Skip to content

No Bake Almond Banana Cookies

January 10, 2012

On Sunday I started up my training plan for a half marathon this spring, and I needed to get in an 8 mile long run. Since the weather is abnormally nice, I decided I had to do it outside! I ran the first half by myself, and then swung back by my house where my dad joined me for the last four.

I’m glad he did because I have a problem with running my long runs too fast sometimes! It was good to have him to pace me, and to keep me company! It was great to have once last chance to run with him before I head back to Chicago on Friday. I ran the 8 miles in an hour and 14 minutes for a 9:14 pace.

When I got back, I was ready to make a no-bake cookie recipe that I had seen on Daily Crumb. However, I changed the recipe a bit to make it without peanut (my dad is allergic) and a lot fewer calories.

No Bake Almond Banana Cookies

Ingredients

1 mashed banana

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup almond butter

1/2 cup almond meal

2 cups oats

1/4 cup almond milk

Directions

In one bowl, mix the almond meal and the oats together

photo (1)

In a saucepan, heat the banana, vanilla, milk, maple syrup and almond butter and let it boil for about 3 minutes while constantly stirring. I used a whisk for a while to help break up the banana and almond butter.

photo (2)

Then, pour the wet mixture into the dry and mix together.

photo (3)

Using a tablespoon, spoon the cookies onto wax paper and then place in the refrigerator (I stored mine there afterwards too). I made about 22 cookies from the mix. Each cookie has approximately 75 calories (this depends on what brands you use).

photo (4)

They were very banana tasting, just to warn you! Haha good thing I LOVE bananas! I’ve been using them as a yogurt topper! I actually put a few in the freezer and hope they are good that way too!

 

Do you enjoy running with other people?

What’s your favorite no-bake recipe?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 8:33 am

    Love the idea of these cookies – so simple! I think I might have to try them and add cocoa powder… 😉

  2. January 10, 2012 10:31 am

    I’ve never actually ran with anyone else! I think it would be fun if you were just out for a nice relaxing one. Those cookies look fab, my fave no bake recipes are always raw ones like fudge baby balls or raw brownies 🙂

    • January 10, 2012 6:51 pm

      running buddies can also be good to push you harder, if you find a runner who is a little better than you or at your level!

  3. January 10, 2012 11:14 am

    mmm i LOVE the sugar/calorie filled chocolate-PB no bake cookies… SO GOOD! i would love to try this healthified recipe though. i love bananas too, so i’m sure i’d love that extra banana-y flavor!

    • January 10, 2012 6:52 pm

      I tried a frozen one today, so good! You could also add some cocoa powder to get the chocolate without many calories!

  4. January 10, 2012 11:52 am

    Yum, your cookies look good!

    Do you wear a watch to help with pacing? My garmin has an option that I can race against a fake opponent (set at a specific pace) and it shows me how much faster or slower I’m running than that pace. It’s helpful when you have a goal pace in mind. There are lots of cheaper options too for pacing, but it definitely helps for long runs!

    • January 10, 2012 6:52 pm

      I have a garmin, which I think can do that, I should give it a try! that’s a great idea!

  5. January 10, 2012 12:08 pm

    This variation on no-bake cookies sounds so good! I have all the ingredients on hand, which means I’m making them after my workout today. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. January 10, 2012 1:34 pm

    YUM! Those look awesome! And I love bananas too so I dont’ think I’d mind the strong banana flavor 🙂 I wonder if almond extract would bring out the almond flavor!

  7. January 10, 2012 5:03 pm

    I love NO bake anything!! Haha 😉

  8. January 10, 2012 7:53 pm

    Yumm! I just pinned this on pinterest! I gotta keep this one in mind!

  9. January 10, 2012 9:44 pm

    That sounds so good. I think I’d like to try a cookie as an oatmeal topper too…I see people do it on their blogs (or using bars, etc.) and always want to but seem to forget by the time breakfast rolls around the next day!

  10. Smore permalink
    January 11, 2012 7:13 am

    These cookies looks great! Nice job on your 8 miler!

  11. January 11, 2012 12:57 pm

    I love no-bake anything. Especially cookies because it means I don’t have to wait the ten long minutes before scarfing three or four down!

  12. January 11, 2012 6:34 pm

    The chocolate no bake cookies are just about my favorite, so I’d love to try your healthy banana version!!

Leave a Reply

