Skip to content

Shut the Front Door!

November 29, 2011

So, if you read my post yesterday, you’d know that while waiting in the crazy long security line at the Kansas City airport, I noticed that two news stations were filming and even put up a picture of one of the cameras.

photo (58)

I woke up yesterday morning to a text message from my friend who was still in Kansas City. She sent me a photo she took of her television screen.

Guess who was on her television screen?

ME.

photo (63)

Seriously!?!? I practically screamed, started laughing, and then wished they got a more flattering shot…

Either way, I found it horribly ironic that I mentioned the cameras on my post, and then I ended up on TV!!! So random. Still can’t believe it. Or that my friend was actually watching the news at that moment and managed to snap a shot. Too. Much. To. Handle.

Okay, I’ll stop with that now.

So then it was time for a run! I got some new running shoes while I was in Kansas City at Gary Gribble’s Running Sports.

The woman who worked with me was absolutely fantastic! I had bought some shoes in early August, but afterwards I’d been having a lot of injuries. I didn’t know if it was due to the fact that I was going from zero running to training for a 10 miler, or if it had to do with the shoes.

I wore them into the store and she looked at my shoes, watched me walk barefoot, and then had me try on about a million pairs of shoes! My poor dad, he had to sit there and watch for ages! Although he loves running, so I think he enjoyed the store. And me, of course.

She told me that my feet are pretty narrow, so the Adidas that I had were much too wide for my feet, which is why I always felt like my right foot was sliding to the side, and that my shoelaces were never quite tight enough!

I finally decided on a pair of Saucony shoes. I’d never even heard of the brand before, but they felt comfortable and were more stable than my Adidas. I’m sorry I don’t remember the specific type, I left the box with all of that information in my room at home.

photo (64)

I took them to the gym to try them out on the treadmill, so that if I didn’t like them I’d be able to return them when I went home for Christmas.

I think I liked them, although I think 7 was way too much for testing them out… I could tell they needed to be broken in. I was told to only run 2 or 3 miles, but I was dying to run and my legs were ready to go after not working out yesterday!

I did a 7 mile interval run:

Mile 0-1: built up to 6.7mph

Mile 1-2: 7.5 mph

Mile 2-3: 6.8 mph

Mile 3-4: 7.5 mph

Mile 4-5: 6.8 mph

Mile 5-6: 7.5 mph

Mile 6.0-6.15: 8.0 mph

Mile 6.15-6.25: 8.5 mph

Mile 6.25-6.5: 9.0 mph

Mile 6.5-7.0: 6.8 mph

Cool down walk for 5 minutes at 4.0 then 3.8

Notice the sprint at the end? I was really feeling like I wanted to sprint, and I actually thought about making my run longer, but I was running out of time so I just sprinted like crazy! It felt really good, I love getting my heart rate up!

 

Have you ever randomly ended up on the news?

What’s your favorite shoe brand?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 7:39 am

    I just bought new shoes recently too! I’m an Asics girl. This will be my 3rd pair in a row.

  2. November 29, 2011 9:31 am

    I love my asics gel nimbus but they cost a fortune! You look great on TV!

    • November 29, 2011 9:48 am

      They are expensive! Luckily my dad got my new shoes for me; oh the joys of visiting home!

  3. November 29, 2011 9:34 am

    Thats awesome that you were on tv! I’m a Brooks girl so I’ve never worn Saucony but I know some people who swear by them!

    • November 29, 2011 9:49 am

      Brooks are the ones I had before the Adidas, and I was so close to getting some this time!

  4. November 29, 2011 10:08 am

    I wear Saucony Kinvara 2s and I love them! 🙂

  5. November 29, 2011 12:00 pm

    Sprinting at 9mph AND on TV?? can I have your autograph? 🙂 🙂

  6. November 29, 2011 12:12 pm

    haha that’s too funny about you being on tv!! that’s awesome though! love your new shoes. my “go to” brand is asics for running shoes. they’re not cheap, but they sure are worth it.

  7. November 29, 2011 3:01 pm

    I was only on tv that one time, and it was just an artist’s rendering of me, so you couldn’t *really be sure it was me. JK!!!

    I hate security lines with a passion and I am married to a cop-you’d think I’d have more patience.

    • November 29, 2011 3:37 pm

      Haha I dated a cop once and I definitely learned a little patience for them! They’re just trying to do their job!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    November 29, 2011 5:14 pm

    YOU ARE FAMOUS!!!! Great run girl!!!

  9. November 29, 2011 5:14 pm

    Sorry that above comment was from me!

  10. November 29, 2011 5:46 pm

    Ha ha…that is so random that you ended up on the KC news! I’ve never been on the news before (to my knowledge) but I’ve been on the jumbo tron at US Cellar – does that count?! 😉

    Glad you got some new shoes! There’s nothing quite like having someone who knows their stuff fit you for the right shoes. I need to get my butt to Fleet Feet and get fitted for a new pair because the ones I have are super old and were free so I know they aren’t exactly what I need.

    • November 29, 2011 8:11 pm

      That totally counts! I’ve always wanted to be on the jumbo tron!!! Apparently I’m just not exciting enough.

  11. November 29, 2011 6:58 pm

    Look at you! So famous. My favorite running shoes ever are my asics.. I have newer ones but my old asics are still better. I went to the running store and everything to get the new ones fitted but they aren’t as good as the asics.

    • November 29, 2011 8:12 pm

      Haha everyone keeps saying Asics! I bought a pair of those I think during winter break senior year. Yep. because they were hard to jazzercise in. Couldn’t go side to side.

Leave a Reply

