Skip to content

No Such Thing As Failure

February 17, 2012

So I’ve been feeling a bit lost. Lost, with my strength training, that is.

I realized that since I decided the New Rules of Lifting For Women wasn’t for me, I haven’t had the same gusto that I used to for strength training. Before NROLFW, I had a routine with my strength training and I loved it! But for some reason I just can’t get back into it. I feel like I need a little more guidance, but I don’t want to go back to NROLFW because I had a hard time working that in with my running. It was difficult to avoid doing hard leg workouts before speed work or a long run because legs were in both workouts.

So what to do? This week I did less strength and a lot more cardio than usual, and I didn’t like it. I love the feeling that weight lifting gives me – I feel stronger and better about myself! I love pumping iron! One day I did Ashley’s For the Love of Pushups workout and absolutely loved it! I had some serious DOMS the next day! I also did some quick leg work after my speed workout run on Wednesday, and then an upper body workout with machines on Thursday morning (long run Friday – no leg weights before!).

Doing Ashley’s workout made me realize I am much more challenged when I try other people’s workouts, rather than just doing what I’m comfortable with. Yesterday I discussed how I hold myself back because I’m afraid of failing, and I think I’ve been doing that with weights too! I don’t do other people’s routines because  I’m afraid it will be too hard and I’ll feel bad about myself, so I just don’t try. Truth

Well I tried Ashely’s workout, and you know what? I FAILED. Haha not really, because I tried. But I could not finish all those pushups! I just couldn’t do it! And I realized it’s okay, it’s something to work towards.

I’ve been hearing a lot about Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp on her site, Best Body Fitness. If you haven’t read Tina’s blog, you really should! She has great workouts as well as really inspirational posts. She’s clearly a person who really cares about her readers and her clients and always wants to help! She is starting a program called the Best Body Bootcamp, which is 8 weeks of her workouts and advice. And guess what? I think I’m going to sign up! It is $25, but I figured $25 for 8 weeks of workouts, support, and AMAZING PRIZES is totally worth it!

bootcamp_large

(source)

Check it out, and let me know what you think! Is anyone else participating? It’s not just for bloggers, it’s for anyone who wants to participate! Tina also has more personalized one-on-one plans if you’re interested as well.

I also have an amazing new (and so simple!) snack to share with you all! Haha it’s soooo simple that I’m not even considering it a recipe!

I took 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt, added 1 packet of stevia and about 1/2 tsp vanilla and mixed it up. Then I topped it with pieces of grapefruit.

photo (34)

Now, you’re probably thinking: “Awesome Katie… way to get creative.” (that included serious amounts of sarcasm). But I’m serious! This was SO GOOD! No crazy ingredients, not a long list of things to mix in or steps, it was simple and perfect. I literally savored every bite and probably said “Mmm” out loud several times. I credit this to the Trader Joe’s checkout guy who suggested putting vanilla in my plain Greek yogurt (I was buying both at the same time). That man is a genius. One more reason to love Trader Joe’s!

And with that, I am off! I have a meeting at 10:00am, then I need to find time to do my long run OUTSIDE!!! (it’s supposed to be 47 degrees this afternoon!). And then I get to see my little brother who is coming in town for the weekend!!!

Monday, January 21, 2002 (Image #4) DSC00758

Wasn’t he a cutie? Wish he stayed that small… And yes, I chose the second picture because I appear taller than him (completely false). Have a great Friday everyone!

 

Would you sign up for a boot camp program like Tina’s?

 

What’s your simplest, yet most delicious, recipe?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 8:32 am

    Brownie batter yogurt: plain greek yogurt, cocoa powder, sweetener, almond meal. OMG.

  2. February 17, 2012 8:46 am

    I love adding “baked apples” to greek yogurt. Just chop up an apple, top with cinnamon, and microwave for a minute and a half. It’s so good mixed in with the yogurt, almost like apple crisp 😛

    I also give you so much credit for weight training and training for a race. I always have the hardest time trying to comine the two. Go you!

    • February 17, 2012 9:30 am

      Oooo I used to make baked apples all the time, but I never mixed them in yogurt. I need to bring it back!

  3. February 17, 2012 9:25 am

    Some times the simpler meals are the best! I have to admit I am thinking about getting a one to one programme done for me and I would definitely go to Tina. My issue with one’s in books is that my gym has limited equipment so I would love to be able to explain to someone what I do have available and for them to come up with something based on that. Maybe in a couple of months I’ll give it ago. Oh and you are so right, no such thing as failure at all!

  4. February 17, 2012 10:09 am

    That yogurt creation looks delicious, I LOVE grapefruit! I love mixing plain greek yogurt + stevia + cinnamon and dipping apple/pear slices in it..amazing! I have been contemplating signing up for Tina’s plan too, I just can’t decide if it would be too much with me just getting into running now!

    • February 17, 2012 10:47 am

      I sent her an e-mail asking about incorporating my half marathon training with the program and she didn’t seem to think it would be an issue, she said she can work with other things you’re doing.

  5. February 17, 2012 11:08 am

    I love my cottage cheese… add a little vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, and a packet of truvia. So simple yet delicious!

  6. February 17, 2012 11:50 am

    That snack looks awesome! YUMMY! I love Greek yogurt with Go Lean crunch in it–so tasty and satisfying!

  7. February 17, 2012 12:42 pm

    I always buy plain yogurt and add in vanilla extract! You end up with a lot less grams of sugar. I love yogurt bowls with fruit, cereal and nuts! So easy and delicious!

    • February 17, 2012 1:03 pm

      I always buy a big tub of plain greek yogurt, I really don’t like how much sugar there is in flavored yogurt! I had a black cherry Chobani because I was dying to try the flavor, but it had 21g of sugar! That’s insane.

  8. February 17, 2012 1:35 pm

    Cucumber and tomato salad. Five ingredients in five minutes. Tomatoes, cucumber, garlic, olive oil, and red onion. It’s my go-to side!

  9. February 17, 2012 2:46 pm

    Love the photos Kate, you all are just adorable! Of course I am biased.

  10. February 17, 2012 2:59 pm

    I was just talking to my man-friend about how I often get myself excited about something and then get afraid of actually TRYING it. It’s so weird! I need to just believe that things will work out!

    • February 17, 2012 5:29 pm

      Exactly, you just need to remember that if you try and fail, it’s okay, just try again!

  11. February 17, 2012 5:57 pm

    I would love to try a bootcamp! Mixing things up like that is always so much fun. While I love lifting, crossfit or bootcamp would be really fun to do.

  12. February 17, 2012 7:26 pm

    I agree – I always end up doing a much more challenging workout when I do something designed by someone other than me. Even when I have the best intentions of pushing myself, I almost always stay more in a “comfortable” zone than I would with something different and new to me!

  13. February 18, 2012 1:56 am

    Katie, I completely understand your fear of trying new workouts; I’m exactly the same way! It usually takes a long time for me to build up the nerve to venture outside of my comfort zone, but like you, I’m usually SO glad that I did. Tina’s bootcamp sounds wonderful. I’m considering joining as well, but I’m not sure how I could incorporate it into my current Live Fit Trainer routine.

    My best simple recipe: 1/2 cup cottage cheese + stevia + vanilla blended in the VitaMix until “pudding”, then topped with peanut butter (and sometimes chocolate chips). It’s SO SO SO good.

    • February 18, 2012 11:06 am

      I’m glad to know I’m not the only one! And I’ve never blended cottage cheese, I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

