Skip to content

Flying South

March 9, 2012

Happy Friday everyone!!! Who is excited for the weekend? I am!!!! I’ve mentioned it a couple times before, but today I am off to South Carolina because my friend, Mary Frances, is marrying Vince!!!! And yes, I was actually there when they met. It was at an oyster roast and they once they were introduced you couldn’t keep them apart. I actually remember that were trying to convince everyone to head to a bar after, but I had to get home and to bed since I was taking a practice LSAT exam in the morning! Feels like forever ago!

Don’t worry. The bride is the one on the far left… Not the center.

This is my apartment as of yesterday evening.

photo (6)

Packing was going super well… NOT.

I did a last minute load of laundry so I wouldn’t have to wear clothes I hated all week, and when I went down to pull the load from the dryer it was still all wet! I had no more quarters (I had to scrounge around just to find enough for that load!) so my only option was to hang everything around my apartment and hope for the best…

The rest of my packing, however, went a little bit better. With all my food intolerances it’s always best to bring my own snacks and things when I travel. Luckily, my parents will have a lot of food for me when I get to CO on Sunday, but while I’m in SC and on the plane, I thought it would be best to bring a few things.

First, here are my supplements, some containers to bring almond milk places with me, and some running fuel! I’m hoping to at the very least do a long run in CO, and maybe one Saturday in SC (the wedding is in the evening). I’m also bringing my Camelbak pack for hikes and long runs! The joys of checking luggage…

photo (3)

Anyone see a special somebody hiding in the photo’s background? Yep. Still alive, and 1.5 years old! And don’t worry, my brother will be coming over a couple times to feed him while I’m gone.

For some “just in case” snacks, I packed a few granola bars and a big bag of raw almonds. I also brought a few slices of Udi’s GF whole grain bread.

photo (4)

My flight is at 11:45am, so I packed up a lunch to bring with me on the plane. I’ve never brought fresh food like this, so I hope it’s not a problem in security! We’ll find out… In the mix: pinto beans, okra, carrots and cherry tomatoes mixed in olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

photo (5)

I hope to also find an apple or something in the grocery store. I wasn’t thinking yesterday and ate my last apple as a snack at school. I didn’t want to make another trip to the grocery store, so I’ll just have to make due!

I’ll be renting a car in SC to drive the hour and 15 minutes from the airport to Mary’s hometown, so I’ll be able to go to the grocery store for snacks and other food while I’m there. I like the idea of  having a car! Car = freedom!

This morning my plan is to hit the gym for a workout on my Best Body Bootcamp schedule, get home, showered, eat breakfast and catch a bus, then the L to the airport! Cross your fingers that I don’t have any issues and arrive safely and on time!

*Edited to add: I decided after walking out of my apartment and towards the gym that I was crazy sore and if I wanted to get in a good long run tomorrow, I needed to make today a rest day and do the Bootcamp workout Sunday. So I headed back inside, did 1 round of the circuit for today’s workout (it was all body weight) and a few crunches and hit the shower!

 

What’s your favorite snack to pack when flying?

 

Do you have a good story from when you met your significant other? Or someone you know?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. fitandfuninthird permalink
    March 9, 2012 8:10 am

    My (now) husband and I met during Spring Break in Mexico! It turns out we had actually been going to the same college for four years though! Have a blast at the wedding!!

  2. CarliAlice permalink
    March 9, 2012 8:41 am

    I can’t believe your fish is 1 1/2 years old! You must be teaching him some good fitness tips.

  3. March 9, 2012 8:53 am

    Have a great trip!!

    I usually pack granola bars, fruit, or dried fruit/nuts. They’re healthy and portable!

    Also, did you manage to find fresh okra in Chicago? Where??!! I’ve only seen frozen 😦

    • March 9, 2012 9:46 am

      You can get it at Whole Foods, but I got this batch from a grocery store out by my doctor in Frankfurt called Brookhaven Market.

  4. March 9, 2012 9:12 am

    My boyfriend I met under very bizarre circumstances. He was working for my father right out of law school and was WAY too old for me. We were never friends until I was much older and that’s when it eventually evolved into something more. When my parents found out they were actually happy about the match, despite our ten year age difference. So when I tell people about our meeting I say “He was 26 and I was 16!” It usually raises a few eyebrows!

    • March 9, 2012 9:47 am

      Hahahahaha I like that story! And my parents are 10 years apart! Actually, my friend who’s getting married is 9 or 10 years younger than the groom! Guess guys just take longer to grow up… ha.

