Skip to content

Spiralization. Don’t Be Afraid.

November 21, 2011

So on Saturday, after my 10 miles with Chelsey, I got home to find a very exciting package waiting for me.

Okay, I thought it was exciting.

It was a spiralizer!!!!

Hahaha, I’m sure most of you think I’m insane. Well, I kinda am. But besides that, I’d always wanted to make REAL zucchini spaghetti. I had always just used a peeler, so my zucchini turned out flat, not really like spaghetti.

Well, take a look at this:

photo (11)

BOOYAH! The strands were so long too! It was like Lady and the Tramp!

I even experimented with carrots, which were a little more difficult since they are so thin:

photo (12)

photo (13)

Tada! Isn’t that so cool! and it takes seconds! There are three different blades for different thicknesses, and one can make you potato chips (or chip like shapes out of other veggies). I can’t wait to get experimenting!

I decided to use the spiralizer to help make my lunch! I had a sweet potato, and on the side was zucchini and carrots mixed with nutritional yeast and hummus:

photo (14)

 

photo (15)

Deliciousness.

 

So yesterday, I asked you all to guess who I’d be spending the next few days with.

Well, if you guessed Molly, then you guessed right!!!

photo (16)

My brother and sister-in-law are on a cruise with her family for Thanksgiving and headed out yesterday, so it’s me and Molly until she goes to the “Puppy Hotel” and I fly home for Thanksgiving!

So far we’ve dug some holes, smelled some leaves, ate an evergreen bush and looked absolutely adorable.

photo (7)photo (5)

photo (8)photo (9)

 

It’s going to be a good couple days.

 

Does anyone have a pet of their own, or enjoy pet-sitting?

Have you ever heard of a spiralizer?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 8:38 am

    I love golden retrievers. They’re such great dogs!

    • November 21, 2011 11:08 am

      she is the best! she kept climbing on my lap while I was studying because she wanted attention! too cute.

  2. November 21, 2011 12:37 pm

    I would spiralize everything!! Have you tried potatoes and baking them like chips? I wonder how that would turn out..

    • November 21, 2011 12:54 pm

      I haven’t tried that yet! Just got it Saturday afternoon! But I sure will, especially with sweet potatoes!

  3. November 21, 2011 3:08 pm

    Glad you enjoyed your spiraliser! I love mine!

  4. November 21, 2011 3:09 pm

    Ohhh I love my spiralizer!! One of my favourite kitchen toys 😀 your raw pasta salad looks gorgeous!!

  5. November 21, 2011 4:55 pm

    That spiralizer looks awesome! I am obsessed with cool kitchen gadgets haha. Molly is adorable, dog sitting is the best:)

  6. November 21, 2011 5:10 pm

    I’ve had a spiralizer for a couple of years. I’ve never tried it out. There’s a fear factor involved.

  7. November 22, 2011 12:16 am

    Just found your blog – looking forward to following! And your dog is soo adorable 🙂 I’ve never tried one of those spiralizer gadgets, they look kinda fun!

    • November 22, 2011 7:32 am

      I’m glad you stopped by, Clare! And the spiralizer is fun, I can’t wait to experiment more with it!

Leave a Reply

