Skip to content

20 Days Until Spring!

March 1, 2012
tags: , ,

Can you tell that I’m excited for warmer weather? Granted, I CANNOT complain one tiny bit. Winter this year in Chicago, compared to last year, is a complete joke. Seriously. It’s snowed like 3 or 4 times and it melts away a few days later. It’s been above freezing almost every single day!

image

This is INSANE! Because the weather has been so great, it’s been giving me the springtime itch! Although I’ll be sad to part with my wonderful knee-length puffy coat, I am very excited for other things, like wearing my TOMs!!!!

Haha very old picture from when I first started my blog this past summer!

So now that we are entering into a new month, it’s time to take a look at the goals I had for February, how I did on them, and then my new goals for the month of March!

Here’s the February Re-Cap:

 

February Goals

1. Make better use of my evenings.

After posting this goal, I got several responses from people saying they are also totally lazy in the evenings! I did get a little better with it though. I’ve been reading a lot of books for pleasure, so I would often do that in the evening. I’ve also been doing some blog work, tidying up my apartment, and trying to do some stretches before bed. I’d say this one was accomplished!

2. Keep up with NROLFW!

Haha if you read regularly, you’ll know that I did not keep up with NROLFW. I actually decided that the program was just not the right thing for me now, with my half marathon training. The hardest part was that the workouts included both legs and upper body, so I’d be doing leg weights the day before a run. It just wasn’t the right schedule for me. I may pick up again after my race, though!

3. Try spinning again!

Again, this one also didn’t happen. I was a little freaked out that spinning would make my legs sore for runs, so I never got up the courage to go to a class. I will, however, try it out after my race! I plan on taking a week off running after the half marathon, so I think that week will be the perfect time to give it a try!

4. Go to Bikram once a week.

ALMOST. Haha, I went to Bikram 3 weeks in a row but I did not go this past weekend. I actually found out my Groupon is based on the number of times I go and will not be expiring any time soon. This took a lot of pressure off of me, since often I’d go even if I wanted to do something else that day, just so I wouldn’t be wasting it.

5. Try not to hate on Valentines day…

CHECK! I was much more positive about Valentine’s day this year and somewhat enjoyed the holiday! Granted, my Tuesday was just like any other Tuesday, but at least I wasn’t hating life and wallowing all day. I tried to enjoy the holiday and my adorable Valentine!

photo (17)

That’s a heart-shaped Valentine’s toy in her mouth… if you couldn’t tell.

 

So now that we’ve re-capped last month, it’s time to look at some new goals for March!

1. Give more compliments and complain less!

Annette wrote a great post on Tuesday about compliments and it really got me thinking. It’s so true that I give more compliments when I’m feeling good, and don’t when I’m feeling bad about myself. I’m going to make a conscious effort to give more compliments, which I think will help my own mood! Another thing to help my mood: LESS COMPLAINING. I feel like I find myself complaining a lot, especially about my dietary restrictions, recently and it’s not helping anything or anyone!

2. Get more healthy fats in my diet and eat more earlier in the day.

One of the problems I have with eating is that I’ll eat too little early on in the day, and then my body is craving more food at night, and I eat most of my daily calories in the evening! This isn’t good because 1) it doesn’t help fuel me through the day and 2) I definitely think it’s part of what is affecting my sleep! I also want to include more healthy fats because I’ve been tracking macro nutrients, and I’ve realized I barely eat any fat! Fat is so important for healthy brain function, which is important in law school!

3. Cook at least two new meals with my parents in Colorado.

I’m spending part of my spring break in Colorado with my parents. Since we have a full kitchen, I really want to cook a couple new recipes that I’ve been seeing with them. When I was home for Christmas I cooked a couple times with my mom and we both really enjoyed discovering new recipes together. I’ve already bookmarked some things I think they’ll like!

4. Follow my Best Body Bootcamp and be a Rockstar!!!

bootcamp_large

(source)

I mentioned before that I was going to sign up for Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, and I did! I am so excited for the program and can’t wait to get started! I just want to be sure that I’m able to keep it up with my half-marathon training (if my foot gets better…) and my traveling for spring break. If you’re still interested, you can still sign up for the bootcamp!

 

Is the weather turning spring-like where you live?

What’s a goal that you are currently working on or would like to work on?

41 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 8:54 am

    Boston is slowly but surely showing signs of spring. Even the tulips are starting to pop up from under the ground and it’s only March 1st! Crazy!

  2. March 1, 2012 10:17 am

    Its been really warm this week in fact my home town was the warmest place in the UK a couple of days ago and broke a record! I just love the start of spring. Your goals look really good, I can definitely relate to that overeating at night thing, that’s something I’m working on too

  3. March 1, 2012 11:03 am

    I’m serously crossing my fingers that your foot starts feeling better!

    • March 1, 2012 11:44 am

      Oh I am too! It’s improving but very slowly, I just want to be sure I don’t jump back in too quickly and make it worse! I want to be ready to go for bootcamp and getting back into running next week!

  4. March 1, 2012 12:48 pm

    I’m focusing on moving less and eating more – uhhhh yes I have HLB. 😉

    • March 1, 2012 1:01 pm

      haha I’d be all about eating more. P.S. I turned my almond butter upside down and have not (YET) made a mess.

