Skip to content

Work Those Legs and WIAW

November 2, 2011

Today’s WIAW includes my workout from the day!

Peas and Crayons

If you haven’t heard of What I Ate Wednesday, check it out on Peas and Crayons! It’s a great way to get meal and snack ideas and discover new bloggers!

 

I hit the gym bright and early (after having half a banana with some peanut butter), and started out with a 20 min HIIT elliptical workout. I did 5 min of warm up, and then switched back and forth between a sprint for a minute and a normal pace for a min. I did this until I hit 25 min and then did another min of cool down.

Then, time for legs!

Lower Body Workout II

One-legged Leg Press: 3 sets of 15 reps on each leg. End with a 4th set with both legs.

Awkward Superset*: inner and outer thigh machines, 3 sets of 20 reps each (does anyone else feel super awkward on these machines? I do… but I do it anyway!)

Superset*: hamstring curl and leg extension, 3 sets of 15 reps each

Superset*: inclined leg press and calf raises, 3 sets of 15 reps each

* A Superset is where I switch back and forth between two exercises with no break in between. Saves time and keeps your heart rate up!

I ended it with some stretching and a few ab moves!

 

When I got home it was time for breakfast, Oat Mush:

photo (11)

No, I have not gone blind.

I realize that this looks horribly unappetizing.

However, I promise that it tasted just fine! I’m going to have to figure out what’s going on with these new gluten free oats I bought. They get all weird sometimes, and I think it happens when I try to add egg to my oats. It’s like the oats just don’t want to be friends with the egg… Not very nice.

Anyway, the bowl included 1/3 C Oats, 1/3 C Almond milk, 1/3 and 1 T water, 1/2 T Chia seeds, 1 egg, 1/2 banana, and some PB mixed in! I promise, check out my oats on my recipe page… they don’t always look so awful.

For lunch, I packed a new dish that I tried out! I had bought some rice pasta and I wanted to give it a try, so I cooked it up and added in some eggplant, mushrooms and spinach that I’d sautéed. I added 1/4 C marinara sauce and tada!

photo (10)

I also added some nutritional yeast right before eating it, to give it a nice cheesy flavor. It was really good! My only issue was the marinara sauce just got watery and went to the bottom after microwaving the dish at school. Maybe I should keep it separate next time.

My afternoon snack was consumed during class… thus no pictures (pulling out your iphone is kind of frowned upon during a law school class…) But I had a sliced up apple and some almonds.

When I got home for dinner I had a craving for sweet potato and kale! I always bake sweet potatoes on the weekend and keep them in my fridge, so I just heated one up! On the side is some kale that I steamed after pouring a little apple cider vinegar and a little coconut aminos (soy free, gluten free soy sauce). Then I added some chopped up chicken hot dog, 1 T of hummus and 1 T of nutritional yeast.

photo (4)

I have to say this was absolutely delicious. It really hit the spot and it doesn’t hurt that I’m currently in love with the hummus and nutritional yeast mixture. Definitely try it out!

For dessert? Leftover birthday cake!

Have you tried some new products (such as my Trader Joe’s gluten free oats) that didn’t turn out as you’d hoped or you had to try out ways to make it work?

What are your favorite strength training moves?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 8:25 am

    Yummy looking eats – apart from the porridge haha 😉 I don’t think they look that bad and if they taste good that’s the main thing. I love my strength training at the moment, especially squats and clean and presses!

  2. November 2, 2011 8:32 am

    your eats look delicious! that is such a good idea to pre-bake the sweet potatoes! I think I am going to start trying that!

    • November 2, 2011 11:37 am

      definitely try it, I always find myself wanting a sweet potato but not wanting to wait 45 min to bake it! And they taste so much better baked than the microwave method!

  3. November 2, 2011 9:02 am

    Your pasta looks delicious! My oat meal and oat bran always look blah! Never quite no what to do to make them look better…practice, practice…

  4. November 2, 2011 10:47 am

    I know what you mean about the oats – you know – not looking so good. Every time I post what I think is a delicious bowl of oatmeal, I have friends and family asking “how can you eat that goopy mess?” If they only knew how tasty [and filling] it was!

  5. November 2, 2011 1:57 pm

    Happy belated! My oatmeal is always terribly ugly! 🙂

  6. November 2, 2011 2:24 pm

    Great leg workout! I loooove working out my legs lately, even though I’m always so sore for the next 2 days after!

    Also that’s such a smart idea to pre-bake your sweet potatoes! I hate how baking them takes so long. But I actually tried microwaving one last night and it turned out pretty good. I loved that it was ready in only 5 minutes! 😀

  7. Sara Grambusch permalink
    November 2, 2011 3:08 pm

    Oh yes, ready to go sweet potatoes are the only way. My favorite strength move is a deadlift. Women are made for it. It’s all in the legs 😉

    • November 2, 2011 3:20 pm

      I think I do deadlifts wrong, because my lower back always hurts afterwards, especially the next day!

  8. November 2, 2011 5:12 pm

    That kind of pasta is my favorite! Yumm
    Lunges and squats are simple, but great…hate them during, love it after 🙂

    • November 2, 2011 7:05 pm

      Haha I hate lunges, especially when you lunge out one leg and then stand back up. I’m wobbling all over the place!

Leave a comment