  5. March 9, 2012 9:21 am

    My fiancee and I met in high school but I thought he was too weird and awkward so I made excuses not to hang out with him (so bad I know!), but after a lot time, I realized he was everything I ever wanted just in the fact that he was always there for me no matter what! He’s such an amazing person and I am so lucky to have him!! Hope your trip is awesome!! Have fun 🙂

    • March 9, 2012 9:48 am

      I love stories like that, where you didn’t know he was the right one for a while but found you loved him! Haha makes me think of Jim and Pam on the Office…

  6. March 9, 2012 10:21 am

    i’m a bar junkie when it comes to traveling — luna, lara and clif are my favorite!! have a safe trip, girlie 🙂

  7. March 9, 2012 10:31 am

    ahh have so much fun on your trip!! looks like you packed some great goodies and snacks for the trip! my favorite snacks to pack when flying are raw nuts, apples, and larabars/clif bars/luna bars. have fun girl!

  8. March 9, 2012 10:45 am

    Have a safe flight and have a great weekend!!!

  9. March 9, 2012 11:51 am

    Haha I’m a bad packer with everything except for snacks. Clearly I have my priorities 😉

  10. March 9, 2012 12:16 pm

    Have a great trip! My fiance and I met on a blind date through mutual friends!

    • March 9, 2012 5:39 pm

      I wish my friends would set me up! Maybe it would turn out just as well!

      • March 9, 2012 5:54 pm

        They should! The funny thing is, I was friends with my friend for 8 years before she set me up with her boyfriend’s cousin – and she and her boyfriend had been dating since freshman year of high school. Sometimes it’s all about the timing, I think!

  11. March 9, 2012 12:20 pm

    Have a safe trip and a fun weekend!

  12. March 9, 2012 12:39 pm

    I always pack lots of snacks when I travel! My must haves: Luna bar, 100 calorie packs of almonds, carrots, Laughing Cow cheese wedges and some form of chocolate. 🙂 If I’m going to be traveling all day, I’ll pack fresh food in a tupperware, just as you did. I’ve never had any problems, and I’ve even managed to sneak salad dressing and cottage cheese through (both classified as “liquids,” according to the TSA). Sneaky Sneaky. 😉

    Hope you have TONS of fun in SC!

  13. March 9, 2012 2:39 pm

    I love almonds when I’m flying! So convenient and easy. Have an awesome time at the wedding and a great weekend!!

  14. myhealthyaddictions permalink
    March 9, 2012 3:15 pm

    I met my husband at Papa Murphys. I was visinting one of my best friends and he was working there too. After I left we both asked my friend for each other’s numbers. My friend only gave me his number and told him that I wasn’t his type. Obviously she was wrong- 6 years later & we have been happily married 3 and a half years 🙂

  15. March 9, 2012 3:37 pm

    All this talk about how sore the Bootcamp workouts are making people is making me wish I signed up!

    I met my husband in high school. Interestingly enough, we remember our first meeting(s) VERY differently.

  16. March 9, 2012 5:14 pm

    I met my husband on eharmony.com. I guess their system works (or just fate). It was love at first (web)site and we were engaged eight months later. Have a wonderful time at the wedding!

  17. March 9, 2012 9:17 pm

    Have a great time at the wedding! My boyfriend and I met within our first week of college because we lived on the same floor of our dorm. He always accuses me of not actually remembering the very first time we met… and I’ll admit, it is a little blurry. But I definitely remember the first few times we talked, I just don’t remember which one was specifically the first 🙂

  18. March 9, 2012 9:36 pm

    John and I met each other in high school, so there’s really no fun story from that! have a great time this weekend!

  19. March 10, 2012 2:24 am

    Have so much fun on your trip! Looks like you’re prepared 🙂 Fresh food is always okay on the plane! As long as it’s not liquid and you’re not flying out of the country. Once I even tried to fly home with Chinese takeout leftovers in my luggage. But they weren’t still good by the time I got back – much to my disappointment 😉

    • March 11, 2012 6:24 pm

      Haha I don’t think I’ve tried to take leftovers with me, but I know I’ve been tempted!

  20. March 11, 2012 10:33 am

    I live in SC, in Charleston…. where is your wedding at? the weather was gorgeous yesterday! My husband and I were introduced by my ex-boyfriend. Lol.

    • March 11, 2012 6:25 pm

      Haha what an interesting way to meet! The wedding was in Newberry, I flew in through Greenville. Sitting on the plane to leave right now!

  21. commitcomplete permalink
    March 11, 2012 4:48 pm

    My favorite travel snacks are carrot sticks and granola bars. Safe and fun travels!

Leave a Reply