  5. March 1, 2012 1:25 pm

    I for one, can’t believe daylight savings is only 10 days away!! Hooray 😀

  6. March 1, 2012 1:41 pm

    Ah, I’m dealing with a foot injury while training too… running injuries are the worst!

    I’ve been working on getting more sleep, I actually gave myself a bedtime hah! It seems to be working though, it’s amazing how much more “normal” you feel with a full nights rest!

    • March 1, 2012 3:40 pm

      Haha I always have a bedtime! I count back 8 hours from when I have to get up, and that’s my bedtime!

  7. March 1, 2012 1:54 pm

    Weather’s been funky lately… I’m at school right now in shorts and a t-shirt! I would like to work on making better use of my evenings, too! A.K.A get more school work done earlier than the due date!

    • March 1, 2012 3:40 pm

      Haha, yea, I have a hard time getting schoolwork done in the evenings, I’m much better at packing it in during breaks in the day, or on the weekend!

  8. myhealthyaddictions permalink
    March 1, 2012 1:57 pm

    No–its been snowing all day and Im a bit upset about it to say the least!
    One of my goals for this month is to find a great b-day present for the hubby- I took him skydiving last year so not quite sure how to top that this year- any suggestions?

    • March 1, 2012 3:41 pm

      Ooo Skydiving is a good one! I have zero experience getting guys gifts, so I can’t say I’d be too helpful!

  9. March 1, 2012 2:16 pm

    YAH for compliments to others! I totally believe this makes us (and others) feel SO much better. Great goals, lady!! Good luck at Boot Camp!

  10. March 1, 2012 2:17 pm

    the winter here is actually starting to look more and more like winter this past week than spring! we had probably our biggest snow storm of the season last night. lame! haha oh well, it’ll come soon enough. i’m pretty stoked for warmer weather too!

    great job on your goals for february! i think you’re new ones for march are awesome too. i’m all about those healthy fats! 😉

    • March 1, 2012 3:42 pm

      I love snow though! I always say I’d like it to either be snowy, or warm. Haha, not in between!

  11. March 1, 2012 2:18 pm

    the *weather here… (oops!) 🙂

  12. March 1, 2012 4:09 pm

    I’m in Michigan and we have had a pretty similar winter to Chicago, it has snowed a handful of times, and even then, it’s melted within a couple of days. I have to say I am enjoying it 100%! I was a little bummed we had a brown Christmas, but I got over that quickly 🙂

  13. March 1, 2012 4:22 pm

    I am so excited for day light savings! It makes my heart smile for the daylight to last longer in the evenings! As for the weather, I live in LA so there’s not much changing there, and with respect to goals, my goal for the coming month is to actually read the two magazine that I subscribe to: Real Simple and The Week. They are great magazines, but I get busy with work and I never take time to read for pleasure. So, I won’t set my sights too high on reading an actual entire book, but I’ll shoot for actually reading my magazine subscriptions for now!

    • March 1, 2012 9:52 pm

      I have the same problem with magazines, I get a few and all the sudden the next months has come before I even read it!

  14. March 1, 2012 4:56 pm

    Our winter here in Utah has been crazy, in a great way! ha Although it did snow pretty good yesterday, I can’t complain since it’s probably only the 4th time ha I cannot wait for some slip on and flip flop shoes though! I just got some cute new lacey toms and am dying to wear them!!!

  15. March 1, 2012 7:56 pm

    The only time I get to brag about the weather here is Naples, FL is now (other times it’s too hot) but it have been perfect 80 degrees every day. Unfortunately I have to work and can’t enjoy it.

  16. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    March 1, 2012 8:52 pm

    It was 80 degrees here today- and it will be 51 on Monday. Luckily I’ll be in Florida on spring break where it will still be in the 80’s 😀

    My current goal is just to get a good running base built up, and add in strength training with Tina’s bootcamp!

    • March 1, 2012 9:54 pm

      Haha there you go, just skip the whole cold part! And great goals, can’t wait to do the bootcamp with you!

  17. March 1, 2012 9:04 pm

    Today was SO spring-like! Unfortunately I had a late meeting and didn’t really spend any of it outside, but just the fact that’s now March is making me a happy camper! You reminded me that I need to go back and review my February goals and make some new ones for March!

    • March 1, 2012 9:55 pm

      Good luck with reviewing your goals, and don’t worry, you’ll have plenty of pretty days soon!

  18. March 1, 2012 9:18 pm

    I barely had to bust out my “from here” coat (as in, the coat you buy when you move to Chicago aka the puffy coat) this winter! I’m a little bummed that I was off running for most of the “winter” but it certainly made for a less painful commute.

    You’ll have to keep us updated on the bootcamp!

  19. March 1, 2012 9:28 pm

    I love making monthly goals! Sounds like you did a great job with them this month 🙂

  20. March 2, 2012 10:02 am

    Such a cute picture of your valentine 🙂

    I love Tina’s blog — good luck with her bootcamp!

    I am going to try to eat my fruits and veggies this month. Rather than focusing on “not” ______, I think that’s a good change for me!

  21. March 3, 2012 9:17 am

    Healthy fats are important in one’s diet. It helps prevent fatigue, controls weight & great for alertness. Try avocados, nuts, & peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

