha and there was a little self-love at the end there to pump me up for my presentations.

Another thing that always helps a bad mood? MUSIC!

Sometimes I legitimately forget about music! I recently went through a phase where I only listened when working out and never at any other time of the day, isn’t that crazy! I’m working my way back in by listening a little on the bus in the morning, turning on some tunes when I’m cleaning, or playing pandora while studying. Can we say “film score radio” anyone?

Music is also great to get me pumped up for runs or workouts. Although I prefer running with someone else and chatting, most of my runs are done solo. Sometimes I’ll listen to podcasts, if I’m in the mood, but when I’m racing or really trying to get my energy up, I’ll make a great workout playlist.

I also love to make playlists for specific races. My goal for the lakefront 10 miler this weekend is to avoid this:

race 3

And have a little more this:

me SGK 1

Can you just feel my energy in that second shot?? Granted… that race was 10 miles shorter…

Anyway, we’ll pretend it’s all about music, not distance. I thought you all would be interested in seeing my playlist for the 10 miler on Saturday! I put it together yesterday, and it includes a lot of new songs (don’t judge on one of them…), a few oldies, and a LOT of repeats.

I’ve learned that when I find songs I’m loving right now, they really pump me up, even if I just listened to it, so I added a few in there multiple times!

Also, my playlists ALWAYS include Eminem. Totally necessary for when I am feeling the pain and need to keep pushing!

CARA Lakefront 10 Miler Playlist

lakefront playlist

I’m also sure to make my playlist at least 10 minutes longer than I intend to run the race in… just in case. I’d feel so bad if my music ran out in the last mile!

Some of these songs might seem odd, but a lot of them have certain bits that I love to run to.

 

music quote

 

Here are some great examples:

 

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter, Footsteps even lighter” – Kelly Clarkson, Stronger

 

Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?

– Eminem, Lose Yourself

We’re running just as fast as we can” -  Tiffany, I Think We’re Alone Now

 

Starships were meant to fly, Hands up, and touch the sky” – Nicki Minaj, Starships

 

Cause sometimes you just feel tired,
Feel weak, and when you feel weak, you feel like you wanna just give up.
But you gotta search within you, you gotta find that inner strength
And just pull that shit out of you and get that motivation to not give up
And not be a quitter, no matter how bad you wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse.

– Eminem, Till I Collapse

 

This playlist is a liiiiittle experimental for me, since I’ve never repeated songs so much, but we’ll see how it goes!

 

Does anyone else make playlists for races?

What’s your current favorite workout/running song?

49 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 6:33 am

    I LOVE your attitude 🙂 And it definitely rubs off on those around you!

    I always make a playlist for races! My current favorite song is Trojans by Atlas Genius!

    • April 24, 2012 8:41 am

      I’m glad my good attitude is rubbing off!!! And I’ve never heard that song, I’ll look it up!

  2. April 24, 2012 7:26 am

    I love making play lists for races! They really do help me set the mood for my run. Love your grateful list. I have a ‘happy list’ which I guess is kind of similar 🙂

  3. April 24, 2012 7:31 am

    I love this playlist! My current favorite song is actually the first on your list – Wild Ones by Sia and Flo Rida 🙂 For studying, you should try listening to the Wall-E soundtrack. It’s my go-to playlist when I have to get work done!

    Also, I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog – I’ve been reading it for a few months now and I just love that I can read your posts while I eat breakfast before my classes/workouts every morning! You’ve inspired me to create my own blog, so thank you 🙂

    • April 24, 2012 8:46 am

      Some Wall-E songs come up on my filmscore radio station on pandora! And thank you!!! You are so sweet, I love hearing from readers! I’ll be sure to check out your blog!

  4. April 24, 2012 7:59 am

    love love love that quote!

  5. April 24, 2012 8:40 am

    I actually never listen to music when I run but I love when the workout classes I go to have a catchy soundtrack. Whenever I listen to the song outside of class I always think of the moves me do! Love the quotes!

    • April 24, 2012 8:48 am

      Haha I’m that way too – there are certain songs from when I did Jazzercise that always remind me of the routine!

  6. April 24, 2012 8:47 am

    Lately I’ve been obsessed with Neon Hitch “Love You Betta” and Carly Rae Jepsen “Call Me Maybe”. I love songs that have a strong, fast beat and keep me motivated to push harder. They help a lot in 5k races. My boyfriend turned me on to Carly Rae Jepsen. He sings Call Me Maybe all the time – cracks me up.

  7. April 24, 2012 9:00 am

    I love your playlist I’ll def have to add some of those songs to mine! And I’m obsessed with the new Nicki Minaj song starships.

  8. Hadley permalink
    April 24, 2012 9:13 am

    I made my best friend Jennifer a playlist once that worked for me. Many of the songs are unconventional and you might not have heard them and of course, there’s a lot of Brit Brit, but I’d recommend checking them out:

    Warmup:
    Starstruck – Lady Gaga
    Mmmi Papi – Britney Spears
    Tired of Being Alone – The Spies

    Transition: 3 – Britney Spears

    YMCA -Village People
    Caribou Lou – Tech N9ne
    Crazy Bitch – Buckcherry
    You’ll always find your way back home – Hannah Montana
    Get Ready for This – 2 Unlimited
    Telephone – Lady Gaga
    Blah Blah Blah – Ke$ha
    Living La Vida Loca – Ricky Martin
    A Favor House Atlantic – Coheed and Cambria
    Rosalita – Bruce Springsteen
    So Long Toots – Cherry Poppin Daddies
    Hey Sailor – Detroit Rock Cobras
    United States of Pop 2009
    Who Invited You – The Donnas
    Twilight Zone – 2 Unlimited
    Womanizer – Britney Spears
    4 Minutes – Madonna

    • April 24, 2012 11:24 am

      Haha there are only 7 on there I’ve never heard of! I’ll be sure to check them out, thanks Hadley!

