Skip to content

February Goals!

February 2, 2012

Ahhh, can you believe January is over!?! I feel like it was just New Years and I was in North Carolina with Amy Lee!!! Well, a new month means a new beginning! Okay, not really, but I love taking the beginning of each month to just stop and look at my life and re-evaluate a few things, even just little simple things!

Before we get to goals, I want to announce the winner of the SpaWeek $50 gift card giveaway, courtesy of Trop50! The winner is…

trop50 winner

Number 14 – Emily @ Perfection Isn’t Happy: “I’m not a big juice drinker, but if I’m going to have some, I’ll have orange! Apparently I used to drink apple all the time when I was little…no wonder I don’t care for it today :) .”

Congratulations Emily! Send me an e-mail at peaceloveandoats@gmail.com and I’ll get the gift card to you!

 

So now onto the goals! Let’s start off by re-capping January’s goals and see how I did:

January Goals:

1. Read 3 more books before school starts back up. Okay, so I only read 2. I finished Violets of March and Brave New World. Granted, Brave New World took me a lot longer to get through than I thought it might. However, I am currently working on another book, Little Bee, when I have a chance. My hope with this goal was just to keep reading for pleasure, and I think I accomplished that!

2. Run 11 miles. DID IT!!!! I changed up my running plan for my half marathon, and made it so my weekend long runs were 8, 9, 10, then 11 miles! I hadn’t hit a PDR since November, so it was really fun to do this! Here’s my 11 mile run re-cap!

3. Cut out white sugar. This one I’ve been doing pretty good with. I have “cheated” a few times, such as getting fro yo (with ONE gummy bear! Ah!) and I got a few sundrops (like M&Ms) at Whole Foods. But we’re talking about 10.

So I feel like I’m doing a pretty good job with this one. I have such a sweet tooth that completely cutting out candy would be torture. I already can’t eat a lot of things, so, mentally, it really helps if I have a treat every now and then. And a smidge of white sugar every two weeks isn’t going to kill me!

Now this bag of sugar… that sure did me in:

 

So now it’s time to figure out what goals I want for February! I actually had a hard time coming up with some new goals for this month. I’m feeling pretty good about where I am right now, but I decided to come up with a bunch of little things that I want to work on:

 

February Goals

1. Make better use of my evenings. I tend to get back from the gym around 6 or 6:30, shower, eat dinner and by about 7:30 I’m done. Well, I don’t go to bed until 10… So basically I watch Netflix for the rest of the night. This is just a huge waste of my time. I need to get into a mentality that I should DO something after dinner. Maybe venture to Starbucks to get some work done, clean my apartment, anything! Haha, I need to use my time more wisely!

photo

2. Keep up with NROLFW! I’ll be done with stage 2 this afternoon (I skipped stage 1… on accident) so I’ll be moving onto stage 3 for the month of February. I am a little annoyed with it, because I do enjoy certain machines that I use and my regular routine, but I think that’s good for me. I need to get out of my comfort zone and try new things!

3. Try spinning again! I tried spinning a few times last year and just didn’t love it. However, I’m in much better shape than I was last year and I want to give it another chance! Plus, Ashley loves it so much that she’s making me want to go!

4. Go to Bikram once a week. My Groupon for a Bikram studio I’ve been going to expires in March, so I need to take advantage of the unlimited classes I have left! More than once a week won’t work since 1) I just can’t handle yoga more than once a week and 2) I have too much with half marathon training and NROLFW.

5. Try not to hate on Valentines day… I’ll be honest. I hate V-day. With a passion. Let’s please remind the single girl that she’s still single. So, I’m going to try and have a more positive attitude about it, I mean come on, who doesn’t like pink? And I’ve chosen a Valentine:

photo

Jealous? You should be. And no worries, she’s feeling much better after her surgery. Here’s proof:

Can you tell she’s intrigued, yet totally freaked out by the parrot toy? It’s even funnier in person.

 

What’s a goal that you are working on now?

What do you think of Valentines Day?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 7:23 am

    Good job on the goals! I’m pretty immobile after 7:00 at night as well. I honestly cannot imagine actually doing anything though. I am so dang tired by the time I sit down – I need to relax. Don’t go crazy, give your body time to wind down!

    • February 2, 2012 11:37 am

      I guess I just spend all day sitting in class, and then sitting to study that I feel lazy even though I’ve actually been working all day! I need a standing desk…

  2. February 2, 2012 7:58 am

    Great goals for Feb! I’m pretty useless on an evening, I usually just sit with my laptop and read blogs and maybe prep next days lunch and that’s it! I’m married and even I don’t like valentines day either – I think its just so ‘forced’ and way over done. Maybe spend the day treating yourself to some nice things?

