Skip to content

What I Ate Tuesday–Errand Day!

February 22, 2012

Hey Everyone!!! It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means:

What I Ate Wednesday!

If you are new to WIAW, head over to Peas and Crayons to check it out! It’s a great way to find new recipes, meal ideas and blogs to follow!

Peas and Crayons

Last week, my WIAW was all about what I ate on long run day! This week, it’s my eats from Tuesday, which is a day that I only have one class, and thus dedicate mostly to errands!

For breakfast, I got up early enough to make myself some egg-white oats! These always hold me over for about 4 hours and since I didn’t know when I’d have a chance to eat my snack, I thought they’d be the best option! I’ve also started adding 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin or butternut squash when I cook the oats, just as a way to get in a bit of veggies with my breakfast.

photo (19)

And yes, this is a recycled picture… My mornings always end up being hectic and I forgot to take a picture! Plus it was so good I just had to dig in…

After breakfast I headed to class, and then after class I went on a field trip! This semester I’m a part of the environmental clinic, which is where students do REAL legal work for REAL clients (for free…). I went with my professor and my partner who is working on the same case out to the suburbs to check out a facility that we’re dealing with (I felt like Erin Brokovich).

On the bus home, I snacked on an apple and a Pure bar.

photo (44)

Once home, I quickly changed and headed to the gym, realizing I had JUST enough time to get in my 6 mile tempo run before my doctor’s appointment! It ended up being a not so great run… I’m not sure if my snack just had too much fiber, or if my stomach was just off yesterday, but let’s just say I had to run to the restroom (TMI?) halfway through and just wasn’t feeling well.

Once I got home I showered and used my NEW MAGIC BULLET to make a quick smoothie to take with me on my way to the doctor! Into the blender went 1/3 block of frozen spinach (I was out of fresh), 1/3 cup canned pumpkin, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, some cinnamon and 1 packet of stevia.

photo (48)

Thank you to my friend, Hadley, for my awesome tumbler!

My appointment just happened to by the REI store, and guess what? I had a gift card from Christmas! I’ve been wanting to get a CamelBak pack for running, and my long run with very little water last week really got me going on researching it. I ended up texting my cousin, Allie, who has one and asking her opinion.

In the end, I went with the 2012 Aurora, which  holds 70 oz and is designed for women with smaller torsos. I tried on several and looked a bit ridiculous, but it was a big purchase! I also bought a couple types of energy beans to try out too! I think since they are more like candy, I can use them as motivation… Ha.

photo (47)

By the time I got home, I realized I hadn’t had a real lunch and I was STARVING! It was 4:45. I was okay with having dinner at 4:45.

I decided to use the miracle noodles I had got a few weeks ago, and make an Indian flavored dish! I sautéed some chopped summer squash, mushrooms and kale mixed with curry and tumeric and then also made a sauce for the noodles with 2 tsp Dijon mustard, flax milk, curry and tumeric. I also added in some chopped up chicken meatballs. It turned out fantastic!

photo (46)

photo (45)

Although not exactly authentic Indian, I thought it was pretty good!

My dinner wasn’t quite as filling as I’d hoped (I was a hungry beast today!) So I also had a container of Chobani Blood Orange Greek Yogurt, with a few mini soy-free chocolate chips from Enjoy Life Foods.

photo (43)

And you are correct in realizing I said soy-free, but not sugar free… oops.

 

Since I had dinner so early, I was getting hungry a bit later. I tried to curb it with a handful of nuts, but I was just plain hungry! So I made up another pumpkin protein muffin from STUFT Mama! So good. On the side was “chocolate sauce” which I made with 1 T protein powder, 1 T PB2, 1 packet stevia and 1/2 T cocoa powder, all mixed with water and a bit of flax milk.

photo (49)

There also may have been a few more chocolate chips and some almond butter involved in the evening… But I’m not telling if you aren’t. Haha.

 

What do you use to hydrate during longer runs? I’ve tried carrying a water bottle and it drives me crazy after about… 10 seconds.

 

Do you ever try and make ethic-style dishes? If you have a great recipe, link up!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 9:36 am

    i love apples but i can never eat them close to a run! my tummy does not like that at all.

  2. February 22, 2012 9:54 am

    I made up what I call my “Hispanic Mediterranean Salad.” It’s pretty tasty!

    http://cathaircoffee.com/2010/01/17/beans-they-dont-just-make-you-toot/

  3. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:02 am

    I really want to try those miracle noodles!! And since my longest run has been 4 miles…(4.5 on Saturday!) I don’t really bring water or anything, but my boyfriend got me a Spibelt type thing to wear when I start doing longer runs, so I’m excited to try it out! Hopefully it won’t bother me having something bouncing around my waist while running..

    • February 22, 2012 1:53 pm

      Yea for 4.5 miles!!! I always get nervous and excited when I add distance, I’m sure it will be great!

  4. February 22, 2012 10:05 am

    your morning oats always look delicious! and so does that noodle bowl 🙂

    i’m not very good at making ethnic food – the closest i get is attempting a veggie stir fry with soy sauce, hah. and usually i end up liking TJ’s shrimp fried rice better anyway ; )

    • February 22, 2012 1:53 pm

      Haha yea, I tend to buy pre-packaged when it comes to ethnic food, but I should try some actual recipes!

  5. February 22, 2012 10:08 am

    I don’t make ethnic dishes very often besides stir fry. I got into making a certain indian dish there for a while but since its tomato based and I don’t eat tomatos right now, I haven’t made it in a while.
    Those oats have so much volume! I tried adding egg whites to my oats before and they came out a weird texture…not sure what i did wrong

    • February 22, 2012 1:55 pm

      For these egg white oats I actually beat the egg whites first so that they peak, and then fold them into the almost cooked oats and stir them around a bit. that’s why there’s so much volume.

