Skip to content

Spreading the Love

March 15, 2012

Happy Thursday! You’re almost to the weekend! And my vacation is almost over… 😦

I’ve been having a great time here in Colorado with my parents and I’ve been getting in some great eats and exercise!

My first full day here I started out late since I’d gotten in past midnight the night before. After sleeping in a bit and being lazy, I whipped up some apple cinnamon oats!

photo (25)

I chopped up an apple and microwaved half of it. I made up a bowl of regular oats (1/3 C water, 1/3 C almond milk, 1/3 C oats) and added plenty of cinnamon, then added in the microwaved apples. When it was done cooking I added a T of peanut butter and the second half of the apple on top.

It was so delicious! I love apple cinnamon oats but I rarely make them! I need to add these back into the breakfast mix.

After breakfast I headed to the gym and ran 3 slow miles, and then completed on of my circuit workouts from Tina’s bootcamp! Luckily the gym had everything I needed. Afterwards, I headed home and my parents and I went to Whole Foods for lunch! They never knew you could get lunch there, so I walked them around the store and we picked up lunch. My dad got the salad bar, my mom got a sandwich, and I got a salad with a side of berries and grapes:

photo (27)

It was actually my parents’ anniversary that day! Don’t worry, they’d celebrated on Saturday. I just thought it was funny that I was joining them on their anniversary, just the three of us! Haha

photo (28)

For dinner, we made some white fish that we’d bought at Whole foods, with a sautéed veggie mix of orange pepper, yellow squash, onion and fingerling potatoes. The fish was pretty bland, but the veggies were so good!

photo (29)

And check out the view from our dinner table! You can’t see it too well, but Pikes Peak is beyond those darker hills!

photo (30)

I can never get over how gorgeous it is here! I was driving around today running some errands and I just had to snap a picture!

photo (31)

Last night, my parents and I went to the Golden Bee for dinner, my favorite place to eat out here in Colorado Springs! I didn’t take any pictures because 1) I’m on vacation and can’t be expected to remember and 2) I was SO HUNGRY. No time for photos. But you can see my recap from January of the Golden Bee here.

After the Golden Bee I introduced my parents to self serve frozen yogurt. They’d never done it before and it was so fun to take them. Going through using sample cups, picking a flavor, adding toppings and paying by weight was hilarious and fun. They enjoyed it, too! Soon I will convert everyone into a self serve frozen yogurt lover…

 

Anyone left out there that hasn’t eaten at Whole Foods or gotten self serve frozen yogurt!? I urge you to change that now!!!

Where is one place that you’ve been that you could just not believe how pretty it always was?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 7:51 am

    I love froyo… but everytime I eat it, my tummy gets majorly upset… I don’t do so well with dairy… weird b/c I can eat cheese on pizza and have no issues,

    • March 15, 2012 10:02 am

      Maybe just certain types of dairy? The cheese may just be really processed? Haha I have no idea!

  2. March 15, 2012 8:47 am

    That looks so beautiful! I love eating at Wholefoods whenever I’m in London I’m there like a shot!

  3. fitandfuninthird permalink
    March 15, 2012 10:16 am

    Beautiful pic! Everytime I’m at the beach where I grew up I’m reminded how gorgeous it island how much I miss it! Enjoy the rest of your break! 🙂

  4. March 15, 2012 1:20 pm

    So jealous!! I would love to go to Colorado one day, I love mountains!!
    Until I started reading blogs, I had no idea Whole Foods had a salad bar, it’s a good thing I don’t live too close to a WF, because I tend to make giant salads!!!

  5. March 15, 2012 1:20 pm

    I don’t think there are any self serve fro-you places near me…which is probably a good thing! LOL

    Sometime soon I’m going to try the Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal. It looks delicious!

    • March 15, 2012 2:14 pm

      there are no self serve fro yo places?!? Oh there must be! And definitely try the oatmeal, it’s so good, especially topped with peanut butter!

  6. March 15, 2012 1:44 pm

    That is gorgeous! I’ve always wanted to go to Colorado, and I live in Utah so it’s really not that far of a trip! haha
    I unfortunately have never had lunch at Whole Foods, we don’t have one here in my town 😦 But I have had self serve yogurt, and it is DELICIOUS! I love it! I introduced my sister a couple months back, she is now obsessed as well! haha
    hope you enjoy the rest of your stay 🙂

    • March 15, 2012 2:15 pm

      Don’t worry, fro yo is way better than a Whole Foods salad bar, you’ve got the best of the two!

  7. March 15, 2012 2:51 pm

    I have never eaten at a whole foods. Since there isn’t one within a couple hours of me I can’t see that changing anything soon unfortunately.

    • March 15, 2012 3:05 pm

      Well if it’s not close by it’s not worth it. I even live in downtown chicago and never get whole foods for meals! Only out here where my mom is paying… haha.

  8. March 15, 2012 3:18 pm

    That’s so sweet of your parents to try all the things that you enjoy. Happiest anniversary to them. I’d love to go to Colarado Springs. My firm has an office out there and I am looking for any reason for them to send me. Looks so gorgeous!

    • March 15, 2012 5:34 pm

      I hope you make it out here! Everytime I catch a glimpse of the mountain I can’t believe how gorgeous it is!

  9. March 15, 2012 7:22 pm

    i’m SO glad you’re having such a great time with your parents! i think i’ve mentioned before, but i LOVE the golden bee! i haven’t been there in years, but would love to go back. i hope you continue to enjoy the relaxation and time with your parents. 🙂

    • March 15, 2012 9:43 pm

      You and Cody should come down sometime when I’m here! I looked it up, only like a 10 hour drive… haha. I’m so mad at myself though, I forgot to ask them for extra bee stickers! I always do and stick them everywhere!

  10. March 15, 2012 10:16 pm

    Your whole foods meal looks great! Have a safe trip home xo

  11. March 19, 2012 9:10 pm

    Oh man, Alaska blew my mind when I went as my undergrad graduation present. I would love to go there again. The feeling I got there, just was how there is so much out there in the world and we are so confined in our bubble…. Vermont is second 🙂

Leave a Reply

