Skip to content

First Time for Everything

March 17, 2012


\

*Be sure to check out my guest post on Annette’s blog, Enjoy Your Healthy Life, this morning!*

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!!! I hope you all are getting to celebrate in one form or another! Me? Well, I wasn’t thinking when I booked my flight home from Colorado and I don’t get in (hopefully not delayed!) until 9pm tonight. Genius. How did I not realize it was St. Patrick’s Day?

Oh, well. I’m not even Irish, although many people think I am. I actually just tend to pretend that I’m Irish on St. Patrick’s Day, it makes the whole thing more fun!

Kiss me, I’m Irish!

n603108184_713542_9773

Haha love my old roomies. Clearly I was really playing it up that year.

 

You all know I’m a HUGE fan of breakfast. I mean, come on, my blog is called Peace Love & Oats. But that’s just the thing: I always eat oatmeal!

photo (31) photo (25)

photo (15) photo (22)

I’m constantly seeing recipes for pancakes, waffles and french toast and I’m always saying that I want to try them, but I never do! Well, yesterday I changed that. I was finally inspired by Julie’s PB Stuffed French Toast and Paige’s Greek yogurt topped oats and decided to combine the two ideas together!

 

Berry Yogurt Cinnamon French Toast

Ingredients

2 slices bread (I used Udi’s)

1 egg white

2 packets stevia

cinnamon

splash of almond milk (or milk of choice)

plain greek yogurt

blueberries

Directions

For French Toast: mix together egg whites, almond milk, 1 packet of stevia and cinnamon, then soak the bread in the mixture, flipping to get both sides. Place bread in a hot skillet and cook, flipping halfway. I also poured the leftover mixture on top of the bread while in the skillet.

For Yogurt: heat blueberries in microwave for 20 seconds, then mix in greek yogurt and 1 packet stevia. Put as much as you’d like on top of your French toast, and serve!

photo (40)

I also threw on some leftover berries that we had. The yogurt was a great replacement for syrup, and much higher in protein and lower in sugar!

This breakfast was absolutely delicious and I was grinning all the way through! I’m often scared to try new breakfast ideas because I know what I like and I feel like it would start off my day badly to have a bad breakfast. Can you tell how much I like breakfast? But I’m so glad I went for it! Delicious!

I’m so sad to be leaving Colorado Springs today! I can never get over how gorgeous it is! Here’s me walking to the gym bright and early in the morning, with only the mountain to keep me company!

photo (42)

photo (41)

Although I enjoy Chicago and do find the city beautiful, there’s just something so majestic about the mountains!

 

Where would you live if you had to choose? Big city, beach, mountains or farmland/plains?

Are you in a breakfast rut? What have you been having lately?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. fitandfuninthird permalink
    March 17, 2012 8:22 am

    I am in the biggest breakfast rut ever. I need something that I can pack for after the gym once I get to work. I went through a major Greek yogurt and cereal phase, but that got old. Now I’m in a apple and PB phase but I can feel that growing old too…. What to do, what to do….

    • March 17, 2012 10:45 am

      You should try overnight oats!! I love packing them and bringing them to class when I don’t have time for breakfast before leaving.

  2. March 17, 2012 8:47 am

    The mountains for sure!!! I am a hiker and love those big hills<3

  3. March 17, 2012 9:00 am

    I go between two different breakfasts: oatmeal or greek yogurt/fruit. Some mornings I change it up and have a smoothie, but I definitely lack creativity early in the morning when I’m sleepy and trying to create breakfast haha

    • March 17, 2012 10:46 am

      Haha it is a hard time to get creative. I loved smoothies all summer but haven’t had one for breakfast since September!

  4. March 17, 2012 9:03 am

    I usually have oatmeal too, but since it’s been so warm lately, I’ve been on a cereal kick. I can’t believe that it’s too warm for oatmeal… in March!

  5. March 17, 2012 9:03 am

    That breakfast looks delicious! Although, so do all of your bowls of oats haha. I pretty much always have oats for breakfast, but I crave them! Occasionally I’ll do something different and that’s usually enough to spice it up. Have a great time in Chicago! I think I want to live in a warmer climate 🙂

    • March 17, 2012 10:47 am

      Haha yea, Chicago is a bit too cold for my liking. I’ll probably move somewhere a bit warmer after law school!

  6. March 17, 2012 9:59 am

    yumm i love your french toast idea! i can totally relate to your breakfast concerns. 🙂 i LOVE breakfast, and i’m sometimes hesitant to try new things with the worry that i’ll come out with a breakfast i won’t like.
    i currently live with the mountains surrounding me, and it’s absolutely gorgeous. there are times when i look up and think they look so surreal. ideally, i’d love to live with the beach in the background. i’ve always been a beach gal. i also realize how expensive it is to live on a beach though, so that probably won’t ever happen. 😉 i’ll just stick to visiting the beach on a regular basis.

    • March 17, 2012 10:47 am

      I’d take the mountains any day, I’m sure where you live is gorgeous! I like the beach but I don’t like sand… lol it gets into everything!

  7. March 17, 2012 12:19 pm

    Those mountains look amazing, I would love to live somewhere like that but I also love the city!

  8. March 17, 2012 3:12 pm

    I’ve gone between greek yogurt and a banana smoothie basically every day for the last 2 years, haha

  9. March 17, 2012 9:45 pm

    Yes!!! I’ve just been eating my “muffin tops” all week! But I just made granola, so I am going to switch it up with that. I would love to live in Vermont or Florida as retirement but for now, moving back to M.A, is 90% close to what I want, so that’s good! I don’t ever want to be in a city city again!

  10. March 18, 2012 7:48 am

    I definitely feel like I’m in a breakfast rut, there was one morning this past week where I opened the fridge and just stared around aimlessly looking for someting to eat! Usually I think about what I want for breakfast the night before!!

  11. March 18, 2012 8:28 am

    Thanks for the shoutout, Katie! Glad you liked the topping 🙂 I’m totally in a smoothie/shake phase right now.

  12. March 19, 2012 1:48 pm

    I am a total mountain person who is moving soon to south of south lake tahoe, ca this summer. I can’t wait to finally move to where I belong. then its lotsa hiking, learning how to ski, mountain biking, crossfit, and gym time. Thanks for sharing your pics. Colorado is so beautiful! And that french toast…yum!

    but i don’t understand why every one uses stevia… any purpose behind using that instead of sugar?

    • March 19, 2012 2:02 pm

      That’s so exciting, it sounds ike a great place to move! I use stevia for three reasons: 1) it’s a zero calorie natural sweetener, 2) it doesn’t have the chemicals that other zero cal sweeteners have that upset my digestive system (aspartame and sorbitol) and 3) I can’t have white sugar because I’m intolerant to it, along with gluten and soy (although I do have it in small amounts because it’s so hard to avoid! I have a big sweet tooth!).

Leave a Reply

