Skip to content

Special Treat Day

March 4, 2012

I hope you all are enjoying your weekend!

So I’ve mentioned several times before that I can’t have white sugar (along with pasturized milk, gluten and soy). For new readers out there (HI!!!) I went to a holistic doctor in October to help with some digestive issues I’d been experiencing for years. He told me to avoid these four foods and since then I’ve been doing a lot better. We’re still working on it (just saw him yesterday!) but things are significantly, especially recently!

Now, the whole white sugar thing was the hardest for me to give up. I dropped gluten, soy and pasturized milk pretty easily from my diet (although, to be honest it’s still hard when it comes to eating out – I just want to eat normal food that I didn’t have to make for myself!). But white sugar is sooooo hard to cut out, especially for someone with a sweet tooth like me. Even organic candy still has sugar! So now that I’m making a greater effort with removing white sugar, I’m allowing myself a once-a-week “sugar day.”

Now I’m sure you’re all imagining the kids running around wild at Willy Wonka’s Factory, eating as much of that amazingly delicious candy as they can.

(source)

Sadly, haha, this is not the case. I do, however, give myself a special treat.

The Whole Foods that I go to in Chicago is, so far, the only one I’ve found with a trail mix station:

photo (46)

You get a small bag, and then fill it with whichever goodies you want, with the idea that you’re designing your own trial mix. So I’ll go and get a bag and put some healthy stuff (banana chips, cashews, peanuts) and then I add my “treats,” which are chocolate and yogurt covered raisins and the Whole Foods version of M&Ms, sundrops. It doesn’t seem like much, but paired with my favorite Arctic Zero “ice cream,” it’s a very special afternoon treat. And trust me, it take serious restraint to eat some lunch before I go digging into all of it!

Luckily, I picked up something delicious to munch on! Not gonna lie, I pick “lighter” items from their prepped food station that look good (and are thus less expensive). I tried out a cabbage salad with sesame seeds and almonds (also a couple pieces of sweet potato and beets in that container) and then a kale and shitake mushroom salad with some butternut squash and brussel sprouts on top. Both were delicious!

photo 3

Another cool thing that I tried at Whole Foods this weekend that I’d never done was grinding my own nut butter! Okay, so you just push a button, but it was neat!

photo 1

I’ve been wanting to try Cashew butter, but it was so expensive! I love cashews, but I was afraid of spending so much on a jar and not liking it, or worse, loving it and not being able to afford it! I thought this was the perfect alternative! I didn’t put much in the container, so it actually came out to a bit over a dollar!

photo 2

I tasted it when I got home and it was REALLY thick, but tasted just like cashews! Maybe it just needs some time to settle?

Now, if you’re curious as to whether “sugar day” affects my stomach… it does. Not too, too badly since I only get a little, but my digestive system definitely feels “off” (I’ll spare you the details…). I guess it’s just a reminder that this new diet really is the right thing to make me feel better! Haha and sugar day is to help me mentally feel better! Some days I just want to eat a bowl of cereal. A NORMAL non-gluten-free bowl of cereal. Captain Crunch anyone?

 

Do you have special treat days? Whether it be food, pampering or shopping?

Have you ever made your own nut butter?

49 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 9:31 am

    The whole foods near my house has a trail mix station too and I love it! Good for you for giving up white sugar. I am slowly trying to do that as well…but I definitely understand the difficulties you face when eating out!

    • March 4, 2012 9:34 am

      Basically anything sweet that’s packaged has white sugar! It’s a toughie! Thank goodness for stevia… haha

  2. March 4, 2012 9:47 am

    i can imagine cutting white sugar out would be terribly difficult! i hope the once a week sugar day will help!

    i LOVE those little make-your-own-nut-butter machines! cashew butter is amazing. i love cashews, so it doesn’t surprise me that i do love it.

    • March 4, 2012 1:43 pm

      Haha I thought I’d have to turn something or grind something on the machine, and was surprised when I saw I just had to push a button!

