Skip to content

Workout Plan

January 19, 2012

So remember how I said I decided not to do Jamie Eason’s Livefit Trainer because I couldn’t completely commit to it? The program requires no cardio for the first stage and with training for my half marathon, that’s just not possible for me! I decided, instead, to go ahead with my original strength training plan for the semester, which is the New Rules of Lifting for Women.

The New Rules of Lifting for Women

I first heard about this program on Meghann’s blog, Meals and Miles. I decided this program would work well for me because she’s been doing it while also training for other races (and a triathlon!!!).

I started off with stage 1 workout A (there’s a workout A and B for each stage and you alternate between them) on Monday. However, once I got home, I realized that I had actually done stage 2! I copied the wrong pages out of the book! I looked at Meghann’s stage 1 recap where she said it was good for people who were starting out with weight lifting. Since I’ve been doing it on my own for over a year now, I decided it would be fine to just skip stage 1 and continue with stage 2. I did workout B for stage 2 on Tuesday. Both Tuesday and Wednesday my legs were super sore! I wasn’t as impressed, however, with the upper body workouts. Maybe I just need to up my weights.

I’m not completely sold on it yet, but I’m going to at least complete stage 2 before deciding if I want to continue with the book or just continue strength training on my own. One of the things I like about coming up with my own strength training programs is that I’ll do only upper body one day and only lower body the other day. This way, I can time my workouts based on my runs and not do legs the day before a longer training run. In NROLFW, they combine upper and and lower body workouts in one workout, which makes it more difficult to not have sore legs for a run.

Either way, here’s my workout plan for the week:

Monday – Workout A and elliptical

Tuesday – 2 mile run and Workout B

Wednesday – 5 Mile Speed Training Run

Thursday – 2 mile run and Workout A

Friday – not sure, maybe Bikram?  or elliptical? or rest day?

Saturday – 10 mile run

Sunday – rest day if not taken Friday, or bikram if not done Friday.

 

Now another thing I tried new was Julie’s Egg White Oats. I just recently discovered her blog, Julie Go Lean and I love a lot of the recipe ideas!

photo (52)

photo (44)

It was very delicious, and voluminous! I topped it off with a T of peanut butter and a bag of frozen peas for my burnt fingers… I actually kept spilling it out of my pot and then ended up burning my finger… I was a mess. Although there was a lot there, it was not super filling, I was getting really hungry only about 2 and a half hours later. That could have, however, been due to the serious metabolism boost I got from an unexpected power walk that morning…

Apparently the city has taken out two bridges right next to my school for the entire semester and is doing construction. This means all my buses are re-routed. I took a different one than I had my first day, so this time I had to get across the river myself. I could go north or south of my school’s street. I picked North. I picked wrong. Very wrong. I was totally blocked by construction and ended up power walking 0.85 miles to get to class on time (yes, I looked it up on Google Earth later on).

 

Have you ever followed a book or guide for weight training, or do you prefer to make it up yourself?

Anyone else training for spring races!?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 8:16 am

    I started with NRoL but found that it didn’t work well for me or the equipment I had available in my gym. I bought Female Body Breakthrough by Rachel Cosgrove a while ago and have been loosely following that instead. I find it works much better for me 🙂

    • January 19, 2012 6:20 pm

      It’s definitely hard when the gym isn’t set up well with the program. I definitely have to improvise with a couple things!

  2. January 19, 2012 9:18 am

    I’m not usually disciplined enough to follow a plan. I consistently workout 5-6 times a week, every week, but if I feel like I HAVE to do something, then I tend to not want to do it! haha. Lately I’ve been loving circuit workouts, because it’s working as cardio AND weights, and that’s good for me right now!

    • January 19, 2012 6:29 pm

      Haha I am that way sometimes too, but other times I just don’t want to think about what I have to do!

  3. January 19, 2012 9:24 am

    With training for a half marathon, I like having the option to do strength training how and when I want. I have to follow a schedule with my running, so why have to follow a schedule with strength. I’m following the Hal Higdon half marathon plan, and it allows for a couple days of strength training mixed in. Some days I want to kill my upper body with weights, and others, my body is tired so I ease off. So far so good!

  4. January 19, 2012 10:20 am

    I am actually doing P90X right now! So far so good, and it’s definitely challenging. I’m doing it with my BF though, if it weren’t for him, I would have probably quit by now. The fact that we can do it together motivates us to keep it going….We’ll see if we stick with it though….

    • January 19, 2012 6:30 pm

      My brother, dad, and friend all did P90X! I’ve heard it’s pretty tough! And that’s great that you two do it together, I would need the motivation too!

  5. January 19, 2012 10:52 am

    Right now my training is on hold 😦 because of a hip injury. I have a half marathon on Feb 5 and a 30k race on the 25 of March. Hoping for the best! 🙂

    I think having spring goals in mind is SO key because to get out during shorter (and colder) days is tough…the extra motivation really helps.

    HAPPY TRAINING. 🙂

  6. January 19, 2012 11:36 am

    I have been debating whether or not I am going to try the new rules of weight lifting for women or not..currently I’m doing the 30 day bodyrock challenge so once that’s over I’ll decide where my work outs will take me next!

    • January 19, 2012 6:33 pm

      I do like that it’s pretty simple and easy to work into my half training schedule. What I don’t like is that it takes like 6 months to finish the whole thing! Haha I’m very impatient

  7. January 19, 2012 11:43 am

    I am actually following the LiveFit program. I am in my second week. I know it says no cardio but I still do a little because I love it and can’t live without it. However, I never feel guilty if I don’t fit it in because in theory, I am not supposed to be doing it anyway!

  8. January 19, 2012 12:55 pm

    Sounds like a fun program! I think with the NROFLW it would be a fun way to learn new exercises and have a set plan, but it’s also nice to have felxibility! Whatever you do though, have fun and good luck! Lifting ROCKS 🙂

    • January 19, 2012 6:35 pm

      I do like that it suggests doing it’s workouts only 2-3 times a week, that way I can work it in with other things that I enjoy!

  9. January 19, 2012 2:02 pm

    i’m excited to see how you enjoy the program! i’ve been following meghann’s journey on it too. i mostly enjoy doing my own thing, but it’s fun to switch it up to get new ideas from other programs and other workouts. have fun with it! 🙂

  10. January 19, 2012 2:36 pm

    I don’t strength train nearly as much as I should. In fact the only “plan” I’ve ever done was the 30 Day Shred. Whoops 😛

    Good luck though 🙂

    • January 19, 2012 6:36 pm

      Haha I have the 30 day shred, although I’ve never followed the plan! I just do the level 3 whenever i need a super quick workout!

  11. January 19, 2012 2:46 pm

    I’ve been loving circuit workouts lately ever since I discovered bodyrock.tv. So if I don’t make it to the gym, I will do one of their workouts or if I do go to the gym, I will often do cardio and then incorporate some of the things I’ve learned from bodyrock afer.

  12. January 19, 2012 5:26 pm

    I’m doing NROL now and LOVE it! Seriously, you’ll make so many gains in just the first stage. It’s awesome!

  13. January 19, 2012 7:01 pm

    You are such good motivation!

  14. January 19, 2012 9:39 pm

    I think I burn myself every time I cook. You think I’d learn!
    I prefer to just make up my own routines but once in a while I like to follow a plan just to get some new ideas.

Leave a Reply

