Skip to content

Trainer Slept In = Upper Body Workout!

October 15, 2011

This morning I woke up with this doozy in my e-mail inbox from World Market, and I just. about. died. I apologize to anyone who wears one of these hats but I immediately sent e-mails to some friends joking about them.

world market

Perhaps I just don’t have the right personality to pull them off, or maybe they’re just not the right career choice for a law student….

As a 23 year old +, would you wear an animal hat on a daily basis?

So yesterday I was supposed to meet my trainer at 8am. She’s usually there before our session so when 8:10 rolled around, I knew she’d forgotten. No big deal, because now I have a great upper body workout for you all! You can also check out my HIIT elliptical workout and my leg workout!

I started out with 15 minutes on the elliptical and then did this upper body workout:

Upper Body Workout

Superset*: Chest Press and Seated Row – 3 sets of 15 reps each

Superset: Chin Ups and Tricep Dips – 3 sets of 15 reps each

Straight Arm Side Twist: 15 reps on each side

Superset: Push-ups on Bosu Ball and Supermans – 2 sets of 15 reps each

1 minute plank on Bosu Ball – 30 seconds with left leg raised, 30 seconds with right leg raised

*A superset means that I go back and forth between the moves, with no resting in between. Saves time and keeps your heart-rate up!

Then I hopped on the elliptical for another 10 minutes, and then walked at an incline on the treadmill for 10 minutes as well! I had some extra time since I had gotten to the gym early to do the first 15 minutes on the elliptical before my workout with my trainer!

Afterwards, I made some Pumpkin Pie Oats… per usual.

Today, however, I mixed it up with the pumpkin!

Pumpkin Yogurt Mash!

Ingredients

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup cereal to top!

photo (3)

All mixed together and half eaten:

photo (2)

This is just a basic mash, since I was testing it out, but you could add anything into this! Various types of cereal, granola, raisins, nuts, protein powder, the options are endless! I can’t wait use up my GIANT CANS of pumpkin trying it out!

photo (1)

Yes. I went through 2 cans of pumpkin in 2 days. So I decided to make an investment…

Now I’m off to a doctors appointment, gotta run!

What is your favorite way to eat pumpkin? Or have you not tried it yet?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 10:51 pm

    Looks like a great upper body workout! Way to work hard even though your trainer didn’t show up. Your pumpkin concoction looks yummy!! I have no problem going through pumpkin either. 😉

  2. October 15, 2011 11:44 pm

    I’ve been hoarding pumpkin cans ever since they appeared in DC a few weeks ago. We were pumpkin-less all spring and summer, which left me feeling extremely deprived. At one point I convinced my mom to send me a few cans from the west coast (where there was never a pumpkin drought…don’t know why?), but that was a one-time deal only, as it cost over $30 to ship the package! Anywaaays, I’m SO happy to have it back at my disposal! I made pumpkin muffins and pumpkin pancakes today. SO delicious.

    • October 16, 2011 12:24 pm

      Haha at least you got the pumpkin! I’m not sure what parts of the country are being affected by the pumpkin drought, we seem to have plenty here in Chicago! (knock on wood)

Leave a Reply

