Skip to content

Random Musings of My Life

March 5, 2012

Guess what today is?!?!

It’s the first day of BOOTCAMP!!!!!

bootcamp_large

Is anyone else participating?? I’m really excited about getting started, and so amazed at all the hard work Tina has put into the bootcamp! She sent us a bunch of files over the weekend, all with tons of details and amazing spreadsheets for the workouts and adaptations if you don’t have a gym to go to!

I’m a little worried about getting my workout done in the time that I have. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m up at 5am on Mondays so that I’m at my gym when it opens at 5:30am, since I I have to workout, walk the half mile home, shower, change and get myself together by 7:30 to leave for class. I’ve learned it’s best to pack some overnight oats and just eat them in class, so I’ve got those ready to go!

Tomorrow I’m going to do slow miles to try out my feet again, and then dive into the workout, which is basically a strength circuit! It looks like I can probably be out of the gym by 6:45, I’m just nervous I might have to cut it short! I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

Now, onto my fun and random musings. On Friday I’m headed to South Carolina for my friend’s wedding, Mary Frances!!!! I am SO EXCITED to see her and my other friends and to celebrate her wedding with Vince! DYING of excitement right now! Haha.

Well, I decided that maybe I should go look for a new dress, because the ones I have I wasn’t sure of. I ended up in H&M where I’ve had some amazing luck before, and found this gem:

photo (45)

Yes? No? Thoughts?

HA. I hope you realize I’m kidding. I decided this is something that a middle school girl in the 80s would wear to a dance. Why is this in their store??? Better yet, WHO BOUGT IT? (and not as a joke). I would like to know.

But don’t worry, I asked a friend of mine who is in the wedding if a full-length dress I had would be too nice. She said it would be perfect since it’s an evening wedding and all the bridesmaids are wearing full length. So, CHECK! Got my dress set and I didn’t have to spend a dime!

 

Another fun thing that I’ve been doing is my new standing/exercising desk:

photo (43)

I got this mini-elliptical in the fall and rarely use it, but I set it up against the tall counter and it’s the perfect height for me to use my computer! But don’t go thinking I’m some kind of exercise bunny on this thing… Honestly I’ve used it a total of like 30 minutes all weekend… Haha. I usually get distracted by what I’m doing and stop ellipticaling and just stand there and type or read. It’s hard to do those things while bouncing up and down!

 

Finally, I have found the most amazing snack, thanks to Sara at Nourish and Flourish. She posted this snack as her bedtime snack on WIAW and I had to try it!

It’s 1/2 cup cottage cheese (I’m not sure how much she used, she didn’t say), mixed with stevia and a splash of flax milk (she used almond) and blended in the magic bullet. Topped with a T of almond butter!

photo (44)

I knew hers looked good and all, but my god. This was amazing! The whipped cottage cheese was so thick and creamy and the almond butter was perfect! The only thing that would have made this better would be granola on top! Too bad I can’t keep that in my house since I eat it like a mad woman… oops.

I know I’ve said it before, but I LOVE my magic bullet! I have never used a kitchen appliance so much in the little time that I’ve had it (okay, except the microwave…). I highly recommend getting a magic bullet! And whipping some cottage cheese in it. Got it? Okay.

 

I hope you all have a great Monday, and I thought I’d leave you with this dark, yet adorable, picture of Molly, and a quote to inspire your week! Have a great Monday!

photo (47)

(she was trying to steal my seat for movie watching. don’t worry, she ended up just sitting on top of me…).

Inspiration.

 

Have you ever made a “standing desk” or done something like sit on a stability ball at work or home?

What’s the craziest thing you’ve seen in a store?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 8:28 am

    That shirt is ridiculous!! Good luck running today, I hope your heel is better!

  2. Maggie permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:52 am

    At first when I saw that dress I was like ummmm..I guess we all have different styles hahah. I’m doing bootcamp too! I’m on vacation right now so I ran on the beach this morning but were staying with family who have a little home gym so I plan on doing the first strength circuit tomorrow!

