Skip to content

Blessing in Disguise

November 24, 2011

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!

So this year is my first holiday having to be gluten and soy free, and I wasn’t looking forward to it. I kept trying to put on a brave face and say it’s no big deal that I can’t eat my favorites, but on the inside I was sulking.

Today, however, I’ve had a realization about Thanksgiving. We always associate Thanksgiving with food. Come on, you know it’s the first thing you think of when someone mentions the holiday, and only after that comes family… and football. But that’s not what this holiday is about. Yes, it’s a great time to enjoy good food, but the point isn’t the food. The point is taking a moment to realize how blessed you are, while surrounded with people you love.

Having to take food out of the equation has really been a blessing in disguise for me, because it’s made me focus more on how much I have, rather than what I don’t have. I can’t eat the pie? So what! It’s just pie. Life goes on.

Life would be much harder, however, without my amazing family, my friends and the physical capabilities that I have. I get to go to law school. Not everyone has that opportunity. I can walk and run. Not everyone can. And I can run a 5K with my dad, which is a lot more than some people can say.

photo (42)

So this Thanksgiving, enjoy the good food, but focus on the people around you and everything you have been given.

And guess what else I have? YOU. So thank you for coming back time and time again, I appreciate your comments more than you know.

 

Have a wonderful holiday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 3:39 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! Hope your having a great day, what a lovely post 🙂

  2. November 25, 2011 2:18 am

    I know exactly how you feel about missing out on pie! But you’re right–Thanksgiving is about SO much more than that! We are beyond blessed, and when I focus on that, the gratitude that I feel is much more satisfying than my plateful of turkey and stuffing! :-p (That said, there are great GF alternatives out there! I made crustless mini pumpkin pies from the leftover pumpkin pie filling, and they were pretty wonderful!)

    Hope you enjoyed a beautiful day with family and friends! xoxo

    • November 25, 2011 10:43 am

      Thanks Sara! And I wanted to make a GF pie, I just didn’t have time while I was home! I’ll be all over that for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

