Skip to content

A to Z Survey

March 18, 2012

I’m sure you all have seen this a few times, but while I’m here in Colorado Springs with my parents (aka THRILLING things are happening… note the sarcasm) I thought this survey would be fun! It’s originally from janetha at meals and moves! But I’ve also seen Kathleen do it on The Daily Crumb and Ashley on My Food N Fitness Diaries.

A is for age: I am 24!

B is for breakfast today: pre run breakfast – one slice of Udi’s bread with almond butter (and a touch of cinnamon and truvia). I haven’t gone to the store, so no bananas!

photo (53)

C is for currently craving: Cereal. Normal cereal with skim milk. NOT gluten free, NOT almond milk. Can I get some Captain Crunch, Cinnamon Toast Crunch or some simple Cheerios, anyone???

(source)

D is for dinner tonight: Absolutely no idea!

E is for favorite type of exercise: RUNNING. It calms me and makes me feel accomplished all at the same time.

F is for an irrational fear: Open water. Even in a swimming pool when I was younger I would feel like something was going to come up and get me. Yes, I knew there was nothing in the swimming pool. That’s why it’s called irrational.

G is for gross food: twinkies. I’m sorry but even before becoming interested in healthy eating the idea of a twinkie has always grossed me out.

H is for hometown: Kansas City, Missouri.

I is for something important: Checking yourself. Sometimes I have to stop and re-asses, especially if I’m feeling anxious, overwhelmed or frustrated, and then take a chill pill.

J is for current favorite jam: Fly/I Believe I Can Fly by the Glee Cast

K is for kids: No thank you. I am 24 and single. Neville is sufficient.

photo (5)

L is for current location: Back in Chicago in my apartment! Definitely missing Colorado right now… But not that hike! haha.

M is for the most recent way you spent money: I bought Divergent by Veronica Roth in the airport. After going to 2 Barnes and Nobles and not finding it, I find it in the airport…

N is for something you need: I NEED for the spots where my moles were removed to stop itching. Obviously it hurts if I scratch (open wound). It’s currently driving me insane.

O is for occupation: Law student! 2nd year.

P is for pet peeve: Where do we begin? I get annoyed easily, hence “I” for check yourself. But here’s one: people cancelling at the last minute unless they have a very good reason. Drives me crazy.

Q is for a quote: This one has been getting me through my long runs:

no limits

R is for random fact about you: I’ve literally played every team sport under the sun (and was pretty bad at most of them…): tennis, swim team, golf, ballet, gymnastics, horseback riding, volleyball, sailing, soccer, basketball, field hockey, softball… I feel like I’m missing some.

S is for favorite healthy snack: Greek yogurt mixed with protein powder!!!

T is for favorite treat: Cake. With LOTS of icing. And since that happens about twice a year, we’ll say fro yo.

U is for something that makes you unique: My hair color. I get compliments from the most random people all the time. My favorite time was when I was getting my haircut by a guy who’d cut my hair since I was little, and another stylist asked who colored my hair. My hairdresser said, “Only God can do that.”

V is for favorite vegetable: Impossible to answer. Pass.

W is for today’s workout: Long run day! I decided to wait until I got back to Chicago, rather than attempt it with the altitude. Running and I have had a rocky relationship recently and I am hoping this goes well…

X is for X-rays you’ve had: ZERO!

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Breakfast at the Garden of the Gods Club in Colorado Springs! A great view for my last day 😦

photo (52)

Z is for your time zone: Currently Mountain but normally Central.

 

Pick a letter or two and tell me something about you!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 8:27 am

    these things are so fun. i love learning about everyone more. 🙂 you said you had cinnamon and truvia on your toast… do you know how truvia compares to “stevia in the raw”? i’ve only ever bought the stevia in the raw, so i’m curious if truvia tastes the same or different. good luck on your run today!! 🙂

    • March 18, 2012 12:17 pm

      I like using stevia when I’m just mixing it into something, but truvia when I’m topping things because it’s more granular, like sugar and less powdery. Lol, hard to explain. The tiny pieces of “sugar” are bigger. Also, the packets are larger so I tend to use half a packet for things.

  2. March 18, 2012 8:34 am

    T is for favorite treat. I am OBSESSED WITH CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. Oh my gosh, I’ve been eating it all this week, sometimes even twice a day…need to cut down lol. I agree with you on the cereal thing too….freaking food allergies 😦 I need me some cheerios cinnamon burst or lucky charms!

