Skip to content

Cookies, Omelets, and Nails, Oh My!

February 13, 2012

Aaaaand it’s Monday again. I try and stay positive on Mondays, but you all know from my What I Ate Wednesday last week that Mondays are a pretty long day for me. Even longer since I have a bake Sale to work at! I’m a part of the Environmental Law Society at my school and we are having a Valentine’s Day Bake Sale to raise money for our fellowship. I volunteered to sit at the table for an hour, as well as to bring some food!

I ended up making Katie’s Snickerdoodle cookies, using Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mix. I didn’t, however, have any butter or earth balance, so I used applesauce instead. They turned out pretty good, a little gummier than regular cookies, which is probably due to being both gluten free and the applesauce.

photo (14)

So yesterday morning I headed off to my Bikram class, and by the time I was done I was HUNGRY! I met a friend of mine at Tempo, a local diner restaurant near the Gold Coast area in Chicago. I’d heard about it from Kathleen and wanted to check it out!

I knew I wanted an omelet but had a very hard time choosing – they have a huge selection! I went with the veggie omelet, which had onion, tomato, mushrooms and spinach. I ordered it egg-whites only and cooked dry instead of with butter or oil. I’ve realized that when restaurants cook my omelets in oil or butter, it really upsets my stomach afterwards!

photo (7)

Isn’t that massive looking! They cook the omelet in one pan, and some hash browns in another, and then flip the omelet over into the pan with the hash browns! It was absolutely delicious, and since it was egg whites only (and I was pretty hungry) I managed to make a serious dent!

photo (5)

Sorry about the blurry photo… my iPhone was literally at 1% battery life and I wanted to get the picture before it died on me!

I’d definitely go back to Tempo. They were really fast (we got our food about 7 minutes after ordering…) and there were TONS of people waiting outside, but the wait really wasn’t long! The only gripe I had was that they are cash-only, so I had to use their ATM and get charged an ATM fee since I rarely carry cash on me.

Remember how I told you about Birchbox? Well, this past week I got both my replacement January box as well as my February box! One of the items in the January box was nail polish, so I tried it out!

photo (13)

I’m not sure how I feel about the color though… It’s like cement/lavender. Oh, and some of you may remember when I got my nails painted with my Mom for New Years and I said I NEVER paint my nails? Well, if you’re super observant, you’ll notice my nails have been painted various colors since then… I guess it’s phases I go through? Hmm… Well right now it’s fun colors phase!

 

Do you like to paint your nails? Do you do funky colors, or keep it traditional?

What is your favorite kind of cookie? Have you ever tried making GF cookies?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 8:30 am

    I usually go with pinks or other traditional nail polish colors but I love when other girls go with bold colors, I just don’t think I can pull it off.

    Also, that omelet looks amazing, I may have to check out Tempo 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 9:59 am

      Trust me, you can! Haha I only wore nude and now I’m going crazy with colors! I realized that people don’t pay attention to my nails as much as I thought they would…

  2. February 13, 2012 8:33 am

    I rarely paint my fingernails…they chip so easily, but I always have my toenails painted funky colors! I really like that polish on you…very different!

  3. February 13, 2012 9:19 am

    That omelet looks delish!

  4. February 13, 2012 10:33 am

    I love to paint my nails! In the sumer I keep it simple with pinks/reds/corals but in the winter I get a little wild with the colors! My favorite cookies are peanut butter!

    • February 13, 2012 11:04 am

      peanut butter cookies were my favorite when I was little, I made them all the time with my mom and brother, but I haven’t had one in ages!

  5. February 13, 2012 10:48 am

    That omelette looks immense! I always pain my toe nails but rarely my fingers as I hate them when they get chipped which they always do. I love classic reds in the winter and pink and coral in the summer 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 11:06 am

      I love coral! Haha and I realized it looks so big because they don’t fold it in half, it’s just spread out in one layer!

  6. February 13, 2012 12:55 pm

    I have been painting my nails lately to keep me from chewing them. I like that color!

    That skillet looks so good!

  7. February 13, 2012 12:56 pm

    That omelet looks so so good – I want one!

  8. February 13, 2012 1:58 pm

    My first attempt at Gluten Free cookies totally failed. They turned out flat and with no flavor. Def need to try again.

    • February 13, 2012 3:05 pm

      Haha sounds pretty bad. I think it takes a lot of trial and error, or just a really great mix… haha

  9. February 13, 2012 2:38 pm

    i rarely ever paint my nails either, but every once in awhile i’ll get in a phase where i paint them more. i really like that color you used though! it’s neutral, unique, and not TOO bold.

  10. February 13, 2012 2:46 pm

    I love the color! I work at a restaurant and we are not allowed to do too funky of colors, more basic. So when I have the desire to paint my nails (which doesn’t happen often) I like to go more with grays or light colors, nothing too drastic. This one is really cute!
    Those cookies look delicious by the way! I have never tried GF cookies, but I’ve always wanted to!

    • February 13, 2012 3:06 pm

      most GF cookies taste just the same, especially if you buy good ones! Making them takes some trial and error though!

  11. February 13, 2012 2:51 pm

    I couldn’t remember the last time I painted my nails…until yesterday. Yesterday my friend Kim (ilaxstudio.com/blog) painted them for me. I keep getting shocked when I look down at my hands. I’m not used to seeing color there! I like the color you used, though.

    • February 13, 2012 3:07 pm

      Haha I know what you mean! I painted mine Navy and it was so weird for a day or two! Then I just got used to it!

  12. February 13, 2012 4:01 pm

    I actually really love that color! It’s way cute!

    I do my nails every so often–bright PINK for me 🙂

  13. February 13, 2012 4:09 pm

    Wow, that omelet is crazy!

    I NEVER paint my fingernails – I can’t stand how it feels. But my toes, on the other hand, are never without polish from March through October. I try to give them a break in the winter since no one sees them anyway 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 5:01 pm

      Haha, that’s very true about no one seeing them in the winter! I usually paint my toes once a month, it seems to stay just fine!

  14. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo permalink
    February 13, 2012 9:23 pm

    That omelet looks DELICIOUS and I really like the color of your nails! I usually either go extremely neutral (like the color you have now) or extremely loud (hot pink) on my nails, depending on my mood 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 10:17 pm

      I’m the same, I either a pale color, or a really dark color like navy or dark purple!

  15. February 13, 2012 10:24 pm

    I’m in a definite nail polish phase 🙂 I love the lavender color! And, snickerdoodles are a perfect bake sale cookie. Even though it makes Mondays longer, I love the thought of a little extra something sweet in an otherwise blah day!

    • February 14, 2012 7:33 am

      you were right about something sweet in a blah day – it actually made the day go by faster!

  16. February 13, 2012 11:06 pm

    I love the color! I always stick to traditional colors for some reason. I wish I could just go for the trendy colors because I love them on other people.

    • February 14, 2012 7:34 am

      Just go for it! Trust me! I never wore colors and then one day I did, and realized that no one really pays that much attention anyway!

  17. February 15, 2012 4:00 pm

    Oh Tempo looks so good! I knew it looked familiar and walking to the train last night after work I saw it is only a few blocks away. I totally have to go there, that omelet looks delicious!

    I usually go for darker colors on my nails, but am pretty open to trying out new colors. I like the grey color. I haven’t tried it myself, but plenty of people have been walking out of the spa with it on their nails

Leave a Reply

