Skip to content

WIAW–A Day of Repeats

January 25, 2012

Happy Wednesday everyone! Halfway through the week! And you know how we celebrate Wedensdays in blog world: What I Ate Wednesday! If you are new to WIAW, check it out on Peas and Crayons!

My morning started off with 8:30 am class (although today I didn’t have to hit the gym beforehand!) so I decided to make egg white oats again! I am obsessed! They are SO VOLUMINOUS and filling and they keep me full for about 4 hours!

photo (58)

I topped them with some PB2 powder that I mixed with a lot of water so it was more like a liquid, so good! Enjoyed while watching old episodes of the Office!

I only had one class, so after class I stayed a while to do some reading in the library and by the time I got home I was hungry for some lunch! I had some really random cravings so my lunch included 1 container of Chobani vanilla yogurt with cinnamon and 1/2 a banana mixed in…

photo (59)

And then half a sweet potato (microwaved) with some sliced up brussel sprouts and hummus on the side!

photo (60)

I ended lunch with a chocolate protein bar from Jamie Eason with some PB2 turned peanut butter on it! Delicious!

A couple hours later I was feeling hungry, so I had 2 more chocolate protein bars with some PB2 turned peanut butter! Haha seeing a trend today?

photo (1)

After my snack I did a little more work and then headed off to the gym and grocery store. I was supposed to do Workout A from the New Rules of Lifting For Women, however, I forgot my sheet… I decided just to do some cardio and upper body weights. I should have gone earlier because the gym was absolutely packed with the after work crowd, even at 5!

By the time I got home and had showered, I knew exactly what I wanted.

photo

No, you aren’t seeing double. I had egg white oats, AGAIN. Haha I was really, really craving them and decided that I was just going to give in and have breakfast again for dinner! Served with some chocolate PB2 and a small glass of wine. It was that kind of day.

A little while later I made myself some kale chips and then had another chocolate protein bar with PB2 for something salty and sweet! For the kale chips, I just took some pre-cut kale from Trader Joe’s, mixed it in a bit of olive oil and sprinkled it with a bit of salt and garlic powder. I spread the leaves out on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 for 10 minutes. So good!

photo (2)

 

Do you ever eat the same thing for multiple meals in one day?

Have you ever tried Kale chips? Would you?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 9:27 am

    i’m often tempted to eat oatmeal multiple times a day too. 😉 if it weren’t for my husband, i’d probably have it for breakfasts AND dinners pretty regularly. unfortunately, i don’t think he’d be a fan of oatmeal for dinner. haha.

    i’ve actually never even tried kale… who am i?!?! i really need to try it out. especially kale chips! i’ve seen them all over and heard great things.

    • January 25, 2012 10:45 am

      Haha, one more reason I need a husband/boyfriend. Oatmeal control. And definitely try kale! start slow though, like kale chips and steamed kale! Haha, it’s a bit different from normal lettuce.

  2. Mollie permalink
    January 25, 2012 9:30 am

    your 2 bowls of oatmeal literally have me drooling….likeee they look so flipping good-i am super jealous!!!

  3. January 25, 2012 10:13 am

    Oh girl I feel you with the oatmeal. I could easily eat it for every single meal! 🙂

  4. January 25, 2012 10:32 am

    I sometimes repeat my meals throughout the day..especially if I am really craving them! I have never tried kale chips but I really want to!

  5. January 25, 2012 10:45 am

    Some times something is just so good you have to have it twice! Oh and by the way buckwheat is actually gluten free! You should definitely try it, would be perfect for you I think x

  6. January 25, 2012 11:25 am

    Silly question, but do kale chips actually get crunchy? If so, I will try them this weekend. haha though I do like kale in a veggie soup too!

    Also, I loved The Office so much before but have not loved it since Michael left last season. I will always love the old eps! (I stopped watching the new ones)

  7. January 25, 2012 11:25 am

    Also, wine. YUM.

  8. January 25, 2012 11:29 am

    I LOVE the idea of pouring a pb2 mix on top of oatmeal, I always try to cook it in the oats and can’t taste it. Thanks for the idea 🙂

  9. January 25, 2012 1:10 pm

    I’ve def eaten oats 2x per day before–just so dang good and filling. I love the idea of eggs in ’em –what a great day of yummy eats!

  10. January 25, 2012 3:48 pm

    Your Oats look massive ! How do you do it ?????

  11. January 25, 2012 10:30 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks and I love it! I love that you’re a student, especially a law student, because I’m going to be applying to law school in the fall!

    I have a question about the New Rules of Lifting for Women- do you think that it would be a good program for someone who is just beginning to do strength training to try? As in, has zero muscle- because that would be me 🙂 I’m looking for a program because frolicking around the free weights and machines isn’t really cutting it!

  12. January 26, 2012 1:25 am

    I’ve become an egg white oats addict too! And this is coming from a girl who, just a month ago, told everyone she hated oatmeal! Haha. The egg whites really do make the bowl more creamy and delicious. Loooove.

    Have I ever eaten a meal twice in one day? Have I ever! I do it quite often with eggs…Before my oatmeal kick, I’d have an egg white omelet EVERY morning and often make another one in the evening. The cheese/veggie add-in combinations are endless, so it’s hard to get tired of them! The same goes for pancakes–I never get tired of them.

    What’s the verdict on Jamie’s chocolate protein bars? I’m hooked on the pumpkin version (just made another batch tonight), but will probably mix it up next time. 🙂

    • January 26, 2012 9:24 am

      Oooo I love egg white omelets, I should make more to use up some left over veggies! I LOVED the chocolate protein bars. The pumpkin turned out a bit dry for me (I think I baked them too long) but my chocolate ones were perfect! Although I feel silly eating them in class because I’m guessing people think I’m eating brownies…

  13. January 26, 2012 9:21 am

    I really want it to be breakfast tomorrow so I can try those oats. I hope my egg whites are still good!

    I tried (and enjoyed) kale chips last month! I want to get creative with my toppings…any ideas?

    • January 26, 2012 9:25 am

      So far for my kale chip toppings I’ve used garlic powder, cayenne pepper, lemon pepper, and nutmeg. All turned out pretty good! Although the cayenne ones were a bit spicy!!! I tend to put the olive oil on, then spread them out on the pan, and then do half one flavor and half another so I can experiment!

  14. January 27, 2012 8:54 pm

    I’m late on this one but those oats look so goooood! Is your bowl just small or do you have some sort of magic voluminous oat trick?

  15. January 28, 2012 10:30 pm

    I love eggwhite oats, too! The more volume the better!

Leave a Reply

