Skip to content

3 Mile HIIT Run

February 10, 2012

Happy Friday Everyone!!!

I hope you all survived the week and are looking forward to a great weekend! School is picking up for me, so I’m hoping to have a PRODUCTIVE weekend. I’m one of those freaks who likes to do as much schoolwork as possible on the weekend so that my weekdays and evenings are not stressful. I know, I’m fun.

One thing I do have to do this weekend is run 12 miles! That’s another Personal Distance Record for me! Unfortunately, I might have to do it on the treadmill again… I was REALLY hoping to take this run outside, however, I ran 3 miles on Sunday outside and it was so cold. I forgot how much the cold affects my run: my fingers literally went completely numb, my face was wind burnt and I had to really push to move my cold legs to just 9 min/mile… And that was just a 3 mile run…

I looked up the weather for this weekend and here’s what I saw:

Capture

Um, yea… HIGH of 24. Looks like the treadmill and I are going to be BFFs…

 

On to less depressing things…

I had 3 miles on the agenda this past Tuesday, and to make it go by faster (figuratively and literally!) I turned it into an HIIT run. For those of you new to HIIT, it means High Intensity Interval Training and is best for blasting fat and getting your heart rate up!

The key is to alternate back and forth between high intensity and a lower, or recovery, intensity. Some suggest doing a 2:1 ratio of recovery to high intensity, however I get too bored! Haha so I use a 1:1 ratio and slowly up the intensity.

For this run I kept my incline at 0.5 and I also walked at a 4.0 for about 3 minutes to warm up my legs a bit (they were pretty sore…).

3 Mile HIIT Run

Distance

Speed

0.00 – 0.25

6.0

0.25 – 0.50

6.5

0.50 – 0.75

6.7

0.75 – 1.00

7.0

1.00 – 1.25

6.7

1.25 – 1.50

7.5

1.50 – 1.75

6.7

1.75 – 2.00

8.0

2.00 – 2.25

6.7

2.25 – 2.50

8.0

2.50 – 2.75

6.7

2.75 – 3.00

8.5 – 9.0

 

For that last quarter mile, I ran half of it at 8.5 and then the rest at 9.0 because I really wanted to sprint out the last bit! By the last mile my heart was really pounding when I switched down to low intensity and just wanted to walk! But I knew I was almost done and kept pushing. It was a great run!

For recovery food, I made a really interesting new lunch using cauliflower as “rice.”

Cauliflower “Rice”

Ingredients:

1/4 head cauliflower

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

1-2 large handful(s) kale

2 Turkey muffins (or any protein of choice!)

Balsamic Vinegar (or other sauce of choice!)

Directions:

Chop up cauliflower and place in food processor. Pulse until cauliflower is size of rice granules. Microwave for about 1 minute.

photo (20)

Steam kale and mushrooms (can also easily cook on a skillet on the stove) and place on top of rice. Heat up protein source (I broke up my muffins and microwaved them) and add to top. Add sauce of choice! You can also mix it all together on a skillet. I was just so hungry that I couldn’t wait!

photo

What I love about this dish is how many ways you can make it! You could add an egg and cook it on a skillet to turn it into fried “rice”, you could use soy sauce to make it Asian inspired, you could use a creamy sauce to make it almost like a risotto (okay, almost), and you can change up the veggies and the protein source! This cauliflower “rice” is a great base for any dish!

 

How do you feel about running in sub-freezing temperatures?

Have you ever used veggies to replace carbs? (like my zucchini pasta!)

I also really want to try making a cauliflower pizza crust!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 9:41 am

    Spaghetti squash and definitely have plans to try cauliflower pizza dough and zucchini/squash ribbon pasta.

    • February 10, 2012 9:42 am

      Oh and I’m not a fan of cold-weather running. I’ve tried it, but never find myself enjoying it. Keep up the running! You’re a beast!

      • February 10, 2012 9:57 am

        Haha, I keep fantasizing that I’ll like cold weather running, but it just never happens! and Thanks!

  2. February 10, 2012 10:05 am

    I want try making cauliflower crust too! I don’t mind running in the cold because I did it for so many years growing up on the east coast. Out here in San Francisco, cold is all relative and certainly not as bad as back east.

    • February 10, 2012 11:43 am

      This is my second year in Chicago, I started my running in Charleston SC and didn’t run during the winter here last year… so this is my first cold weather running experience and I’m not a fan! And I hope you like San Fran, one of my best friends moved there a year and a half ago!

