Skip to content

Just Another Manic Monday…

November 9, 2011

What’s today?

Halfway through the week…

Hump-day….

It’s so hard to spell…

WEDNESDAY!

And what does that mean? It’s time for another installment of What I Ate Wednesday!

Peas and Crayons

If you haven’t heard of What I Ate Wednesday, check it out on Peas and Crayons! It’s a great way to get new ideas from other bloggers, and to find new blogs to read!

So why is my blog post title about Monday, you ask?

Today’s WIAW features all my food from Monday! Monday is my LEAST favorite day of the week. I know most people feel that way, but it’s not because it’s the first day of the week, it’s because I have 4 classes on Monday. That’s 300 minutes of class, or 5 hours. FIVE HOURS OF CLASS. That’s a lot. Also, I have to pack both lunch and dinner! It’s exhausting. Good thing I had an amazing breakfast creation to start the day:

 

photo (16)

 

Blueberry Muffin Oatmeal!!! I wrote about the oatmeal yesterday, including the recipe. But seriously, you need to try this. It really tasted like a muffin!

Here is the rest of my day’s food ready to be packed up:

photo (11)

My lunch was fresh and delicious! I had a fresh spring mix that I topped with a salmon filet, leftover from when I cooked salmon this weekend, and some peach salsa from Trader Joe’s.

photo (12)

The salsa was perfect on this salad and so delicious! If I wasn’t in the cafeteria, I would have considered licking the bowl. It was that good.

Throughout the afternoon, I snacked on a sliced Gala apple, an Omega-3 trail mix from Trader Joe’s, and a homemade protein bar.

photo (10)

I definitely did something wrong with these protein bars… they are starting to turn mushy. I think maybe I didn’t use enough flour. Good thing I didn’t give you all my recipe…

I also sipped on a Cranberry Kombucha Synergy drink during classes. So far I’ve tried Strawberry, Guava and Cranberry. Guava is definitely my favorite!

For dinner, I had a base of 1/2 cup brown rice, and then I had steamed some kale, eggplant, mushrooms, and chickpeas with a mixture of Apple Cider Vinegar, Coconut aminos, curry, cumin, and ginger.

photo (18)

It turned out pretty good! And the rice didn’t get soggy even with a little liquid sitting in there with it all day. It was definitely a winner for bringing dinner!

By the time I got home, I was craving something sweet. I finally decided to try out Ashley’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Protein Pizookie. Be sure to check out her blog too, My Food N Fitness Diaries! She’s so cute! I substituted the 1 T of pumpkin for 1 T of applesauce.

photo (19)

I definitely enjoyed it, but I have a lot of ideas of how to create some of my own 30-second microwave cookies… The wheels are turning.

photo (20)

Looooooove melted chocolate.

Have you ever tried a microwavable baked good?

Do you all have any ideas for new oatmeal flavors?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 7:50 am

    I tried a microwavable cake once, ya know…the kind in the mug? It was actually the best one that I’ve ever had, and when I whipped up a little frosting I had a hard time telling the difference! I only wish I had kept the recipe 😦

  2. November 9, 2011 8:49 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed the pizookie girl! Looks like a day full of some great eats. 🙂

  3. November 9, 2011 9:11 am

    the eats look yummy! Packing food is so much better then buying food from school:)

    • November 9, 2011 12:25 pm

      I agree, Chelcie, school food is never very good. And all the delicious lunch places around my school are too expensive for every day!

  4. November 9, 2011 9:18 am

    Before I went vegan I used to eat microwave protein cakes all the time using egg whites, not sure why I stopped making them as I know CCK has loads of vegan microwave cake recipes! Yours looks so yummy, I love melted chocolate chips too!

    • November 9, 2011 12:26 pm

      you should try the pizookie recipe, and I might add some more, because it’s vegan! No eggs involved, just protein powder, flour, almond milk, and applesauce or pumpkin!

  5. November 9, 2011 10:08 am

    You look to be so good at packing food for yourself all day – I suck at that because my Lululemon gym bag is already full of textbooks/binder/pens etc./water bottle! I do hope to get better at it though!

    • November 9, 2011 12:27 pm

      It takes some time, I use a backpack for my computer, books, and all my little things like wallet, computer charger, waterbottle, etc. Then I carry my lunch in a separate lunch bag (which some days I manage to mash into my backpack!

  6. November 9, 2011 3:28 pm

    Ooh, thanks so much for linking up to the pizookie! It looks absolutely scrumptious! I’m definitely trying one for dessert tonight!

    And your blueberry muffin oatmeal sounds amazing. I’d love to try making a banana nut muffin variation as well!

    Happy hump day! xoxo

  7. November 10, 2011 5:20 pm

    I love packing lunches–because THEN I know what I can look forward to eating. Haha 🙂

    • November 10, 2011 7:16 pm

      The days I pack lunch and dinner, I don’t decide which is which, that way I can think about it and choose which one I feel like at which time!

Leave a Reply

