Skip to content

Who Loves New Stuff?

January 27, 2012

Hey everyone! Who is happy that it’s Friday!?!? ME!!!!! Although Molly is not so happy… she’s being spayed today. I’m afraid we’re going to traumatize her. Pathetic pictures with the cone soon to come… But before then, here are some new ADORABLE pictures:

photo (38)

photo (39)

photo (40)

photo (42)

 

Haha, okay, enough Molly! I want to share with you all the amazing new dinner (or lunch, or breakfast!) idea that I put together:

photo (4)

Eggy Zucchini Pasta

Ingredients

1 egg

1 zucchini

1 cup sliced brussel sprouts

1/2 cup diced tomatoes (or marinara sauce)

nutritional yeast

garlic powder

dried oregano

Directions

Steam brussels sprouts for 3 minutes, add in garlic powder, oregano and tomato sauce. Spiralize the zucchini (or use a vegetable peeler to cut it up into pasta like strands – or just use pasta!). Dump brussel sprout mixture onto zucchini. Place bowl in microwave for 1 minute. While that is microwaving, quickly fry up an egg! Place egg on top of veggies and top with pepper and nutritional yeast. Tada!

It was so good when I broke open the egg, and the yolk went all gooey everywhere! Definitely a winner. Feel free to sub zucchini with actual pasta (I have none and was in the mood for “pasta”).

 

Recently I’ve been trying out some new products, and I thought I’d share them all with you! My favorite sweetener is Truvia, but when I saw that Trader Joe’s sold a stevia sweetener (and it was WAY less expensive than Truvia), I had to try it out.

photo (5)

It definitely doesn’t have the coarse sugar-like texture that Truvia has, but it works just as well in sweetening things, and my budget likes it a lot more!

I saw this in whole foods, saw the words “gluten free” “soy free” and “25 calories per cup”. I was sold. I decided to give it a try and it turned out pretty good! It definitely doesn’t have as good of a flavor as my unsweetened vanilla almond milk, but it’s perfect for oatmeal or thinning things out (I put milk in greek yogurt a lot…).

photo (6)

This one I was super excited to try, mostly because the packaging just looked so festive! Unfortunately, it wasn’t much of a hit! I don’t know, the mixture of the almond and coconut milk was just not as pleasing as I had expected…

photo (8)

Finally, since I’m trying to cut white sugar out, I’m trying out some dark chocolates that I stick in the freezer and break pieces off of for dessert. I grabbed this one at Whole Foods, but wasn’t too happy. I don’t know what I was expecting with the orange, but it’s kind of an odd taste. I think I’ll stick to sea salt, thank you very much.

 

photo (7)

 

What are some new products you’ve tried out? Any recommendations?

What’s your favorite kind of dark chocolate bar? (and DO NOT say Trader Joe’s new cookie butter chocolate bar. I’m so sad about that one. We need GF cookie butter Trader Joe’s…).

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 8:47 am

    I love Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Bar with Caramel and Black Sea Salt. So good!

  2. January 27, 2012 8:50 am

    I haven’t tried that Theo dark orange chocolate but I have tried one by Chocolove XOXO, it’s really good! I’ll never switch lol. Thanks for the heads up about the coconut milk! I’ll stick to So Delicious Sugar Free line of coconut milk, it’s awesome. You should try that brand 🙂

  3. January 27, 2012 9:14 am

    Molly is so cute! I love the picture of her and her soccer ball! My dog, Sasha, has the same thing in pink!!

  4. January 27, 2012 9:44 am

    It looks like a trip to Trader Joe’s is in my future. Oh and Molly could pass for an identical twin of my parents’ dogs, Jimmy and Jane. Goldens are beyond precious.

  5. January 27, 2012 10:13 am

    Oh no, the cone of shame is coming for Molly 😦
    Fave new {to me} product: honey pretzel luna bar. It’s so good!

    • January 27, 2012 12:30 pm

      ahhh I’ve heard of that one! I used to love luna bars before I found out I couldn’t eat gluten!

  6. January 27, 2012 11:35 am

    Love the idea of keeping dark choc in the freezer! I love mine cold and crunchy so might just have to try that! I wish we could get that flax milk here, it sounds right up my street!

    • January 27, 2012 12:32 pm

      I’ve never left the US so I guess I don’t realize that we don’t have all the same products and brands! I remember a girl in my sorority lived in Prague and had friends ship her favorite foods to her!

  7. January 27, 2012 1:16 pm

    I’ll have to try that TJ’s stevia. I’ running low on my NuNaturals. And I like the original flavor of that Flaxmilk best – btw 🙂

  8. January 27, 2012 2:00 pm

    I’m so jealous of the variety you guys have in the US. Trader Joe’s sounds like my kind of place!!

    • January 27, 2012 2:47 pm

      Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to have a TJ! I love it even more because it’s so inexpensive!

  9. January 27, 2012 2:02 pm

    Such a cute doggie!
    My newest fave product that I try is Simply Granola by Chappaqua Crunch. I love the Vanilla Flax flavor, and at 110 calories for 1/3 C., it’s one of the lowest calorie granolas that I’ve seen out there so far.

    • January 27, 2012 2:48 pm

      Haha that’s always my problem with granola – I eat it like cereal and forget it has so many more calories! That’s pretty good though!

  10. January 27, 2012 6:05 pm

    The Trader Joe’s dark chocolate with caramel and sea salt is AMAZING. Go have it 🙂

    P.s. Molly is SO cute!!

  11. January 27, 2012 6:32 pm

    I only recently found Peanut Butter & Co at a grocery store where I live (they’ve never sold it around here before, sadly) and I absolutely love the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl!

    Also, Cadbury pretzel and peanut butter chocolate bars! I don’t like chocolate but I thought it was so cool.

  12. January 27, 2012 8:19 pm

    I second you on that cookie butter needing to be GF. It’s quite sad!

  13. elise permalink
    January 27, 2012 11:13 pm

    look at all those new things!! im so excited to try flax milk, i must find it asap.
    tjs is legit.
    btw, those pics of molly are THEEEEE cutest ever. i showed them all to kyle and begged for a doggy as a result.

  14. January 27, 2012 11:21 pm

    What a gorgeous dog!

    I tried that coconut-almond milk too, and agree – I thought it was fine, but not amazing. I have been wanting to try theo chocolate for a while now!

    • January 28, 2012 7:56 am

      I’ve tried the regular chocolate coconut and it wasn’t actually super chocolately, granted I was expecting chocolate milk, basically.

  15. January 29, 2012 9:42 am

    Oh my gosh you have such an adorable pup!!!! I have a golden, too and am away from her at the moment because of college. Miss her so much!! Thanks for the cute pics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