    • March 18, 2012 12:22 pm

      I don’t think I’ve ever had white chocolate mousse, but it sounds AMAZING. Haha and I’m glad I’m not the only one wanting some cereal!

  3. March 18, 2012 9:17 am

    i love reading these surveys! i definitely couldn’t pick a favorite veggie, but for favorite treats i can narrow it down to a few 😉 I love homemade, from scratch cake with ice cream, key lime pie (the good stuff!), and a hot brownie with vanilla ice cream. now i’m making myself hungry just thinking about those goodies!

  4. March 18, 2012 9:45 am

    I have the same irrational fear…even in swimming pools, you never know what’s down there.

  5. everydayvegangirl permalink
    March 18, 2012 11:36 am

    “M-most recent way I spent money”-Just last week I made such an impulsive purchase on an elliptical machine. I belong to a gym, but have gotten so irritated with going that I gave in and spent my (much deserved, I must say!) tax return on an elliptical machine to have at home so I don’t have to go to the gym anymore…which ties into letter “P-pet peeve”-people who make grunting noises while exercising! I know, silly, but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been at the gym next to someone who spends the entire time on the treadmill, elliptical, bike, just grunting and making annoying noises. Hence, my purchase of an exercise machine to have some peace and quiet in my own home!

    • March 18, 2012 12:24 pm

      I think it’s totally worth it to get an exercise machine! If I had the space and the money I would totally invest in a treadmill!

  6. March 18, 2012 11:37 am

    fro yo is definitely my favorite! and since you’re in chicago, i’ve gotta tell you i’m in st. louis. go cardinals!! 😉

    • March 18, 2012 12:23 pm

      oh awesome, so close! I used to go on field trips and field hockey trips to St. Louis all the time growing up!

  7. March 18, 2012 2:15 pm

    I’ve never liked Twinkies either, and I love your hair color too!

  8. Anna Lynn permalink
    March 18, 2012 4:06 pm

    I love learning new things about people!

    W: Today’s Workout – I found this (new to me) park 10 minutes away from my apartment with an AWESOME 14 mile bike/running/skating/walking path and went out for a 5 mile run. It was a beautiful cloudless, 80-degree morning in Florida and I couldn’t pass up such a gorgeous day! Gotta soak up the nice weather and outside running before summer hits!

    S: Favorite Healthy Snack – I currently can’t get enough of my homemade parfaits: 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt swirled with cinnamon layered with a half a chopped apple and a sprinkling of whatever cereal/granola I’m feeling like that day (usually Trader Joe’s fiber cereal though). Lots of protein from the yogurt and some fiber from the apple/cereal. Sometimes it’s more of a meal for me rather than a “snack” but regardless, I love it!

    Have a great day everyone!

  9. March 18, 2012 7:25 pm

    Absolutely LOVING that song by Glee right now too! I’ve never mixed protein powder with greek yogurt before. Do you use a flavored kind??

    • March 18, 2012 7:59 pm

      I use vanilla sunwarrior protein powder with plain greek yogurt and almond milk to thin it out just a bit, and I usually add a packet of stevia too!

  10. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    March 18, 2012 7:55 pm

    This survey was so fun to do and read!! I am with you on the cereal- I have been having cravings like no other lately for a bowl of real, sugary cereal with real milk!

  11. March 18, 2012 8:45 pm

    I’ve been meaning to do this survey! I’ve been on a SERIOUS cereal kick lately…I can’t go a day without it

  12. March 18, 2012 9:51 pm

    I’m excited to hear how you like Divergent!I have it on my reading list.

    • March 19, 2012 7:16 am

      Finished it last night, took me 24 hours and I LOVED it. I’m dying for the second one to come out now!

  13. March 19, 2012 1:43 am

    My sister has the same hair color as you! I am so jealous! I love it!!!
    That quote is fantastic! Great motivation!!!

  14. March 19, 2012 10:29 am

    V is for Valerie (me) and favorite vegetable: Asparagus… although cake with lots of icing sounds better right about now.

  15. March 19, 2012 10:35 am

    H is for healthy treat I adore– apples with peanut butter; P is for plank, which is my go-to ab tightener.

  16. March 20, 2012 2:13 pm

    CEREAL FOR THE WIN!

Leave a Reply

