Skip to content

January Goals!

January 3, 2012

It’s about that time everyone, recap of last month’s goals and a list of goals for the next month! And, since it’s the new year, I’ll also be doing a post of my goals for 2012! It’s going to be a big year!

First, let’s recap on how I did on my goals for December!

December Goals:

1. Keep up my long runs. I wanted to keep up my long runs since I didn’t have anything to train for over the winter. I did alright with this one, although none of my runs were as long as I would have liked. During finals, I just didn’t have the time for a long run, so the furthest I got was 6 miles, but during the week and a half I’ve been home, I’ve done two 8 mile runs! I’m hoping to pick it up more once I get back to Chicago, but now I’m about to travel around for over a week!

2. Practice Intuitive Eating I did pretty good with this one, especially since I’ve been home. I’ve definitely had my slip ups when I’m stressed, but for the most part I’ve been following it and I haven’t counted calories at all since I’ve been home! Which is mostly due to the fact that we eat out a lot or I don’t make all my own food. Less control can be good sometimes!

3. Make my family and friends LOVE gluten free cookies!

photo (23)

Well, I sorta did this one. I actually only made one batch of gluten free cookies: Sugar cookies! Everyone thought they were delicious, but with all the non-gluten free cookies I made, I ended up saving the sugar cookies for myself! Haha. They were good though.

These goals are definitely something that I want to keep up with generally (well, except the cookie one), so I’ll keep working on them throughout January and further on!

Time for some new goals for a new month!

January Goals:

1. Read 3 more books before school starts back up. One of my favorite things to do on break is to read books that have nothing to do with law school. I love reading, but during the year I’m doing so much reading for school, that I usually don’t have time to read for fun! I recently finished Born to Run and would like to get in 3 more books before I start school again! I have a ton just waiting for me, so I’d like to get through them!

photo (16)

2. Run 11 miles. This goal goes a bit on my one from last month, for keeping up with long runs. The furthest I’ve run is 10 miles, so I want to keep increasing my distance. I know I won’t be able to do the run until after I head back to Chicago, but I really want to get up to 11 before the month is over!

3. Cut out white sugar. I’ve been eating way more white sugar than usual since I’ve been home for the holidays, and I’m really not supposed to eat it at all. My goal for once I get back to Chicago is to cut it out completely and for as long as possible. I’m going to treat it just like gluten, soy, and pasteurized milk. I should have done this ages ago, but it’s hard! Almost all candy that’s not homemade or all natural has white sugar! AKA M&Ms… and I love M&Ms…

 

Do you have any goals for January?

Are you a fan of short-term or long-term goals?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 10:37 am

    great job with your December goals!! i like your new January ones as well. good luck with that sugar one – that’d be tough for me. 😉

    i’m definitely a more short-term goal person for sure. long-term goals are overwhelming for me, and i don’t achieve them as easily.

    • January 3, 2012 11:00 am

      the white sugar is definitely going to be hard… but it’s just as important as cutting out gluten and soy for me, so I’ve got to stick with it!

  2. January 3, 2012 11:44 am

    I’m giving up traditional desserts for the month of January. So no ice cream, cookies, cake, cupcakes etc! Its going to be hard. I’m also trying to keep my mindless snacking in check!

    • January 3, 2012 3:05 pm

      I’m all about dessert, as long as it’s in moderation! I also like to make my own versions of desserts, like my protein cupcake!

  3. January 3, 2012 12:11 pm

    Those are really great goals! I loved how you saved the sugar cookies all for yourself…I would totally do that. HA!

  4. January 3, 2012 12:13 pm

    Good luck with your goals! I just bought Born to Run this weekend and can’t wait to read it!

  5. January 3, 2012 2:19 pm

    I love short-term AND long-term goals. I like baby steps and I know the power of seeing the positive as you move forward to bigger goals. You’ve got this!!

  6. January 3, 2012 2:48 pm

    I don’t really have monthly goals I realize. I guess I have just regular day to day goals and then overall goals. I would have to say my goals for htis month are to keep up balance and begin training for my next race. Love yours!

  7. January 3, 2012 5:52 pm

    Good luck with your girls!!
    I am not a huge goal setter. If it strikes me that I want to change, then I suppose i make it a goal to change, but not in the structured way…does that make sense? 🙂

  8. January 4, 2012 5:01 am

    Those look like fab goals, I like to have bigger long term goals and shorter ones then I feel like I’m achieving something and making progress all the time!

  9. January 5, 2012 7:11 am

    I think you need short and long term goals (balance =) )

    For january:
    * i cut the sugar too (i indulge way to much in december and since my leg was injured, i almost didn’t workout ^^ )
    * intuitive eating (i did it now, but i need to keep doing it )
    * listen to my body and go back on track (workout 4/5 times a week)
    * loose a few Xmas pounds :p (not much)
    * look for a job

    • January 5, 2012 10:45 am

      sound like some great goals! Especially intuitive eating and listening to your body! that’s the key!

  10. backgroundbird permalink
    January 5, 2012 10:54 am

    Love it! Question about the white sugar, because I do a lot of baking (… with a lot of white sugar) but I love brown sugar, too–can brown sugar be easily substituted for white in most recipes? Does it matter if you use dark or light? Is it a different proportion (like, for every 1 c of white it’s 1 1/2 c of brown)?

    And thanks for the post! I think I’m going to go set up some goals, too. I’ve been thinking of doing a rewards system for achieving my own running goals, in the form of new running gear. I still run around in old cotton t-shirts from high school because I don’t save up the money to buy the nicer shirts.

    • January 6, 2012 1:45 pm

      I actually use raw and organic white sugar in my recipes to replace the white sugar. Brown sugar has a very different taste and would definitely change the taste in a lot of recipes is you tried to use it to replace white sugar. You just have to experiment! I haven’t done too much baking other than personal sized things, and for that I’ll use Truvia!

Leave a Reply

