Skip to content

My Day.

January 13, 2012

Goooood morning! Today I’m headed back to Chicago. They got a ton of snow, so everyone cross your fingers that my flight gets in alright, and on time!

Not much to blog about today, since I spent yesterday relaxing and enjoying my last day at home. AKA being a bum, watching TV, and hanging out.

For lunch, I heated up some Trader Joe’s Broccoli Slaw and mixed it with tuna and a Greek dressing. I served it over some lettuce with tomatoes.

photo (14)

In the afternoon, I met my friend Helen for some Yogurtini. Yogurtini is literally the most delicious self-serve frozen yogurt I have ever had. Every. Singe. Time.

photo (13)

Sorry, half through shot. So delicious.

I spent a good bit of my day enjoying the television. I don’t have one, or a couch, in Chicago, so this is quite a treat for me.

photo (15)

Who can guess what movie is playing?!?!?

For dinner, I went and picked up salads for my mom and I at The Mixx (my dad had a dinner meeting). I had to drive by the plaza, and they have their Christmas lights up until the 15th. I’m glad I got one last chance to see them. Photos do absolutely no justice, it’s gorgeous.

photo (16)

For my salad, I got mixed greens with shrimp, a stone ground honey mustard dressing, and then beets, roasted yams, sweet onions and french lentils. Soooo delicious. I love the Mixx because you can make your own salad, and the options are endless! I love, love, love it.

photo (17)

Well. The life of relaxation is over. But honestly, I’m glad to be getting back to my own apartment and a real routine. I’m also ready for school to start back up! Haha, I know, nerd. But I like having a real purpose to my days!

Do you ever get tired of vacation?

What’s your favorite carry out place to get dinner?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Reese permalink
    January 13, 2012 8:57 am

    Ms. Congeniality! Only recognized Benjamin Bratt (sp) since I saw him on Private Practice last night!!

  2. January 13, 2012 9:47 am

    After about 5 days of a vacation at home with my parents, I’m ready to get back to my real life/schedule. It’s always nice to unwind, but like you said, feeling like you have a purpose to your days is always better.

  3. January 13, 2012 9:47 am

    sounds like a perfect day to me!! usually after about a week or so of vacation, i’m ready to be home. i like more normal routine after awhile and my own bed and shower! i surely do love the relaxation and fun that vacation brings though. i hope you have a safe flight home girl! 🙂

    • January 13, 2012 2:28 pm

      Haha, yea, 4 weeks was way too long! Although I rarely get to go home, so it was so nice!

  4. January 13, 2012 9:48 am

    It is nice to get back into a routine – safe travels!

  5. January 13, 2012 10:34 am

    I know just what you mean, sometimes its good to get back into the swing of things and your normal routine again!

  6. January 13, 2012 10:38 am

    I don’t have a TV right now, either…so I’ve been logging lots of workouts at the gym (good thing, right?) where they have TVs on the ellipticals. I figure if I’m working out my body I can watch trashy TV for my brain…right? 😉

    That broccoli slaw concoction looks amazing…which I didn’t live an hour from the closest Trader Joe’s!

  7. January 13, 2012 11:22 am

    I wish where I live in Canada had more fro yo places – they are mostly places that they make a mixed in blended fro yo for you, as opposed to places in the states that give you a little bit of toppings.

    Sigh.

  8. January 13, 2012 11:24 am

    I love how versatile broccoli slaw is, it’s my becoming favorite topping for salads lately!

  9. Smore permalink
    January 13, 2012 12:03 pm

    I love the plaza lights at this time! So gorgeous! I definitely spent my vacay bumming at home too. Such a treat! Safe travels!

  10. January 13, 2012 12:08 pm

    I know what you mean. Vacation is nice but I love coming home. It’s so nice to get back to a routine. After about a week vacation I have had enough and must get back to some normal activities.

    My favorite carry out place is this little place here in Staten Island called eat better. Everything there is so healthy and delicious. 🙂

  11. January 13, 2012 12:59 pm

    I get tired of vacation after about 12 days.. Yep that’s the perfect number for me 🙂 I need longer than a week-but not exactly 2 weeks. hehe

    Have SAFE travels!

    THat fro yo looks AWEsome!

  12. January 13, 2012 8:35 pm

    YAY!!! i love miss, congeniality!!!!

  13. January 13, 2012 8:38 pm

    Surprisingly, yes! After a week or so, I’m ready to go home. Then after another week, I’m ready for vacation! haha

  14. January 13, 2012 10:19 pm

    Mmmm froyo! I love it ❤ So glad I found your sight…I've become obssesed with oats lately. Can't wait to try out some of your reciepes 🙂

    • January 14, 2012 2:51 pm

      Well thank you for reading, Sabrina! And oats are always amazing! My favorite recipes are the ones with pumpkin! I can’t get enough!

Leave a Reply