  3. March 4, 2012 9:54 am

    Ahh I’ve never tried cashew butter but I have tried make your own PB machines! I want to try the cashew now 😀 I feel ya on the cutting out certain foods…my GI doc told me to cut out wheat last Monday and I’m not looking forward to being on vacation this week and having to try to find places that can work around that and still make me yummy food!

    • March 4, 2012 1:44 pm

      Yea, gluten can be pretty frustrating at restaurants. The key is just get over being that “annoying” person who has to ask a million questions. Trust me, it’s way better to ask questions than to feel awful. And don’t worry about annoying your waiter, it’s their job! Another bit of advice – bring along some GF granola and bars, that way if you’re really stuck you’ll still have something to eat.

  4. March 4, 2012 10:40 am

    Discovering that I can make my own nut butter was one of the best things ever! I’m so glad my little food processor is up to it! I think its a good idea, for your own sanity and enjoyment of life, to have a day when you can indulge, even when you know your going to feel less than great. I guess its similar to drinking – you know your going to pay for it with the hangover later!

  5. March 4, 2012 11:02 am

    Woah, a trail mix station?? That’s crazy! I usually don’t set aside a day to splurge on myself but yesteday decided to treat myself to new running clothes at lululemon. Obviously I can’t afford to splurge like that all the time, but it felt really good to pamper myself for one day!

  6. March 4, 2012 11:02 am

    I grind my own nut butters sometimes and my cashew butter comes out like that, too! It definitely just needs some time to settle but it’s weird that the cashew is the only one to do that!

  7. March 4, 2012 11:36 am

    I definitely have special treat days. Not always on the same day of the week – just whenever I really want something extra special! Yesterday I was at the mall and found a pair of brown pumps that I LOVED, and they were on sale. And I only have one pair of heels. So I just had to do it – I think I will be thankful I bought them 🙂

    I still have never been to Whole Foods – I need to go! My favorite grocery store at school lets you grind your own peanut or almond butter. I love it!

  8. March 4, 2012 1:26 pm

    i love my whole foods’ salad bar and nut butter station! we also have a trail mix station at my whole foods and it’s awesome 🙂

    • March 4, 2012 1:47 pm

      Awesome! I need to find out which Whole Foods have these trail mix stations, so far this is the only one I’ve seen, and I’ve been to a lot of different Whole Foods!

  9. March 4, 2012 2:23 pm

    Those make-you-own nut butter machines have always indimidated me a little, but I guess it’s easier than it looks!

  10. March 4, 2012 2:23 pm

    make-your-own*

  11. March 4, 2012 2:24 pm

    intimidated*…ahhh..I can’t spell today

  12. fitandfuninthird permalink
    March 4, 2012 3:14 pm

    I have to have my special treat days or Id go crazy! I need my frozen yogurt! 🙂

    • March 4, 2012 3:16 pm

      Ahh I’m all about fro yo! My fro yo place closed this week though! I’m going to go insane if I don’t find another good one!

  13. March 4, 2012 3:31 pm

    I’ve made my own peanut butter (it’s super easy if you have a food processor) but never tried anything else.

    The Whole Foods by me doesn’t have a great selection of pre-made things which is sad. Oh well, I guess it keeps me from spending too much money!

  14. March 4, 2012 4:27 pm

    I usually have SOMEthing sweet (or sweet-ish) every day (think dark choc OR an extra orange, something like that). And on Sundays I usually have a larger or more decadent dessert. It’s never a deprived thing though–if I want a dessert, I will have some. Life is too short!!

    But I think it’s great to take care of your body especially if there are special needs–so good for you for listening to that doc!

  15. March 4, 2012 4:30 pm

    Happy you found a way to eat that makes you feel good! 🙂 I need to try that trail mix station. I love trail mix. Which Whole Foods is it in?

    My treat days are the ones I get to spend the whole day with my girlfriends! 🙂

    • March 4, 2012 7:31 pm

      It’s the Whole Foods on Kingsbury, near North Ave. in downtown Chicago!