  6. February 22, 2012 10:22 am

    I love making Asian food at home! I love buying wonton wrappers and making steamed wontons and Sesame chicken! It’s fun making “take-out” food right in your own kitchen 🙂

  7. February 22, 2012 11:02 am

    I started using a Nathan fuel belt during longer runs and love it. It doesn’t bounce around as much as I thought it would and since it only has 2 bottles, it’s not quite as heavy. http://www.nathansports.com/our-products/hydrationnutrition/racespeed-series/trail-mix

    • February 22, 2012 1:57 pm

      I’ll have to check that out! I’ve thought about belts, but I’m afraid it would bother me having it around my waist, even tying a shirt around my waist drives me crazy!

  8. February 22, 2012 11:07 am

    Your smoothie sounds so good, I’m glad you’re enjoying the magic bullet 🙂

    I usually wear a fuel belt when I run. I wear it higher (around my waist) and fasten it really tightly so it doesn’t bounce around too much. I also always plan my long runs so that I run home on the lake shore path so I can refill as needed!

    • February 22, 2012 1:58 pm

      I also run on the lake shore, but most of the water fountains are out of commission right now! I can’t wait until they’re back on during the summer!

      • February 22, 2012 2:17 pm

        I also wear my fuel belt really high (around my natural waist) and make sure it’s tight. It seems to fit nicely there and doesn’t bounce around on my back when I do that. I’m sure I look ridiculous to non-runners but whatever. It makes me feel like a super hero with a utility belt haha

  9. February 22, 2012 1:02 pm

    Mmm, yeah, it sounds like too much fiber in the pre-run snack. I hate it when that happens.

    I wear a Amphipod fuel belt but, like runninginthewindycity said, I wear mine up really high on my waist. I look pretty ridiculous compared to some people but it doesn’t bounce and doesn’t give me a backache. I’ve worn it for all three of my marathons and at least one half marathon (plus a ton of training runs) and it works perfectly.

    I make something called Indonesian Chicken (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/erins-indonesian-chicken/detail.aspx) but I have no idea if it’s authentic.

  10. February 22, 2012 1:40 pm

    I HATE taking water bottles on runs, it’s so hard running with them! Plus when it’s cold, the water bottle freezes my hand, it’s annoying! ha
    That muffin looks delicious! I’m going to have to get that recipe! 🙂

  11. February 22, 2012 1:42 pm

    love all your eats! i really need to try those egg white oats… your’s are always so voluminous and delicious looking!

  12. February 22, 2012 1:46 pm

    question i forgot to ask in my first comment… do you use oat BRAN in your egg white oats like julie’s calls for or do you use regular rolled oats? if you do use oat bran, where do you buy it?

    • February 22, 2012 2:00 pm

      I just use regular oats. I’ve never had oat bran nor am I sure what it actually is… and the chance that it’s not gluten free is pretty high too. Let me know if you figure that out though! Haha I wonder if it would end up completely different. I should look into this…

  13. Anna Lynn permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:01 pm

    I LOVE YOUR TUMBLER! So cute.

    I also hate carrying water bottles and do everything to avoid them. If my run is shorter than…10 miles? and it’s not too hot outside, I just skip the water. Which isn’t the smartest idea. However, I’ve done an “out and back” (5 miles out and 5 miles back the same way) run and brought water along and left it around the 2.5 mark so I only had to carry it for half the run and had the water closer to the end. I’ve heard of people driving out and dropping water along their route prior to the run as well. Staying hydrated is so complicated!

    • February 23, 2012 11:37 am

      Yea I’ve heard of the driving thing too, but that would be pretty difficult on the lakefront in chicago, haha plus no car. I need to move out to the country!

  14. February 23, 2012 12:46 am

    Well done for being so health aware, we live in Dubai and try and eat as healthily as possible too, not too hard here as massive variety of ethnic vegetables and help at home !

    here’s my really easy South Indian chicken recipe, if you can’t get curry leaves, just leave out, but add in any other chopped green herb, let me know if it works,
    from Monica at http://www.doindubai.com
    http://doindubai.com/2012/02/14/south-indian-chicken-in-a-light-yoghurt-and-curry-leaf-gravy/

  15. February 23, 2012 2:22 am

    Oh girl, I bet the combination of the apple + Pure Bar is what did you in on your run! That’s a lot of fiber. Delicious fiber though! (The Chocolate Brownie Pure Bar is one of my favorites!) 🙂

    Your Indian creation dinner looks pretty amazing. What type of chicken meatballs did you use? And what did you think of the Miracle Noodles? I tried them last week and found them to be a bit…strange? I’ve had Shirataki noodles a number of times, but the Miracle version seemed even more rubbery. Haha

    • February 23, 2012 11:39 am

      Haha yea, too much fiber. But that bar was so good! And I actually don’t know the brand, I bought them at whole foods but I put them in tupperware to store and threw away the container! And the miracles noodles are a bit odd, haha but they are best with a creamy sauce rather than a tomato sauce.

  16. March 7, 2012 11:40 pm

    Hi Katie! I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks–its so great!
    I was wondering what you think of your Camelbak. I’m training for a marathon as use a Nathan belt that has a water bottle–but I find it to be SUPER annoying. Anyway good luck with training 🙂

    • March 8, 2012 11:35 am

      Thank you for reading, Sarah! I’ve only used the camel bak once, but it didn’t bother me a bit during my 13 mile run. My cousin, who has run several marathons, recommended it to me because she loved it for her long runs while training. I think it’s better than a belt because it doesn’t bounce around, plus mine has pockets where I can put extra things that I might need, or in case of emergency!

Leave a Reply