  9. Stacy Lazar permalink
    April 24, 2012 9:14 am

    Music is a serious must. I’ve run without it before, and it’s just not the same. I can’t seem to find motivation without awesome beats in the background! I’m all about remixes! There’s nothing like hitting a hill when the best part of a remix comes on.

  10. April 24, 2012 9:19 am

    This is the first marathon I am running solo and the race is small and the course is only one long road. So, I am planning on taking my headphones. I have never raced with them. But, I am going to try running without for as long as I can and then turning them on towards the end. I may borrow some of your ideas for motivating music!

    • April 24, 2012 11:35 am

      I’ve only done smaller races (other than Susan G Komen) with very few spectators, so I’ve always listened to music!

  11. April 24, 2012 9:25 am

    I love your playlist so many great songs that I can add to mine!

  12. Justine Duppong permalink
    April 24, 2012 10:15 am

    I just saw that quote on pinterest and loved it too! My playlist is all about anything from the 90’s lately. Ah, the good old days! 😉

  13. April 24, 2012 10:36 am

    I can’t run without music on the treadmill. Outside, I’m okay if it’s a short run. I love Change by Taylor Swift and Firework by Katy Perry – cliche, but they get me in the mood to run!

  14. April 24, 2012 11:46 am

    Making playlists for races is awesome… it get me even more excited for the race that is soon to take place… really gets me psyched 🙂 I am loving your playlists too lady

  15. Monica permalink
    April 24, 2012 12:25 pm

    Try “Runners High” and “Let it Burn” from the albumn “The Workout” by Sticman. Those motivate me to kick butt at the gym and run longer.

  16. April 24, 2012 1:11 pm

    Thanks lady 🙂 You ARE amazing!! I love that you make a list of what you’re thankful for–and yes, GO YOU!!

    LOVE your playlist. I need to get some more songs, stat!

  17. April 24, 2012 5:43 pm

    Flo Rida makes all kinds of unpleasant activities better. Running, mopping…you know. 🙂 I’m always grateful for new playlist suggestions. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Anna Lynn permalink
    April 24, 2012 6:12 pm

    For my Disney princess half marathon, I created a Disney playlist! It was the greatest! Other than that, it depends on my mood. Sometimes Lady Gaga pandora or my musical playlist! My favorite song: “Bend and Snap” from Legally Blonde the musical.

  19. April 24, 2012 6:50 pm

    How do I not have any Eminem on my running playlist? I need to change that pronto. I love seeing other runners’ playlists – I always get good ideas from them! I’ve been meaning to do a post on my current playlist for awhile. Even though some songs have been on there way too long 🙂

  20. April 24, 2012 8:56 pm

    Nice playlist! I’m loving “Starships” and “Wild Ones” right now, great for workouts. You need to throw in LMFAO- “Sexy and I Know It”. That one REALLY does the trick! =) I make workout mixes for my gym routines, but when I run, I don’t listen to music. And I definitely don’t race with music. My performance is dictated by the competition–and I am VERY competitive. I only run outdoors. And when I’m outside, I like to take in everything around me. No one understands. But I can go 13 to 15 miles on a Sunday just thinking about whatever is on my mind. It’s a great way to gather yourself. Or maybe I’m nuts!

    • April 25, 2012 8:00 am

      Haha I used to have Sexy and I know it on there, but the beat just isn’t fast enough for a race for me! Love it while working out though!

  21. dianabushneck permalink
    April 24, 2012 11:17 pm

    When I ran my half marathon (YEARS ago!), I listened to I Think We’re Alone Now at least 5 times in a row mid-race for a boost. I was happy to see it’s on your list! Though silly me, I totally thought it was a Debbie Gibson song.

    • April 25, 2012 8:02 am

      Lol nope! I remember the first time I head it was while watching full house – the girls stayed up late to watch the Tiffany video on TV!

  22. elise permalink
    April 25, 2012 1:20 pm

    hello eminem! clearly youre a pump up kinda person. you should get some kanye on that list…i feel like it would be right up your ally…

  23. April 25, 2012 6:58 pm

    I love to run to No Doubt and Michael Jackson. It always pumps me up! Thanks for sharing your playlist!

    Eat Live Move: Intuitive Eating from A to Z!

  24. April 26, 2012 1:20 am

    I make appreciation lists too! It makes a huge difference. And I am all about the music–I have a hard time working out without it. My current favorites for exercising are David Guetta, Ke$ha, and Stronger by Kelly Clarkson, For yoga, my current favorites are Trevor Hall and Mumford and Sons

  25. Rebecca permalink
    April 30, 2012 10:13 am

    I saw your comment on Caitlin’s blog so came to check out your running mix. On the negative side I didn’t get new music suggestions, but on the plus side, it’s because I already have all of these on my playlist! Looks like we both have good taste 🙂

Leave a Reply

