Skip to content

WIAW – Finals Style

December 7, 2011

Hey everyone! Welcome to another weekly installment of What I Ate Wednesday! If you’ve never heard of it before, check it out on Peas and Crayons! It’s a great way to find new ideas for meals and snacks, and good for finding new blogs to follow!

Peas and Crayons

This week, I’m showing you my meals and snacks from Monday! It was a switched around day for me: only one review session to go to at my school and a workout in the afternoon instead of the morning! It was also a stressful one since I spent over an hour at Best Buy where they eventually told me they accessed my hard drive but the ONE folder I needed was corrupt. Thanks guys.

So anyway, my morning started off with plenty of studying and work and somewhere in there I managed to throw together some breakfast! I was in a serious mood for pumpkin, so I decided to make some Pumpkin Protein Oats!

photo (18)

In the mix:

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup almond milk

1/3 cup oatmeal

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup pumpkin

1 scoop Sunwarrior Vanilla Protein Powder

cinnamon to taste

1/2 T PB to top

cranberries to top

Always so good! I’m not sure I’ll ever get sick of pumpkin… I just hope my local market doesn’t stop stocking the stuff!

A little after breakfast I packed up my stuff and headed to school. After some extra study time and a review session I came back home and made up a snacky kind of lunch. I had some weird cravings and needed to make food I could eat while working, so here’s what I came up with!

Veggie plate with yellow bell peppers, carrots and celery. Spinach hummus on the plate, and plain hummus (un-pictured).

 photo (21) 

Then I mixed some peanut flour with truvia and water to make “peanut butter” and spread that, with some Trader Joe’s Cranberry Apple butter on a piece of Udi’s bread, and sliced up a banana to go with it!

photo (20)

I didn’t want to have a heavy lunch, since I was working out with my trainer in just two hours!

When I finally got home for dinner (after my visit to Best Buy…) I was really hungry so I threw a sweet potato in the oven and made a quick salad with spinach, green bell pepper, mushrooms and red beans with nutritional yeast and balsamic vinegar. Topped the sweet potato with hummus and more nutritional yeast! Ready to eat in 6 minutes!

photo (19)

Crazy angle on this picture…

For dessert, I made up another sampler plate. I forgot to take a picture of Monday night’s, but it looked just like this one:

photo (72)

I made a Cinnamon Protein Cupcake, then I had about 1/3 cup greek yogurt with PB flour and truvia mixed in, and finally about 1/2 cup canned pumpkin with almond milk, truvia, cinnamon and nutmeg mixed in. Aaaaand some chocolate chips, of course.

LOVE my dessert samplers!

 

What is the best thing you’ve eaten so far this week?

What was/is your favorite food to eat while studying?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 8:17 am

    Your pumpkin oats look awesome – mine are always so ugly (probably since I make them at work in the microwave)! 🙂

  2. December 7, 2011 8:28 am

    I stock up on pumpkin while it’s still on the shelves. Fortunately some stores in town stock it year round. Last year I cleaned out the shelves of my favorite store (a few cans at a time) and was stuck driving across town til the new stock came in this fall.

  3. December 7, 2011 8:37 am

    I like snacky plates when I’m working too, so easy to eat while you go! I have a serious desire for a dessert plate now!

  4. December 7, 2011 8:51 am

    When I was in college, hummus and veggies/crackers was like my studying crack. Hours and hours of reading=painful silence

  5. December 7, 2011 10:01 am

    those dessert samplers sound awesome! My favorite thing to eat while studying is probably carrots and hummus! If I had a bag of m&m’s next to me the entire bag would be gone by the time I was done studying!

  6. December 7, 2011 10:04 am

    Your oatmeal looks delicious! That’s been one of my breakfast favorites lately. Oatmeal with the mix of protein powder and nut butter is so filling! I love it.

    I love your idea of mixing peanut flour with truvia and water – I’ll have to try that!

  7. December 7, 2011 11:07 am

    I love the idea of mixing pumpkin with almond milk and some spices. I’ll have to try that soon! My favorite food to munch on while studying is cereal with almond milk. Problem is once I start, I can’t stop!

  8. December 7, 2011 12:13 pm

    Yumm. Good luck on your finals! Mine are all next week!

  9. December 7, 2011 12:21 pm

    I need to try the protein cupcakes!

  10. December 7, 2011 12:41 pm

    I’m worried about the grocery stores not carrying pumpkin too… I’ve started secretly stocking up. I will die without it!

  11. December 7, 2011 3:49 pm

    That dessert sampler looks tasty!!

  12. December 7, 2011 7:55 pm

    Mmm, your pumpkin oats look so delicious! I’m not an “oats person,” but for some reason, yours always look like something I’d love! Maybe I would? 🙂

    Your reindeer placemate (?) is super cute. Where did you get it?

    Hmmm…favorite thing I’ve eaten this week is definitely the the chocolate chip oat bar cookies I made for a party. Oh, and also Nutella-topped fro yo! As far as study snacks go: I love anything that keeps my mouth busy, like crunchy carrots dipped in hummus. 🙂

    • December 7, 2011 10:37 pm

      the oats took lots of practice and stove top oats are WAY better than microwaved. I got the placemat at World Market, they had matching plates, bowls and cups too!

  13. December 7, 2011 8:31 pm

    Mmm lovin the pumpkin oats… I had those for dinner tonight!
    And I feel ya on the finals… we are almost there!

  14. Jane permalink
    December 8, 2011 8:06 am

    Ha…I eat like 10x that…and am not active….oops.

    Anyway, how on earth do you make your oats exactly without it clumping? I have instant oats and either can use the microwave or the kettle…but how to do it without it getting lumpy and dry …I’d rather smooth and lovely.

    • December 8, 2011 8:37 am

      Kath has a great instructional video: http://www.katheats.com/kaths-tribute-to-oatmeal and I just make them on the stove top with 1:1:1 ratio of oats, almond milk, and water, occasionally I’ll add more water if they get too dry. The key, I think, is taking them off the stove when they seem like they’ve almost absorbed all the water but not quite (slightly too liquidy) because they tend to thicken up a bit after you take them off.

Leave a Reply

