Skip to content

Inspiration and New Snack Obsession

February 26, 2012

First of all, thank you for your congrats on my post yesterday! I still can’t believe I ran a half marathon distance. I seriously need to take someone with me next week to vouch for it and tell me I’m not crazy and that it actually happened!

I just keep thinking back to a moment this past August. I was at a BBQ and my sister-in-law’s friend was training for a half marathon. She said she had run 10 miles that morning. My jaw literally dropped to the ground. I was in complete awe! She didn’t seem like a “runner,” she seemed like a totally average girl, just like me. To hear that she had run 10 miles that morning and was having a blast that night without looking like she was going to die really amazed me. I kept thinking: “how is she not completely exhausted! I can’t believe she ran a WHOLE TEN MILES.” I knew then and there that I wanted to do it. I wanted to prove to myself that I could become a distance runner, even though I always believed I just wasn’t a “runner.”

For anyone reading who wants to try distance running but just doesn’t think they have it in them, look at me. I had run no more than 4 miles in my life before I graduated college, and even then 4 miles happened probably 3 times in my life. When I moved to Chicago I decided I would run a 10K and after a couple months of training, I did it! But then I let running fall to the wayside when winter came around. I kept up short treadmill runs, but that was it. I got back into running this past August, and since then I’ve been slowly but surely building my mileage. I’m not saying you’ll be running a half in 2 months, it’s take me 7 months to get where I am now! You just have to work at it, slow and steady!

Trust me, you don’t have to be a “runner” or any kind of athlete to accomplish what you dream of. Just work at it, learn from set backs, and keep pulling yourself back up. You really can do anything.

/

Well now that I’ve hopefully inspired you to go for your goals, I have something much more delicious to share! Remember how I got the Magic Bullet and I asked for suggestions on what to use with it? Well, a couple of you suggested putting cottage cheese in there and whipping it. For those of you who suggested it, God bless you.

I have come up with a million different mixtures of cottage cheese, from the classic of just adding some stevia and vanilla extract, to anything from berries, chocolate, bananas, butternut squash and more!

This one included a small handful of blueberries, stevia and vanilla:

photo (12)

Here’s the one with a couple spoonfuls of butternut squash (and yes, I realize it looks like melted cheese…):

photo

This one I had as part of my post-run snack after my 13.1 mile run! It included cottage cheese, some flax milk, stevia, cinnamon and a scoop of vanilla protein powder. It had a great texture!

photo (9)

My favorite, however, I never got a picture of! I had a pretty ripe banana, so I put half of it in with the cottage cheese and stevia, and it was FANTASTIC! I’m going to buy a banana and let it get old just so I can re-create that one! The sweetness of the banana with the cottage cheese was just perfect!

When I first heard of this idea, I thought it would be just the same as adding any of these mix-ins to yogurt. Oh, no no no. I was mistaken. The cottage cheese actually “whips” and has a great texture, and the taste is just so different from yogurt! Haha it’s hard to describe, you’ll have to try it out yourselves!

 

Have you ever tried whipping cottage cheese? What’s your favorite flavor combo?

What is a goal you have set for yourself? (any type, not just physical!)

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 8:15 am

    I’ve never tried whipping cottage cheese–but now I might!

    That “ever accomplishment…” quote is one of my favourites. ❤

    I want to do an Ironman before I'm 30 and to qualify for Kona before I'm 34 (10 years to do it!)… 🙂

    • February 26, 2012 11:45 am

      You should try it! And that’s an awesome goal, an ironman! I bet you can do it, just have to find the right time to be able to dedicate to the training!

  2. February 26, 2012 9:07 am

    I absolutely love that quote, so so so true. And your snacks look delicious! Very different from the typical protein bar, gonna have to try those 🙂

    • February 26, 2012 11:46 am

      I’m trying to eat less sugar overall, so I’ve been trying to avoid protein bars. Snacks like these are perfect!

  3. February 26, 2012 9:49 am

    great encouragement… i never considered myself a “runner” either, and i just signed up for my first half this june! i can hardly believe it.

    your whipped cottage cheese sounds so yummy! i definitely need to try that out!

    • February 26, 2012 11:48 am

      You are most definitely a runner!! Haha I actually looked into flying to Utah to do that half, it sounds so beautiful! Sadly tickets were a bit much… I bet you’ll rock it though! It’s great to set goals that scare us a bit! And definitely try out the whipped cottage cheese. I’ve actually been meaning to try it with some PB2, I’ll let you know if that’s good!

  4. February 26, 2012 11:07 am

    I have never tried whipping cottage cheese – but I do love cottage cheese, so maybe I should try it!

    Again – so awesome that you ran a half marathon yesterday! And I love your story about hearing someone ran 10 miles and not being able to believe it. I remember being in high school and hearing that Elisabeth Hasselback (I was a huge Survivor fan at the time) ran 5 miles every morning and I was in shock that 5 miles could be “normal” to someone when it seemed so unattainable to me. The thought of running a marathon seemed even more crazy. But after some time (okay, a LOT of time) I did it!

    Right now my goal is to do a pull up 🙂 I thought it was going to happen last weekend but then I got on the bar and couldn’t even get myself halfway up, haha.

    • February 26, 2012 11:49 am

      You should try it! So delicious. And that’s a great goal! Haha no way could I do a pull up! I remember they tried to get us to do those in gym when I was little… some kids were awesome at it! I guess we weighed a lot less then though… ha.

