Skip to content

Current Favorites

March 3, 2012

Hey everyone! I hope you all are have had a wonderful start to your weekends! I had an… interesting start. Yesterday I was so excited because my heel wasn’t bothering me. I was on the elliptical for 20 minutes and everything was fine (I hadn’t used the elliptical all weeks, just the bike). So I decided to try my luck on the treadmill! I started out at a very slow jog aaaaaand, OW. Bad idea. I didn’t even last a minute without my heel hurting so I had to stop.

I’m taking all day off today and possibly looking into getting some new shoes. My other heel actually started to feel “off” as well, so I’m wondering if it’s a shoe issue? I bought the shoes over Thanksgiving, when I was only running about 14 miles a week. Now, I’ve upped my mileage to almost 30 miles a week (ha, well not this week…) and wonder if I need some new shoes?

I just hope I get this all figured out soon so I can get back to training for my half marathon! I know I can complete the distance, but I want to get a time good enough to be in a corral for the Chicago Marathon! I guess we’ll just have to see.

Currently, I’m icing my heel and browsing through pinterest. I thought I’d share some of my favorites from the week with you all!

 

i like this. a lot.

 

ride in a hot air balloon

 

fall riding boots.  die.

 

Poptart pops

 

SO TRUE!

 

true true.

 

see the northern lights

 

Lemon Chex Mix

 

;)

 

F-ing LOVE. #jewelry #bronze #monogram #initial

 

gluten free oreos. gluten free girl.

 

strength.

 

 

What are you loving right now?

Any suggestions for my heel issue???

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2012 7:50 am

    I’d say new shoes – typically shoes last 300 miles I think they say… I know whenever I would get an “injury”, it would be because of my shoes!

    • March 3, 2012 12:50 pm

      Yea… After everyone’s comments I’m thinking new shoes is a good idea. Ahhh I felt like I JUST got new shoes!

  2. Alyssa @ fit and fun in third permalink
    March 3, 2012 8:16 am

    Just found your blog, can’t wait to read more!
    I love the Run Like A Girl quote 🙂

  3. March 3, 2012 8:32 am

    I had heel issues back in December. Turns out is was “PF” (can’t remember the long name) but if your google runners PF it will come up 🙂 its really common. I got inserts for my shows w/ more arch support called superfeet. I treated the pain w/ rolling my foot w a frozen water bottle. I haven’t had problems since! Good luck!

  4. March 3, 2012 8:36 am

    I’d definitely try new shoes! Whenever I start to feel a bit of an ache, I usually look back over how long I’ve had my shoes. If it’s been a while, I get new ones and it’s almost always fixed it!

    Love those boots! I have been trying to find some cute riding boots like those but can’t find a good deal on them anywhere.

    • March 3, 2012 12:47 pm

      ugh, yea I think I might have to give in and get some new shoes! And I love the boots too! Just wish I could afford them… haha.

  5. March 3, 2012 8:41 am

    New shoes are a great idea! Rest up and enjoy your off day 🙂

  6. March 3, 2012 8:58 am

    If the pain persist, consult a doctor. It helps prevent further damage injury and you may be able to train soon for the marathon once properly treated. Wishing you all the best on your run.

  7. March 3, 2012 8:59 am

    I love those little poptart treats!! Gah, I never make cutesy things like that. They look so simple but end up being so hard to make!!

  8. March 3, 2012 9:06 am

    Have your calves been really tight? Apparently that is linked to heel pain as well. I’m planning on buying gel inserts for my shoes (I just bought some so that can’t be the problem) and a tiger tail to roll out my calves. I’m hoping that helps, I hope your heel feels better soon!

    • March 3, 2012 12:41 pm

      I’ve been trying to stretch them out, but I could definitely keep working on them! I also just bought some inserts this morning, but I don’t think they fit well with my arches, they’re kinda uncomfortable. Good thing Dr. Scholls can be sent back for a refund.. lol.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    March 3, 2012 9:10 am

    I’ve used custom orthotics for years and they really work.
    Jack

    • March 3, 2012 12:40 pm

      Thanks, Jack! If things don’t get better I’ll definitely look into that. Hope you all are having a good trip!

  10. March 3, 2012 10:28 am

    i love that first quote!

    i could absolutely not live without my orthotics. a definite investment, but worth every penny. definitely worth looking into!

    • March 3, 2012 12:39 pm

      The first quote was definitely my favorite. And I’ll look into orthotics… ha maybe my parents will consider paying for that one.

  11. March 3, 2012 10:58 am

    love all your pins! i have a couple of them on my own pinterest boards! i’m so sorry about your heel girl. 😦 i’m all too familiar with annoying foot issues. the only thing i could suggest is possibly getting new shoes and/or inserts. i hope a day of rest helps!

  12. March 3, 2012 12:34 pm

    Oh my goodness girlfriend! LOVE THE BOOTS!

    Currently, I am loving nail polish 🙂 Right now I am using this green colour (kind of like the background of your blog believe it or not!) It’s OPI called Thanks A Windmillion 🙂

    happy weekend

  13. Mollie permalink
    March 3, 2012 1:24 pm

    I LOVE the quote about worrying. It is SO applicable to me right now-I am on like stress overload between grad school exams next week, a wedding shower that is going to take up my studying time, a crazy mother who I am fighting with..but ya know what, worrying isn’t going to help anything! I will get through it the best I can. I seriously want to find a framed version of that and hang it on my wall. THANKS =)

    Happy Weekend!!!

    • March 3, 2012 5:03 pm

      I’m glad the quote helped! I love pinterest quotes, I always find ones that relate to me and make me feel better!

  14. March 3, 2012 2:07 pm

    Def try new shoes!! Also, check if you’re a heel striker? You might have just agitated the tissue around the heel, pulled something, or bruised the bone. Icing and putting rubs on it (think Icy hot) and taking anti-inflammatories should help!

    I LOVE some of those quotes! Thank you for sharing!

  15. March 3, 2012 2:10 pm

    I love all of your pinterest pics! I hope your heel gets better – I know that’s so frustrating!

  16. March 4, 2012 2:49 am

    I’ve been loving Pinterest too, lately (who hasnt??)!
    Love all these pictures!

    Have a great rest of the weekend! 🙂

  17. March 4, 2012 8:02 am

    LOVE the hot air balloon photo! Pinterest rocks!

Leave a Reply