      • March 4, 2012 7:37 pm

        Ahh! My husband was at that one yesterday for a meeting and missed the trail mix bar! He did bring me home some chocolate though 🙂

  16. March 4, 2012 8:35 pm

    I am not a fan of almond or sunflower butter. BUT LOVE peanut butter… do you think I would like cashew butter??

    I think I may be intolerant to soy.. why did they have you start avoiding it? I haven’t been digesting all that well either!!

    • March 4, 2012 9:02 pm

      hmm, if you don’t like almond butter I’m not sure you’d like cashew. I feel like peanut butter is just significantly sweeter than the other nut butters, which is why it’s so amazing! Haha. As for soy, I started seeing a holistic doctor who did some unconventional testing (honestly I’m not even sure how he figured it out), but I realized he was right because I’d avoid it and then I’d feel awful and look at what I ate, and realized I’d accidentally eaten soy. Just try cutting it out (read labels, it’s in EVERYTHING) for a week or so, and then purposely eat it and see if it upsets your stomach. I just checked out your blog, I’m going to look into it more when I have a chance! I’m not sure where you’re from, but if you need a recommendation for a holistic doctor I have a great one that was actually recommended to me from another blogger!

  17. March 4, 2012 9:27 pm

    I’ve seen the nut butter grinder at my Whole Foods, but I’ve never used it. Now you’re intrigued me! Especially since it seems that it could be somewhat cheaper getting small batches of fresh nut butter instead of $10 jars.

  18. March 4, 2012 10:04 pm

    My treat days are sporadic rather than designated, but I definitely treat myself every now and then. Probably too often 🙂

  19. March 4, 2012 10:26 pm

    omg I sooo know how you mean! I can’t eat corn and so many delicious sweets have corn like creme brulee, my favorite yogurts, my favorite Barbara’s gluten-free cereal. Ugh! It makes the wheat allergy harder to cope with. I do sometimes break things up like I cant have Boca burgers because of the wheat so I use 1/4 and mix it with something else. Makes like easier 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 9:49 am

      oh gosh, corn is a tough one! Kinda like soy, you get past the gluten free, but then soy (or corn) is in it!

      • March 5, 2012 9:54 am

        yes!!! So true 😦 Alot of gluten (wheat) free products have corn so I can’t have them. Makes it super limited! It sucks but at least I’m not the only one who has a hard time eating out 😦

  20. March 4, 2012 10:52 pm

    Love, love, love cashew butter. The Whole Foods near me as individual serving sizes of Artisana Cashew Butter which I usually buy, but it is probably cheaper to grind your own…must try that next time!

  21. March 4, 2012 11:30 pm

    I’ve been dying to try the cashew butter! Did it settle at all?! And the create your own trail mix bar is my favorite spot in my local whole foods 🙂

  22. March 5, 2012 2:56 am

    I always pick the “lighter” items in order to save money at the salad bar too! Fruit, eggs, and tofu can really hike up the cost of those brown boxes!

    It must be really difficult keeping refined sugar out of your diet! However I think GI comfort makes the sacrifice completely worth it. I often miss pizza and crusty bread, but when I think about what happens when I eat those things, it’s much easier to say no. 🙂

    As far as treat days go: YES!! I actually “treat” myself (chocolate, ice cream and pedicures are my favorites) every day, but some days more than others. 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 9:51 am

      Haha I do the “lighter” items at fro yo places too! And you’re right, feeling good does make it worth it. My treat day this week really reminded me of that…

  23. March 5, 2012 6:53 am

    I want to try cashew butter so sooo much, but the WF near me only has almond and peanut. Having said that, those two flavors are quite good too! I am glad you did treat yourself a bit yesterday 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 9:52 am

      Ours has almond and peanut, but I haven’t tried them from their grind it yourself section. I think I might!

  24. March 5, 2012 3:09 pm

    This place looks like heaven! Ha I wish I had a big fancy whole foods store like this where I live! We don’t even have a trader joes either 😦 rough! haha

Leave a Reply

