Skip to content

Breakfast for Lunch!

December 8, 2011

Happy Thursday!

As you all are starting to get geared up for the weekend, I’m starting to FREAK OUT. My first final is on Saturday and it’s closed book… For those of you who don’t know about law school (and I hope most of you don’t) most exams are open book and open note. So this is my first closed-book exam and I am getting nervous! Studying for open-book versus closed-book exams is so different! I’ve got to reach back to my undergrad days!

Although I’ve been doing a lot of studying, I have had a few study breaks! On Tuesday, I met up with fellow Chicago-area blogger, Kathleen from The Daily Crumb for lunch!

I was so glad she reached out to me; it’s always great to meet other bloggers and Kathleen is a lawyer herself, so it was fun to talk to her about school!

We met at Bakin and Eggs, a really cute breakfast and lunch place in the Lakeview area. The decor was very cute and fresh, and they had a great cafe as well, where you could sit at the bar or get a drink and pastry to go!

photo (22)

The menu had a lot of great looking items, both breakfast and lunch were tempting!

photo (24)

Despite all the great options, Kathleen and I ended up ordering the same thing! We both got the Roasted Veggie Frittata with egg whites. I got mine with the roasted potatoes and fresh fruit on the side. The Frittata had eggplant, zucchini, yellow squash, red pepper, red onion and sundried tomatoes with goat cheese and an artichoke tapanade.

Here’s my frittata… after I ate most of it.

photo (23)

Oh and notice the bread? I asked for no toast but they brought it anyway… I so wanted to eat it! Haha I miss bread at restaurants!

The frittata was good, but I definitely didn’t notice many veggies other than the eggplant and red onion. Also, the fruit was sitting in juice and tasted like they’d kept it stored for a while. But the potatoes were TO DIE FOR! It has been so long since I had roasted potatoes and I forgot what I was missing!

Lunch was good, and it was really great to meet Kathleen!

Sorry for the short post, but it’s back to studying for me! (actually starting to have mini panic attacks at this point… send me good vibes!)

 

Do you have a favorite breakfast place to go to?

Have you ever met anyone in person that you met online first? (I feel like my family thinks I’m going to be murdered or something by meeting other bloggers…)

21 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 7:27 am

    Fun! I am in on the next meet up!

    PS – I will be “living” in the city (not really but I’ll be there after work every day) the week of January 9. We should do dinner some night!

    • December 8, 2011 8:13 am

      We need to do a blogger meet up in Chicago! And I’ll let you know about Jan, I might still be in KC since school doesn’t start back until the 17th! We’ll see how bored I get at home… haha.

  2. December 8, 2011 7:41 am

    I love breakfast – my family and I enjoy going out to breakfast so much that my father owns three diners in our area! I was lucky enough to meet 3 fellow Pittsburgh bloggers a few weeks ago.

  3. December 8, 2011 8:44 am

    Hope the studying goes well! I wish I could eat out more like that!

  4. Alexiasana permalink
    December 8, 2011 8:49 am

    i love to go to le pain quotidien for breakfast. its a chain restaurant that is located in many cities in europe and also NYC. just love it there

  5. December 8, 2011 10:05 am

    Breakfast is undoubtedly my favorite meal but I don’t eat out much ( a couple of times a year maybe). I’ve never met another blogger but I’d certainly like to. Anyone from Topeka?

    • December 8, 2011 10:23 am

      I have a friend who goes to law school in Topeka! He’s not a blogger though… haha.

      • December 8, 2011 4:29 pm

        I bet he goes to Washburn. It’s a great school and only a few blocks from my house.

  6. December 8, 2011 10:48 am

    You’ll rock your test girl, I’m sure of it! 🙂

    Mmm I love breakfast any time of day! It’s definitely my favorite meal of the day! My favorite breakfast place is Mimi’s Cafe. Maybe it has somewhat of an “old person” stereotype, but I love it nonetheless!

    • December 8, 2011 2:13 pm

      there’s a breakfast place in kansas city that has the “old person” stereotype, but they have the best blueberry pancakes!

  7. December 8, 2011 11:23 am

    Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal to eat out! Plus, there are so many good places to grab brunch in the city :). My favorites are M Henry in Andersonville and Lula Cafe in Logan Square.

  8. December 8, 2011 11:23 am

    I studied business at uni, and one semester we had to study business law which was open book. Of course, being young and a little silly- I thought this meant I didn’t have to study much! “i can just look up the answers”… wrong!! woops. You have to know all the cases, and how to apply them etc… I actually had to repeat the next semester! I studied that time!
    Best of luck on your exams!!

    Brekkie is my favourite meal of the day. I am already researching restaurants for when I am in NYC next!

    • December 8, 2011 2:14 pm

      haha EXACTLY how open book is! It can trick you! and I bet there are tons of great breakfast places in new york, how to choose!?

  9. December 8, 2011 12:37 pm

    Good luck on your finals!!

  10. December 8, 2011 12:43 pm

    SENDing GOOD vibes your way!!! You’ll rock it.

    What a fun meetup! SOunds delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

