Skip to content

Tea for My Sanity

December 6, 2011

Happy Tuesday! So I’m going tow warn you all: posts for the next week and a half may end up having a lot to do with studying… especially since my computer debacle has left me drowning in work. I now have to make outlines in one week that I had been spending weeks and weeks working on!

But, it will be fine. It HAS to be! Haha

So anyway, back to studying. Or, study spots, really.

I already told you about The Noble Tree. Well, here’s another great study spot: the Bourgeoisie Pig. I’ve actually been there to study and eat several times before. My parents went there for breakfast last year when they were visiting and raved about it! They have a great breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, tons of coffee drinks and a huge tea selection! They were even featured by Rachel Ray as one of the Top 6 Out of the Ordinary places to eat.

I was surprised to see that they had gotten even bigger: they bought the house next to them and doubled in size! But because the two are separated and both have a main floor and upstairs, it still has the quaint small-house feel.

Since they don’t have almond milk (and I did not bring my own…) I decided to check out their tea selection. Since it was getting late, I wanted something decaffeinated and ended up choosing the Honey Rooibos.

photo (11)

It turned out really good! I had fun looking at all their jars of tea and then picking out the one I wanted; it was more like an activity!

I headed up the stairs and found a seat. Then I noticed this:

photo (16)Haha I actually found it pretty ironic! Here I am studying for law school, and there is a justice’s old chair! I love that all of there furniture is horribly mismatched, it makes me feel like I’m in an old home!

And speaking of teas, I decided to order some more tea from Adagio!

I loved the holiday sampler I got the last time, but realized I didn’t have any decaffeinated teas for later in the day. Since I like chai tea a lot, I wanted to try the black tea decaf sampler set:

photo (1)   It included vanilla, apricot, orange and tropics!

I also ended up ordering a sample of  their rooibos cinnamon apple. I saw it when I was browsing and just had to give it a try, it sounded so good!

photo (5)

And it was! Although I love chai, my second favorite type of tea is rooibos, especially when it’s a fruity flavor!

The only other tea that I’ve tried out so far was the apricot, and it was pretty good. The fruity flavor didn’t come out quite as much as I would have hoped, but it was still a good tasting, fairly neutral tea.

Alright, enough of a study break, back to work!

 

What is your favorite type of tea? Or do you not like it at all?

Do you prefer fresh and new coffee shops/restaurants, or old more antique/homey feeling places?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 8:08 am

    I drink green tea everyday with breakfast! I love places that feel warm and homey!

    • December 6, 2011 11:04 am

      I used to be a huge green tea drinker because it was the first tea I tried and liked! and so good for you!

  2. December 6, 2011 11:15 am

    I enjoy tea during the colder months, but I have always preferred coffee. I love chamomille (spelling?) and chai teas the most! And I appreciate both newer, fresher coffee shops/restaurants as well as the older, antique coffee shops/restaurants. They both have pros and cons!

  3. December 6, 2011 12:27 pm

    I LOVE herbal tea–I grew up on it, as my mom (and her mom and that side of the fam) is from the mountains of Switzerland–it’s all they drink! hah.

    I love lemon, chamoiomille, honey ginger, raspberry, and peppermint. YUMM.

    Good luck with the studies!!

  4. December 6, 2011 1:33 pm

    I absolutely love ROOIBOS teas! And I love chai too. I seem to find myself at Starbucks pretty often and my go-to’s are their Vanilla Rooibos tea and a non-fat chai tea latte! Good luck with studying….I’m so jealous you’re in Chicago! It’s one of my favorite cities, I was there about a month ago and I can’t wait to go back 🙂

    Sending you some sunshine from LA!

  5. December 6, 2011 1:34 pm

    I like tea with lemon! Now I’m craving some tea 🙂 I might go get some. Thankfully, work always provides tea at all times. YAY!

  6. December 6, 2011 1:35 pm

    I love tea! I drink it all day long when it’s cold, I think I have about 10 boxes right now…but I always need new flavors 😉

  7. December 6, 2011 3:38 pm

    I love tea and would find it so tough to choose a fave! I tend to go through phases, recently I was loving peppermint teas. I always love my green tea and roobios teas though! As much as I love my Starbucks I also like little independent tea shops with a bit of character!

  8. December 6, 2011 5:01 pm

    I currently drink a lot of peppermint and pumpkin spice but my absolute favorite it rooibos spiced chai from Davison’s Tea. I buy those bags (I haven’t graduated to loose tea yet) by the 100 ct. box.

Leave a Reply