  5. February 26, 2012 12:17 pm

    I definitely need to get creative with cottage cheese! Your creations look delicious!

  6. February 26, 2012 2:46 pm

    I’ve blended cottage cheese into a shake once but I actually didn’t like the results. I’m not a fan of cottage cheese really anywhere!

  7. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    February 26, 2012 3:02 pm

    I love this post, although I do still get the “how is she not completely exhausted! I can’t believe she ran a WHOLE TEN MILES.” feelings haha! I still am a little afraid I’m just not cut out for distance running but I’m just trying to take it slow and practice a lot! I’ve definitely come a long way since in October I couldn’t run a mile without stopping 😀

    I actually just tried cottage cheese for the first time this weekend, and I’m still not sure if I like it or not so I want to give it another try and whipping it sounds like a good idea! Especially because half the reason it weirds me out is the texture.

    • February 26, 2012 5:04 pm

      Never think you’re just not cut out for it! Trust me, I really believed that I just couldn’t run, that I wasn’t built for distance. My first 10K made me want to die, despite training for it! If you enjoy running and want to become a distance runner, just slowly build up, take your time and be sure to have weeks where you pull back on mileage to let your body rest. And that’s quite a long way you’ve already come!!! I started off already being able to run at least 2-3 miles. And definitely try whipping the cottage cheese, it’s totally different! Be sure to add some stevia or sweetener though!

      • Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
        February 26, 2012 7:40 pm

        Thanks for the encouraging words 🙂 It feels good to know that it’s possible for a regular person to do it!!

        I have my first 10k the 24th which I’m kind of regretting signing up for now because I just don’t know that I’ll be ready, plus I’m running an 8k this weekend but the office I work for is a sponsor for the 10k so I kind of got sucked into running it! After the 10k I think I’ll plan to take a week off and just cross train then work on just building up a solid base before I increase my distance anymore. Thanks for the tips!!

        • February 26, 2012 8:56 pm

          Go for the 10K! Just take it slow to start, the energy of the race will push you further than you thought you could go! And definitely take a break after the race. I’ve heard the general rule is one day for every mile of the race. So for a 10K you should take 6 days off of running!

  8. February 26, 2012 3:34 pm

    Whipped cottage cheese sounds great! I just started buying cottage cheese again, its so versatile!

  9. February 26, 2012 6:25 pm

    I’ve never whipped cottage cheese but I love the stuff. I am going to try it whipped. I think my fantasy c.c. whip mix would include peanut butter, stevia, and a frozen banana.

    Congrats on the halfie!!! I hope you enjoyed every minute of it and are feeling great today.

  10. February 26, 2012 10:12 pm

    I remember standing at the finish of my first 5K thinking “Maybe I’ll train for a half marathon….but never a marathon.” Amazing how things change, right?

    I don’t know how I feel about cottage cheese mixed with things. Maybe I’m a cottage cheese purist!

    • February 27, 2012 9:26 am

      Exactly! It’s crazy to think I once thought 2 miles was the furthest I’d ever want to run!

  11. February 26, 2012 11:14 pm

    Whipping cottage cheese is totally new to me! I go through phases where I eat cottage cheese and berries as my midnight snack and now definitely want to try this 🙂 PS: Loved the motivation. I’ve been a distance runner in the past, but suddenly can’t find the urge to get out and run that I used to have. Researching halves now to get me a training plan and back into it again 🙂

  12. February 27, 2012 2:46 am

    Ahh! I’m so glad you tried the cottage cheese!! I eat it EVERY night before bed (just finished a bowl topped with peanut butter, ground flax and a few mini chocolate chips). I’ve been doing this for over a year now, and still haven’t gotten tired of it! I’ll have to try adding blueberries sometime. The banana mixed in is one of my faves too. 🙂 Definitely let us know if you come up with any other great combinations!

    And CONGRATS on running 13 miles! Go get ’em girl!! xoxo

  13. February 27, 2012 8:09 am

    I have yet to try whipping my cottage cheese ,but it sounds intriguing. “I whip my cheese back and forth, I whip my cheese back and forth…” and yes, that’s a Willow Smith song reference right there. 😉

    • February 27, 2012 9:28 am

      Hahahaha omg I love that song, I still can’t get over how young she was when it first came out!

  14. February 28, 2012 5:52 pm

    I always make smoothies and shakes with my bullet, yet I have never thought of putting cottage cheese in there. The combo sounds…interesting! ha but I think you have sold me to try it out! I like the idea with the banana, I can’t wait to try now! I’ve very intrigued! haha

    • February 28, 2012 8:18 pm

      Definitely try it! The banana with cottage cheese, steiva and a bit of vanilla is my favorite!

  15. Lisa permalink
    March 1, 2012 4:54 pm

    hi! I just found your blog and am trying to “become a runner” as well! I love this post because I LOVE making smoothies with cottage cheese in the magic bullet. I usually use about 1/2cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup (approx) coconut or almond milk, about 1/2 cup of frozen fruit (usually mixed berries or cherries) and a scoop of protein powder. Sometimes it turns out a little thinner and runny, but the days that I get it spot on it is THICK and delicious!! I mix in chia seeds at the end if it is a little runny and let them thicken it up. I want to try freezing the whole mixed up concoction and seeing if it turns into “ice cream”!

Leave a Reply