  3. Smore permalink
    February 2, 2012 8:46 am

    I’m with you on the productivity after dinner! I swear I shower, eat dinner and then well I don’t know what the heck I do but I sure am not working on anything!

  4. February 2, 2012 8:47 am

    Good job with your goals. Cutting out white sugar has to be so tough, but you seem to have done an amazing job 🙂

    Also, definitely try spinning again but see if you can find a different instructer. I think spinning is one of those classes that can be so different depending on who is leading the class. My gym has two instructors and while I really enjoy one of the classes, the other is really boring.

    I’m like you, I always feel like I have to be doing something but sometimes relaxing and unwinding after a long day is necessary!

    • February 2, 2012 11:39 am

      I’ll definitely try out different instructors, I know we have at least 2, and thanks for the encouragement!

  5. Sienna permalink
    February 2, 2012 9:07 am

    I’m not a huge valentines day fan either which is sad because it was so fun as a kid! This year I scheduled an hour massage for that night and then I’m going to try to treat it like any other night.

  6. February 2, 2012 11:36 am

    I like to set small goals every month too! Right now I’m trying to focus on stretching more! (I’m really bad at it!)

  7. February 2, 2012 11:38 am

    I love love LOVE spinning – but definitely need to practice yoga more!

  8. February 2, 2012 12:07 pm

    I am trying to hit the gym really early so it’s done and over with! I don’t hate Valentine’s Day, I think it’s a great way for loved ones to have a day to appreciate each other and show some love!

  9. February 2, 2012 12:21 pm

    Holy fudge I want that bowl of deliciousness!! I’d say stick with your evening plans. If they include that, they’re right on track.

  10. February 2, 2012 1:51 pm

    I have a similar work day pattern as well, work, gym, dinner, tv till bed. I’ve been blogging in the evenings so that has changed things up a bit but I would love to do something more physical, like a trip to starbucks, even just a walk around the block 🙂

  11. February 2, 2012 2:23 pm

    After reading this, I think I should add some new goals to my list! I definitely could work on being more productive in the evenings. After I eat dinner, I pretty much stay in the same chair just watching TV or bumming around on the computer. I couldn’t definitely get more out of those three or so hours so I don’t have so many errands to run on the weekends!

    And, not to sound like a total stalker since I commented on having the same birthday yesterday, but today as I was scrolling through the comments on Julie’s page, I noticed that someone else said their first kiss wasn’t until freshman year of college – same as me! We must have a lot in common 🙂

    • February 2, 2012 6:20 pm

      Haha yea, late bloomers I guess! Haha and we might have a lot in common! I’m totally going to check out your blog now!

  12. February 2, 2012 2:35 pm

    great job with your january goals! i like your february ones too! i hope you like spin more your second time around… it seems like the instructor plays a huge role in it. but if you don’t, there’s always other options – it’s not for everyone. 😉 and please tell me how you made that amazing bowl of oats (i think?) and what is drizzled on top in the above photo? it looks so good!

    • February 2, 2012 6:22 pm

      They are egg white oats from Julie Go Lean and they are AMAZING! The sauce I put on top is my “chocolate protein sauce”: 1 T protein powder, 1 T PB2, a bit of cocoa, 1 packet stevia and then water to thin it out into a liquid. Soooo good. Sometimes I’ll add blended spinach (a small handful) to the sauce for more volume and veggies, or I’ll do it without cocoa and just have it PB flavored. I’ve also added flax to it to! Haha I make it a lot….

  13. February 2, 2012 5:37 pm

    oh sad! I LOVE Valentine’s day–but I always have (I was single for many, many of them, and once -broke up with a long time bf like 10 days before it. AWFUL. But I still ate candy and wore pink–it cheered me up)

    LOVE your goals!! I too want to use my time wisely in the evenings….and be in bed earlier! You’ll rock that HALF, girl 🙂

  14. February 3, 2012 10:15 pm

    haha i don’t think i’ll ever fully understand why but….i love valentine’s day. I have always been single for it but it doesn’t bother me….i just love giving out cute cards and the pink heart decorations! don’t let a stupid idea that only couple’s can enjoy valentine’s day ruin your mood 🙂 plus…the valentine you picked is pretttty adorable!

  15. February 4, 2012 5:35 am

    Congrats on reaching your goals! I might steal that idea if you don’t mind. 😉

    The best thing about Valentine’s Day is that my lover man dude and I don’t celebrate it! We don’t celebrate most holidays and I really like that. We believe that our presence is our presents and that’s a pretty good deal considering that he’s an awesome guy!

Leave a Reply

