Skip to content

NROLFW–Stage 2 Recap

February 7, 2012

Hey, hey, hey!!!

So I mentioned to you all that I would be doing the New Rules of Lifting For Women plan. I ended up skipping over Stage 1, at first on accident and then I decided it would be best for me. So I started with Stage 2!

One thing I liked about the program is that it gives you sheets to fill out for each of your workouts. One thing I never did before was record what weights I was using with certain exercises. Because of that, I never went up in my weights. These sheets were a great way for me to keep track and to make note when I thought I should go up in weight.

Workout A:

photo (5)

Workout B:

photo (4)

Another thing I’ve enjoyed about NROLFW is that it gives me a structured weight lifting plan, and it introduces me to new types of exercises that I would not have done before.

In stage 1, I did 2 sets of 10 reps each. I enjoyed the 2 sets because it got me out of the gym a little bit faster! Although each day still took about 45-50 minutes, not including any cardio I did along with the plan.

I started Stage 3 of the plan yesterday morning. Before each stage, I write the exercises on my sheet along with the reps and sets, and if I don’t think I’ll remember what the exercise means, I draw some stick figure pictures at the top.

Stage 3 has 3 sets of 6 reps each (I’m guess this means upping the weight!) and then Workout A has a body weight matrix which includes squats, lunges, jumping lunges and jumping squats. Those kicked my butt!

photo (6)

So overall, here are my pros and cons:

Pros:

  • I do feel a little stronger, granted I was doing very little strength over winter break
  • Sheets to record weights
  • New moves

Cons:

  • I don’t like all the moves and don’t know if I’m doing them correctly
  • Hard to work into my running schedule (ex: don’t want to do leg weights the day before a long run)
  • I don’t get to be creative (I love making up my own routines!)
  • Set schedule is a little boring and repetitive

Haha, can you tell there are more cons than pros?

Although I technically already started Stage 3 yesterday, I think I’m going to take a break from NROLFW. I don’t know if this kind of plan is really for me. Mostly because I was dreading starting a new stage and doing this workout yesterday morning. I might mix in every once in a while, like do my own weights for a week or two and then do Stage 3.

I’ve also been wanting to do some of the lifting or kickboxing classes at my gym, but it’s really hard to work those in with the plan. I just think I prefer to have a more lose and creative approach to my strength training, so for now NROLFW is on hold!

I guess I just don’t fit into a book:

against-the-crowd-310x295

(source)

So here’s my revised workout schedule for the week:

Sunday – Bikram, 3 mile run (missed it on Sat…)

Monday – Stage 3, workout A + 10 min elliptical warm up

Tuesday – 3 mile run, strength training

Wednesday – 6 mile tempo run

Thursday – 3 mile run, strength training

Friday – Rest Day

Saturday – 12 mile run (will be another PDR after my 11 mile run!)

 

Do you follow workout plans, or make it up as you go?

 

Are you stubborn about finishing what you started?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 9:18 am

    I’m not good at super strict plans either. That’s why I never do any of Jillian’s plans for “30 days” or P90x for… 90 days.

    I like to switch it up! Otherwise I get bored and want to quit!

  2. February 7, 2012 9:20 am

    Have you tried YouTube-ing some of the moves to check on form? that might help!

    • February 7, 2012 11:20 am

      I should do that! The book tells you how to do it, but I think a video would be a lot more helpful!

  3. February 7, 2012 9:56 am

    I like finishing what I started but i find if I get bored with work outs it makes me dread doing them and I would rather be excited about working out!

  4. February 7, 2012 10:44 am

    I never follow workout plans- i know i will just end up right back on my beloved treadmill. haha.

    • February 7, 2012 11:21 am

      Haha, well you should try and mix it up from the treadmill, strength training is really important for your health! I started by doing about 10 – 15 minutes of weights at the end of a workout!

  5. February 7, 2012 11:04 am

    I find it incredibly difficult to do intense strength training before long runs. That’s usually why I opt for Pilates between my usual runs. I suppose I make up my own routines, but they are always a mix of others I’ve tried.

    • February 7, 2012 11:21 am

      I’ve actually never tried pilates! You have to pay for it at my gym, but maybe I could try a video!

  6. February 7, 2012 11:08 am

    When I started the LiveFit trainer I was dead set on finishing the whole thing, but when I got to the last phase I realized there really wasn’t a reason for me to be so strict with carb cycling and crazy plyo workouts, so I stopped and didn’t feel bad about it! You have to do what feels right for your body.

  7. February 7, 2012 11:50 am

    I’m really stubborn when it comes to training plans for races. I guess the fear of me not finishing or bonking gets me in gear. When it comes to lifting, I always start out really excited but then my enthusiasm wanes and I lose interest entirely. I’m hoping this means that I just haven’t found the right plan for me and not that I’m destined to fail at every weight lifting plan I try 😛

    • February 7, 2012 2:21 pm

      Maybe a plan just isn’t for you? I used to workout with a trainer and loved that because they’d change things up constantly!

  8. February 7, 2012 12:31 pm

    I definitely like to make up my own routines… I get bored rather quickly!

  9. February 7, 2012 1:33 pm

    You should try NROL for Abs next. I loved both, but liked Abs better. It’s not an abs workout either – just another New Rules book, but more updated.

  10. February 7, 2012 1:46 pm

    bummer, sorry you didn’t like it as much as you’d hoped girl! oh well though, it’s not for everyone! as long as you’re finding something that you LOVE and that works for you is what truly counts.

  11. February 7, 2012 4:18 pm

    Hi! I saw your “plug” in Healthy Tipping Point’s “plug your blog” post. I was doing NROLW last year but, similar to you, found it hard to fit in among my running (marathon training). Also, I’ve got a hip injury so some of the moves aggravated my hip pain. I think that’s another con: no modifications listed if a move isn’t a good idea for you. But, I really do love strength training and it was a good way to get some new ideas!

    • February 7, 2012 7:24 pm

      Actually that happened to me too, some of the moves aggravated some pain I was having and I had to either suck it up, or make up a move to fit in! And I’m glad you found my blog! Thanks for checking it out!

  12. February 7, 2012 5:24 pm

    I love starting AND finishing things, but if it doesn’t feel right, then I don’t go with it.

    I would youtube the moves and see if that helps–and totally go with HOW you feel. If you don’t like a workout, you won’t stick to it, and you’ll end up being frustrated. Find what makes YOU excited and go with that 🙂

    Yah for long runs on the weekends-you go girl!

  13. February 7, 2012 7:10 pm

    I like to finish what I started when it comes to things like reading books, but with workouts if I don’t like it I try to switch it up. It’s hard enough to get to the gym without adding on that I’ll be doing something I don’t enjoy when I get there!

  14. February 7, 2012 9:12 pm

    I follow a general workout plan, but am quick to make adjustments as needed. Oh, and I LOVE that strong feeling when I actually convince myself to do strength training.

  15. February 8, 2012 12:01 pm

    I just started NROLFW as of last Saturday! I like it so far, and I too love that it gives me some structured lifting! I think it’s awesome that I’ll have that whole book of exercises to use for motivation in the years ahead.

    • February 8, 2012 12:21 pm

      It is a great program, I have a feeling I’ll keep going back to it, especially after my half marathon.

Leave a Reply

