Skip to content

Snow Day!

January 14, 2012

Well, I made it back to Chicago safe and sound. Yesterday I woke up to finish my packing, say my goodbyes, and then it was off to the airport! I brought my breakfast along in the car (it’s a half hour to the airport). I mixed some chocolate protein powder, truvia and cinnamon into the last bit of greek yogurt I had.

photo (18)

I paired it up with a Kind Bar, Mango Macadamia. It was very tropical tasting, but pretty good. I liked having a bar with something different from almonds! 

photo (20)

On our way out, my Dad was also nice enough to swing by the Roasterie! It’s the only coffee shop I’ve found that has almond milk, so I got my last café au lait with almond milk!

photo (21)

My flight went very smoothly, and my WONDERFUL older brother was working from home and came and picked me up from the airport. It had snowed the day before in Chicago, and the drive home was beautiful!

photo (19)

This is the part of winter that I love! I don’t mind the cold as long as it’s this pretty out!

And you know who else loves the snow?

MOLLY!

I didn’t get to take her out, but apparently she was going crazy and running around and digging in the snow! She loves leaves on the ground, so I feel like snow is leaves x 1 million. So Much Snow.

photo (22)

photo (23)

For any new readers, Molly is my brother and sister-in-law’s 6 and a half month old golden retriever puppy! Just search molly on my blog, you’ll find a ridiculous amount of photos and videos…

Although I didn’t get to take her outside, I did go visit… and hang out in her crate.

photo (24)

So when you were all younger, did any of you build forts? I was a huge fort fan, not going to lie, I probably kept that up for a really long time. There’s just something special about being in a small enclosed area that feels like a world of your own!

Granted, I wouldn’t want to be in one all the time… my back would hurt from crouching. Anyway, that’s what molly’s crate was like: a fort! Now I know why she loves it so much.

 

Were you a fort-builder as a child? My friends and I actually built an igloo out of snow once, a snow fort!

Are you a snow lover or hater?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Smore permalink
    January 14, 2012 8:47 am

    Oh I used to love building forts! Every one of slumber parties consisted of making massive pillow messes in the living room in one of my friends houses. Good times 🙂

  2. January 14, 2012 9:28 am

    That snow is lush! We’ve just got a cold snap but I’m kind of hoping it doesn’t snow – too much trouble here in the UK!

    • January 14, 2012 2:49 pm

      it doesn’t cause much trouble in Chicago, the city is really great about cleaning the streets quickly!

  3. January 14, 2012 11:13 am

    I’m *very* jealous of your almond milk latte! Why don’t more coffee shops carry AM? I’m sure once Starbucks starts carrying it (and they will–power of positive thinking!), I’m sure every cafe will follow suit. 🙂

    Glad you made it home safely! Molly is such a cutie–she reminds me of my dog, Cali, who LOVES frolicking in the snow. And yes, I my brother and I were totally fort-builders when we were young. We’d work on them for DAYS!

    • January 14, 2012 2:48 pm

      Haha, trust me, I’ve sent e-mails to starbucks about it. Lots of people have too though.

  4. January 14, 2012 11:26 am

    beautiful! i have mixed feelings about snow… i’m from arizona, so i definitely love warmer weather and sunny skies. now that i’m in utah now, we get more of a winter which is nice to have a change of seasons (unlike arizona). i like snow because it truly is beautiful to look at – better than the brown, dead plants! but i hate driving in it, i don’t like the gray skies, and i don’t like the cold. haha.

    • January 14, 2012 2:48 pm

      the gray skies can be pretty bad, especially here in the spring I feel like the sun never comes out!

  5. January 14, 2012 12:34 pm

    Oh wow – a coffee shop with almond milk! None of the ones in my city seem to have any, so I usually just roll with dairy milk since I dislike soy! Awesome find! Good luck with your travels 🙂

  6. January 14, 2012 1:15 pm

    Lovely pictures !

    I love snow (not melted snow, because it’s kinda gross :p ) but I can’t stand cold weather, because I have Raynaud’s disease and it’s worst when it’s cold 😦

    I wanna see Chicago one day, especially in the snow, it seems so beautiful !!!

    • January 14, 2012 2:47 pm

      Haha I have Raynaud’s too, it gets pretty obnoxious here, mostly when my apartment is also cold though

  7. January 14, 2012 2:11 pm

    SUCH pretty snow!! I love snow –but I don’t love driving in it at night.

  8. January 14, 2012 3:30 pm

    I’m with you. I don’t mind the cold of winter as long as it is pretty with all the snow!
    Molly is a beautiful puppy. It’s so funny you got in the crate, you must really love her!

  9. January 14, 2012 11:31 pm

    Such a pretty snow day! I grew up in the Midwest and love snow, but live in Phoenix now and don’t get too much of it. My husband and I adopted a chocolate lab since we’ve moved out here and I don’t think he’s ever seen snow! This needs to change soon! PS: I have a giveaway going on now that I think you might be in to!

  10. January 15, 2012 12:43 am

    I loved building forts as a kid! My cousins and I used to turn my grandparents’ living room into one big fort. 🙂 As for the snow, I should be used to it being a life-long midwest girl, but I think I’m a southener at heart because I hate winter!

    P.S. – I un-spammed your comment on my blog. So excited you are running the Chi-Town Half Marathon as well! We should definitely meet up before or after!

  11. January 15, 2012 2:04 am

    Gorgeous pictures!
    I used to build forts allll the time with my sister when I was growing up. We loved it! We seriously built forts that covered our entire living room.
    Molly is so adorable! ❤

Leave a Reply