  3. February 10, 2012 10:41 am

    I think I did all my runs outside last winter. There’s a saying that goes: there is no bad weather, only bad gear. I got quite good at layering up! Needless to say, I prefer to run outside regardless of the temps. The more you do it, the more you get used to it!

    I tried to make mashed cauliflower once (to replace mashed potatoes). It didn’t turn out too well. Maybe the cauliflower “rice” would work better!

    • February 10, 2012 11:50 am

      I keep trying but I always get a sinus headache and my fingers go numb after 2 miles despite cold weather running gloves! I guess I just have to keep trying! I’ve never tried cauliflower mash, but I’ve heard of it!

  4. February 10, 2012 10:41 am

    looks like a great 3 mile run!!

    i still need to try the cauliflower rice – i think i’d really like it. i use spaghetti squash all the time, and i love it. i love eating A LOT of food, which i feel like i can do with a vegetable base like cauliflower rice and spaghetti squash without feeling guilty. plus i get in lots of veggies! 🙂 oh, and you’ll love the cauliflower pizza!! i’m a fan!

    • February 10, 2012 11:51 am

      Ah this is making me want spaghetti squash! And cauliflower pizza! I just need to get some mozzarella cheese for it, most shredded cheese is not gluten free but I found a brand at Whole Foods that is, I just need to go back and get some!

  5. February 10, 2012 10:55 am

    I like the cauliflower pizza crust idea, but I haven’t perfected it yet!

    • February 10, 2012 11:52 am

      I’ve seen so many recipes, I’ve got to give it a try! Haha, i’m sure it’s tricky though!

  6. February 10, 2012 1:47 pm

    I absolutely hate running when it’s extremely cold! If affects my running so much and then I start to get down on myself.. totally a mental thing. I love spaghetti squash!

  7. February 10, 2012 2:06 pm

    I usually tough out cold temperatures, I just make sure to layer up. What gets me is a lot of snow or ice, I don’t like running when its slippery!

    I love the idea of the cauliflower rice, so cool! I really want to make vegan cauliflower mac’n cheese sometime, I heard thats supposed to be really good.

    Happy weekend!

    • February 10, 2012 2:08 pm

      Haha, it’s actually snowing like crazy now, so I don’t know if running outside would even be an option tomorrow! Ooo I’ve never heard of cauliflower mac n cheese!

  8. February 10, 2012 2:52 pm

    I haaaate running in the cold .I just don’t like it. And if it’s not fun, I’m not gonna do it! I ran on the dreadmill today and it wasn’t too bad, because I did intervals with my friend. Having running buddy totally helps!

    • February 10, 2012 6:18 pm

      Haha good to know I’m not being irrational! I figure, I run because I enjoy it and if I hate running outside in the cold, then why do it?

  9. February 10, 2012 3:23 pm

    WAY to go on pushing it at the last bit–even when it was hard 🙂

    I do NOT run in freezing cold temps. I just let the treadmill do the rest….so sorry! best to you for those 12 miles (if it makes you feel ANY better, I trained for a marathon on a treadmill. Don’t do that. Ever)

    • February 10, 2012 6:18 pm

      Oh gosh, I think 12 is going to be my max. Okay, well I’m praying 12 is going to be my max!

  10. February 10, 2012 8:40 pm

    I’m a totally wuss about running in the cold, wind, or anything of the sort. As in, it pretty much has to be perfect conditions. I know that’s really bad, but I haven’t really run outside in such long time..my blood has become really thin when it comes to running conditions.

    • February 10, 2012 8:51 pm

      Haha I can handle like above 40, but the HIGH tomorrow is 27 with winds up to 21mph. No thank you.

  11. February 10, 2012 8:43 pm

    My rule for running outside is above 20 degrees. If it is above that, then I bundle up and head out. Below that, I figure something else out. I cannot run on the treadmill longer than 5 miles without wanting to poke my eyes out with sharp objects. Today was a chilly 15 miler because of the wind, but I just kept plugging away.

    • February 10, 2012 8:52 pm

      Good job on your run!!! Haha my rule is it has to be above freezing if I’m out there for more than like 4 miles. My fingers go completely numb (I have raynauds) so it’s just painful…

  12. February 10, 2012 9:02 pm

    I’m with you on being productive on the weekend so that weekday evenings aren’t so busy and stressful! There’s only so much I can do after a long day of work/class, so I like to get as much as I can done on the weekend when I feel like I have all the time in the world.

Leave a Reply

