Skip to content

Chipotle Re-Make

February 4, 2012

Happy Saturday! I hope you all are having a great weekend so far!

So, you all know that I LOVE SUGAR.

photo (2)        

However, I know that sugar has a bad affect on my digestive system, so I’m trying to cut out of my diet (along with the gluten, soy and pasteurized milk I’ve already cut out). However, what I didn’t realize is that sugar isn’t just at odds with my digestive system, it’s actually not good for anyone’s! And apparently, not just due to its empty calories and ability to cause obesity and type 2 diabetes.

I’d heard some things here and there about a debate around sugar being regulated, just like alcohol and tobacco, so I looked on my trusty Huffington Post, and sure enough there was an article: Toxic Sugar, Should We Regulate It Like Alcohol?

The article discusses a paper recently published in the journal Nature in which the scientists argue that all forms of sugar can be as dangerous as alcohol, with evidence that the way our bodies digest sugar is harmful to our health. One of the authors even has a lecture which has gone viral on YouTube, discussing how sugar is bad for health. It’s amazing that a video that’s almost an hour and a half long has gone viral! Let alone one about endrocrinology! Haha, yea science!

And I digress… In the paper, the scientists argue for implementing strategies such as “sugar taxes, placing age limits on food purchases and limiting advertising of sugar-sweetened foods.” I definitely want to watch this video if I get a chance, maybe it will help me with keeping sugar out of my diet! And we all know I can use all the help I can get…

 

Now, on to less serious things. Like Chipotle! Or perhaps, more serious?

So yesterday I was really craving a Mexican-style salad from Chipotle. I 100% blame Chelsey for this one. She mentioned Chipotle her blog and could not get it out of my head! I got on their website and took a look at what I would want to order (I could not stop thinking about it…) and then after figuring out what I would get, I realized that I could make the exact same thing myself!

I started out with some Romaine lettuce and chopped it up really well (that’s one thing I love about their lettuce, small pieces!) and then on top I added 1/2 cup of black beans, some roasted yellow cherry tomatoes, mushrooms and onions that I had roasted that morning, and then 2 heaping T of Trader Joe’s mild salsa, and 1 T of a new salsa that I found there today:

photo (3)

Avocado Salsa verde! I figured it was close enough to the guacamole I would have ordered at Chipotle. Here’s the salad all pretty:

photo (1)

And here’s the salad how I actually ate it, all mixed up!

photo (2)

It totally hit the spot! I had it with one of my Cinnamon Swirl Protein bars as well as a small mug of blueberries with Flax milk and a bit of cinnamon. Had to have some sweet too!

 

Do you ever re-create your favorite things from restaurants or fast food places?

What do you think about regulation of sugar? Do you notice sugar causing you problems like lack of energy or stomach bloating?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 10:02 am

    I definitely notice feeling more lethargic and bloated when I eat a lot of sugar over time. It’s never an instantaneous feeling but if my diet gets a little sugar-heavy, I do start to feel gross!

    Hah your Chipotle remake looks just like their salad!! Awesome job 🙂

  2. February 4, 2012 10:50 am

    i LOVE sugar and i LOVE chipotle too! 😉 that article on the huffington post sounds very interesting. i’d love to watch the video some time as well. i love sugar too much to give it up completely, but i do try to watch how much i have since i know it’s not good for me. your chipotle re-creation looks delicious! it’s making me crave it now too…

    • February 4, 2012 10:54 am

      Haha it was so good I actually just re-created it for breakfast… I figured I could get my veggies in early today!

  3. February 4, 2012 11:46 am

    I wish we had Chipotle where I live in Canada! I’m always so jealous of you guys. Canada doesn’t really have as many burrito places! Just crappy Taco Bell! I love that Chipotle actually uses fresh ingredients!

    • February 4, 2012 12:09 pm

      um yea, taco bell and Chipotle are incredibly different. Taco bell is like the Mexican equivalent of McDonalds! I’m surprised you all don’t have something similar to a Chipotle!

  4. February 4, 2012 12:03 pm

    I heard interviews with several nutritionists on NPR about that article yesterday! It was very interesting and although I think it would be a good idea to regulate sugar, I think that it would be pretty impossible, unlike alcohol. Sugar is everywhere!

    And I hear you on sugar messing with your digestive tract. No fun!

  5. February 4, 2012 12:08 pm

    I looove getting salads at Chipotle, but they are just as easy to make at home. The only thing I need to figure out is their chicken marinade… MMM

  6. February 4, 2012 12:09 pm

    This post is very timely for the race I just ran this morning- The Krispy Kreme Challenge! I just posted a recap, but basically you eat a dozen doughnuts in the middle of running 5 miles!

    I definitely agree that eating too much sugar makes me feel lethargic and just gross in general. Also, I’ve been eating a salad all week with avocado, black beans, salsa, and red pepper hummus – SO good!

  7. February 4, 2012 3:37 pm

    That salad looks AWESOME.

    I think sugar should be taxed. And so should crap lik ejunk food, fast food, and soda. HIGH taxes on it all. The end.

  8. February 4, 2012 3:49 pm

    That looks good! I was just thinking about how I could go for some more Chipotle!

  9. February 4, 2012 4:38 pm

    I seriously LOVE Chipotle! Your homemade version looks pretty tasty. That Avocado Salsa Verge is good stuff.
    I just recreated a restaurant Mexican breakfast burrito this morning and it was delicious, maybe even better than the original one from the restaurant!

  10. February 4, 2012 6:10 pm

    Would you believe I’ve never had Chipotle?? I can hardly believe it. I just looked at their website and SO want to try it now.

    That article was interesting! I’d love to see the public’s reaction to a sugar tax 🙂

    • February 5, 2012 8:14 am

      That’s crazy, it’s so good! I’d suggest the burrito bowl, it’s by far my favorite!

  11. February 5, 2012 2:07 am

    Mmm I love TJ’s avocado salsa verde! It’s been waaay too long since I’ve had a jar in my fridge though; that needs to change!

    I think a sugar tax would definitely make the public more aware of its consumption, however such a law would be far too complicated to implement. Sugar is found in SO many products, and in so many forms. Often a touch is added to foods like pasta sauce, to balance the acidic flavor. Would this also be taxed? So much to think about! I’m going to go read the article now (maybe it answers some of these questions)!

    I’m still a fan of the moderation mantra…even when it comes to sugar. 🙂 Life is too short to deny ourselves of things we enjoy! Occasionally, a little sugar is a-okay.

    • February 5, 2012 8:15 am

      I agree, there’s sugar in everything! I wonder how they are proposing to go about regulating it!?

  12. February 5, 2012 3:11 am

    I think sugar pretty much is a drug but because when you think about it its in fruit and other natural foods I think there’s not a lot you can do but avoid the processed sugars – they could tax and restrict those I think!

    • February 5, 2012 8:16 am

      I definitely think it’s all about avoiding that processed stuff, the article talks about how natural sugars are easier to digest because of the fiber that’s also in fruit, but it’s that processed stuff that wreaks havoc on us!

  13. February 6, 2012 12:17 pm

    I definitely remake some of my favorite restaurant meals, and I usually try to lighten them up while I’m at it! Last week I remade a Tlayuda that I had at Adobo grill and it turned out awesome. That salad you made looks super yummy!

Leave a Reply