    • March 5, 2012 9:55 am

      Hahahaha don’t worry, I would be embarrassed to wear that even as a costume. I’m glad you’re doing bootcamp too! I’m going on vacation next week, so we’ll so how it works out!

  3. March 5, 2012 10:13 am

    Yay!!! Katie!!! Can’t wait to see you!!! I’ve done bootcamp before! And will you PLEASE wear that dress ; )

    • March 5, 2012 10:21 am

      Haha I’ll go straight back to H&M during my break today and buy it! I thought it would be perfect for your wedding, but I didn’t want to distract from you with my amazing style… AHHHH I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU!

  4. March 5, 2012 10:42 am

    I don’t understand A LOT of the clothing that is put in stores!! I got a little nervous about that dress…. so happy you were kidding hahah

    • March 5, 2012 11:14 am

      Haha um definitely kidding. I sent the picture to a guy friend and he thought I was serious…

  5. March 5, 2012 10:46 am

    Hahaha, at first I thought you really got that dress 🙂 I saw some tights at the mall this weekend that had a bunch of rips and runs in them. Isn’t that what you DON’T want to happen? They didn’t look like they were going to hold up very long.

    I don’t have a standing desk at work because I’m always standing anyway! I could probably use it at home though – I end up spending a lot of time sitting while I’m on my computer.

  6. March 5, 2012 11:07 am

    Love the standing desk!

  7. fitandfuninthird permalink
    March 5, 2012 11:48 am

    Hahha oh my god that little elliptical is the cutest! I’ve never seen something like that before!

  8. March 5, 2012 12:49 pm

    I love Forever 21, but sometimes I am not sure who comes up with their designs and who they think is going to buy/wear them haha. At work we use little stability pads to put on our chairs to help our backs but I would love to try a standing desk.

    ps I love your dog – so cute!

  9. March 5, 2012 2:02 pm

    That cottage cheese concoction sounds delicious! I LOVE my bullet, it’s a lifesaver! ha I’ll have to give that one try, pretty much love anything topped with nut butters haha
    That is a great idea with your exercising desk! I like to walk on my treadmill and read school notes haha not the best workout, but better than sitting and doing nothing haha

  10. March 5, 2012 2:05 pm

    Haha I’ve never had a ‘standing desk’ before what an idea! That sound sounds delicious, in fact I’m off to have some almond butter right now 😉

  11. March 5, 2012 2:57 pm

    My friends and I in college would go shopping and try to find the most outrageous thing in the store. I was really fun.

    I wish I had a standing desk at work. I feel my butt slowly growing the more I sit here!

  12. March 5, 2012 3:00 pm

    gotta love H&M for gems like that one. Forever 21 has a lot of those too.

    I don’t have a standing desk, but I do tend to stand at the counter and snack sometimes. That count 😉

  13. March 5, 2012 3:08 pm

    I WANT a standing desk. SO bad. Love that idea!! I want a treadmill though–b/c I can do stuff while walking (like 2.0 mph, though). ONE day I will have that! hah.

    Love the dress….NOT 😉 PLease don’t wear it. Hehe

    • March 5, 2012 4:28 pm

      Omg I would LOVE to have a treadmill! This was the closest thing I could afford/fit in my studio apartment…

  14. March 5, 2012 3:32 pm

    i saw that whipped cottage cheese & nut butter on sara’s blog too… it definitely sounds SO good! i’m glad you mentioned it again! i’m thinking it’ll be the perfect little evening snack/dessert. 😉

    • March 5, 2012 4:30 pm

      Definitely try it out! Ahhh I’m sitting in the school library thinking about what snack I’ll get from the cafeteria and now I wish I could just go home and make that!

  15. March 5, 2012 7:21 pm

    I am so proud of you and I love your enthusiasm and excitement for the bootcamp 🙂 I am not participating, but it sounds amazing!

  16. March 5, 2012 10:03 pm

    Oh my gosh that mini elliptical is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!! I’m sure you’re gonna kill bootcamp 🙂 Love the quote and have an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

