Skip to content

Last of Vacation & Bootcamp Phase 1

March 19, 2012

Aaaaaand, back to reality.

Spring break is over. Honestly, I needed the break, but it’s such a tease! I like doing whatever I want all day! Thank goodness for weekends…

My last couple days in Colorado Springs were wonderful! Haha okay, they were good, but they sure sound wonderful right now.

On Friday, I wanted to get a 6 mile tempo run. It was so gorgeous I knew I had to run outside, but I was also concerned about my knee hurting me on the hills (behind my knee on the inside feels sprained… no bueno). I did half the run indoors on the treadmill, and then took the last 3 outdoors.

photo (46)

The treadmill half was fine, but the outdoor part was rough! I had to stop several times to get my heart rate back down! I think the combination of the altitude and hills was a lot for me! But I finished!

photo (45)

And check out my views while stretching! I could not get over how nice it was outside! (and yes, that’s meant to be upside down. That’s what I saw stretching my calves!)

photo (47)

photo (44)

photo (50)

For lunch, I went to La Baguette, a bistro near our house that my parents are obsessed with! I’d never been, but my dad found out they offered their sandwiches on gluten free bread, so I wanted to try it out.

photo (51)

I ordered a corned beef sandwich with Gouda cheese and a side salad.

photo (49)

Unfortunately, the bread was really dry and crumbly, if fell apart upon touching it and tasted pretty bad as well. I ended up ditching the bread and just cutting up the sandwich parts and eating them with the salad. Luckily the dressing on the salad was amazing, so it ended up being alright. I won’t, however, be ordering a sandwich there again.

 

While I was in Colorado, I managed to keep up with my Best Body Bootcamp workouts really well! The bootcamp is split up into phases and the first two weeks are called Phase 1, which is focused on strength and stability. Tina sent us various circuit workouts to go through and also gave us a plan of a good way to do those workouts and fill in cardio blocks and intervals in between.

One thing I love about the plan, however, is that you don’t need to follow her weekly schedule to be counted towards winning prizes each week. If you’d rather swim than do cardio blocks, then that’s fine! If you need to switch around the schedule and do the circuits on different days, that’s fine too! The key is to make it work into your lifestyle! For example, I went on that hike with my dad, and counted it as my cardio of choice day, and pushed back my workouts one day so I did the last circuit on Saturday, rather than Friday as suggested.

I also work my half marathon training schedule around Tina’s schedule as well. Rather than doing 50 minutes of cardio blocks, I do my 6 mile tempo run.

I really enjoyed phase 1’s focus on stability, since it involved a lot of moves that are either new to me, or that I don’t do often. This one seriously tested my balance:

And this plank ended up being a lot harder than I imagined:

I’m really excited to start with Phase 2 today! It’s more about strength and the workouts are much more similar to what I’d been doing on my own, which was more machine work and supersets, rather than full out circuits.

Phase 2, here I come!

 

Do you prefer doing a circuit 3 times through for a workout, or supersets with weights?

Have you ever noticed altitude changes affecting your running/aerobic abilities?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 7:27 am

    Beautiful run, I love running through new scenery!

  2. March 19, 2012 7:58 am

    I really enjoy doing 3 circuits of a move. I feel like I can challenege myself to do a few more of the move each time.
    I still can’t get over the view you had while working out. Amazing!

  3. March 19, 2012 8:29 am

    altitude definitely changes my runs! i had the opposite thing happen when we went to arizona several weeks ago. since i live and mostly run in a high altitude, running in arizona felt so easy! it’s crazy how much it can affect it!

    • March 19, 2012 12:05 pm

      Haha that’s what a girl at the running store I went to said, she runs so much better at lower altitudes!

  4. March 19, 2012 8:31 am

    Nice job on the bootcamp workouts!!!! wooohoo!!!!! I need to get those in my life, haha

    • March 19, 2012 12:05 pm

      They are a blast! It’s great because you only do the same workout twice, it’s always changing!

  5. March 19, 2012 8:43 am

    U live at 7200 feet and the altitude kills me more times than not. Sometimes it hurts just so bad to breath. Good job keeping up with your running while in the Springs.

    • March 19, 2012 12:06 pm

      I definitely had some trouble breathing! I kept having to stop because my lungs felt like they were going to explode!

  6. Ashley permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:44 am

    I’m doing the Best Body Bootcamp too and I’m also really enjoy the flexibility of the program. I’m really enjoying the circuits – however I enjoy doing my own favorite activities for the cardio days. Long brisk walks with my dog are always the best! I prefer circuit style workouts, but supersets are always good to change this up sometimes!

  7. March 19, 2012 9:08 am

    I like doing circuits of a workout. I like trying to improve my form as the fatigue is setting in… it’s a mental thing! That view is beautiful by the way!

    • March 19, 2012 12:07 pm

      circuits are definitely mental! that’s one thing I have trouble with – focusing on my form!

  8. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    March 19, 2012 9:29 am

    I just did the lower body superset for bootcamp and I knooow my legs are going to be sore tomorrow! I liked the supersets though, because going through the same circuit three times in a row seems like it lasts forever and I get bored easily!

    • March 19, 2012 12:08 pm

      That’s exactly how I am, the big circuits are just too long! I prefer supersets! Can’t wait to try the lower body superset tomorrow!

  9. March 19, 2012 1:05 pm

    Oh that is a gorgeous view! I am jealous! ha I do tell a difference in my runs when I run at different altitudes, it messes with you a bit!

  10. March 19, 2012 2:46 pm

    My in-laws live in Flagstaff, AZ at 7,000 feet of elevation. Whenever I run there I get excited if I can keep my pace below 11 minutes/mile (I normally run easy between 9:30 and 10:00 minutes per mile). It’s crazy how much the elevation affects you! It’s totally while some elite runners train “at elevation”. So it feels easier when they’re back closer to sea level.

    • March 19, 2012 4:53 pm

      My friend when to NAU in Flagstaff, I love that city! Very cool vibe. Haha and yea, that’s how I realized why the Olympic training center is in CO Springs

  11. March 19, 2012 3:18 pm

    The boot camp sounds awesome! I wish I had thought about joining in as well. Looks like you had a lovely spring break!

  12. March 20, 2012 6:44 pm

    I finally got used to the altitude where I moved, and boy, was it a doozy.

    • March 20, 2012 6:50 pm

      Haha yea, if I ever move to Denver like I hope to, those first weeks will be rough for my running!

Leave a Reply

